We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Royal San Marco

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Royal San Marco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

955 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal San Marco
See the most recent reviews
Showing 480: English reviews
The South
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Dont be put off by the negative reviews on here, we have just returned from a 3 night stay here. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful the location was excellent, clean and tidy. We paid less than £700 for flights hotel transfers and couldn't fault it. If you want 5 * hotels then book and pay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucaholly
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Location, location, location !! 30 seconds away from St.Marks Square. Near to all tourist sights. Great hotel, good staff and very clean hotel. Hotel rooms were little outdated but the rooms very clean and neat. Breakfast is superb. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harsh1872016
Baguio, Philippines
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The location is everything thats good about this hotel, we had a room with a view of the canals which is a plus - but everything from here runs south. You would expect a lot with the price you pay and the character of this hotel's lobby but once you get to your room everything is a disappointment. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rrdanas
Royal S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Royal San Marco, responded to this review

Dear rrdanas, Thank you for finding the time to write your opinion about our Structure and our Services. We’re sorry to acknowledge that your stay hasn’t been pleasant as planned, and we take note about all the inconveniences and imperfections you mentioned in your review. It seems that your room hadn't been as nice as you expected, we are very...

London, Uk
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Location is excellent (other than the stench from the canal that permeates into many parts of the hotel). Plus side - the breakfast includes pastries so fresh you'd swear you were in a Parisiene patisserie. And they stock soya milk which made me happy. Good wifi Good sized rooms (ours was anyway) Overall though it is rather tired and the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alexsw1
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Won't bother returning here... much better places out there with modern services, wifi that works and friendly staff. The receptionist who checked me in was miserable and extremely unwelcoming, borderline rude to be honest. The only perk was the shower which was strong. The decor is very dated and I know they may meet the requirements to have a 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marian C
Royal S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Royal San Marco, responded to this review

Dear Marian C, Thank you for finding the time to write your opinion about our Structure and our Services. We are very sorry to acknowledge that your stay hasn't been pleasant, and also we are very sorry to read bad things about our Staff, since one of our first goals is always to be friendly, helpful and respectful with our...

Auckland
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Very disappointing to find to get to my room on the sixth floor with lift only going to fourth so had to drag my cases up 2 flights of very steep stairs. When I asked the night reception for help I was just very flatly told no you will have to manage yourself😡 The room was very small decor was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jillianmichellec
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The whole experience was negative from greeting at the front desk to being told we were in a 'new room' to the hot water not working to the bed being itchy. The sleep was uncomfortable and the concierge gentleman overnight was useless, a complete lack of care for the guests. We had booked a twin room and received a double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HotelEnthusiast5696
Royal S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Royal San Marco, responded to this review

Dear HotelEnthusiast5696, Thank you for finding the time to write your opinion about our Structure and our Services. We arvery sorry to acknowledge that your stay hasn't been pleasant as you planned. We apologize and we take note for those imperfections and inconveniences you mentioned in your review, and we’ll strive to solve them as soon as possible. As one...

Middle East
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I did a lot of research about hotels in Venice and where to stay. We decided to stay close to Piazza San Marco and start looking for hotels. I though 4 star hotel like everywhere is the world means 4 star room, facilities and staff services, Well, this hotel is far from it The beds are like jail bed, not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kimina29
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Perfect place to stay in Venice. Nice and helpful staff, and we liked the rooms which had a genuine feeling despite not being all marble and gold plated. Lots of culture and restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulf W
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We chose this hotel for its position and we were not disappointed regarding that, so close to all the attractions, water buses, and action. Overlooking the canal and a stroll to the Gondolas. The hotel itself is a bit tired and rooms are super tiny, I say rooms because I looked at 3 others after our initial room was un...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carol c

728 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (379)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (150)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (330)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Other (127)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (56)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#261 of 386 in Venice
202 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#207 of 386 in Venice
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
946 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#168 of 386 in Venice
377 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 386 in Venice
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Marco

Neighbourhood Profile
San Marco
The most famous sestiere (district) in Venice has one of the world's most famous squares, St. Mark's (Piazza San Marco). Anchored on one end by the basilica, clustered around it are restaurants, museums, shops, orchestras playing in the square, pigeons, the grand pink Doge’s Palace (Palazzo Ducale), the soaring campanile bell tower, an astrological clock tower, plus gorgeous cafes and restaurants like Florian and Quadri. Piazza San Marco is beloved by Venetians themselves. They book a table anytime, which offers a buffer from the fray. This grand outdoor drawing room attracts Venetians for a stroll too, especially late in the afternoon when the hoards of daytrippers thin out. It's simply a grand place to meet.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Hotel Royal San Marco

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 848 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Price Range: ₹ 9,416 - ₹ 33,204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Royal San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Marco Venice
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Royal San Marco staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Royal San Marco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I am sure this exist in this establishment.”
  • Bedroom.
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles 896geoffreys, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 215 is very small”
 of 5 bubbles maxster125, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms over the canal are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles mel335, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept 5th or 6th floor, you will have to take some creaky stairs up as the lift stops at level 4.”
 of 5 bubbles B3198WIcarolc, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms have great views. Always something to look at.”
 of 5 bubbles 459dianner, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5