We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Venice

Booking.comUS$ 68*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 178*
US$ 68*
Great Deal
US$ 173*
US$ 176*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Venice
See the most recent reviews
Showing 641: English reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016

very good hostel is so modern and clean over looking canal staff of the bar and reception are helpful and friendly especially Alberto and Sara they helped me to know roads and how to go to airport and places i will visit there is restaurant and bar and free wifi every thing in the hostel is superb but my problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hany M
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Hany M, Many thanks for your feedback after your stay at Generator Venice Glad to read your positive comments, they are already shared with the team here! We would love to thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again in our hostel in Venice Best regards Generator Venice Team

Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewed 9 December 2016

This was a pretty average hostel. It was very VERY big so no sense of coziness, hard to meet people. There is a bar downstairs and they supposedly had live music at night but I missed it. I was in a large female dorm with a shared bathroom. Not enough shower stalls or toilets for everyone as we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsRoamingHeart
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear MsRoamingHeart, Thank you for your review and feedback after your recent stay with us. We take on board all guest feedback and suggestions and we greatly appreciate the opportunity to continually work with our guests to improve the service and facilities we provide. Your comments will be shared with our team here I’d like to thank you for choosing...

Pennsylvania Grand Canyon, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I stayed at the hostel for a couple days and prepaid my breakfast. However, at the end of my stayed I saw the attendant name Francesca refund a guy 's money for unused breakfast, so I approached her thinking that I will get the same treatment. Oh boy, was I so wrong! She was so rude and discriminatory to me....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tefy25
New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The location is perfect, and the aesthetics are outstanding... But, beware, some of the staff can be extremely arrogant and rude. Also, the shower areas are tiny with little privacy and only one sink and mirror for an entire floor. There were additional handicapped showers, but they were kept locked, I guess the cleaning staff was as lazy and rude...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank F9978PRchristophert
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear F9978PRchristophert, Firstly can I thank you for sharing your Generator experience with us after your stay in Venice. I was sad to hear that we had perhaps not met the mark on this occasion and would like to hear from you if you have any further feedback at all. I can be reached on: keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com Please rest assured all...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Visited Venice for a couple of days tagged onto the end of a business trip. The hostel is brilliant, lovely atmosphere, nice food, great bar. The dorms were warm, comfortable and everyone was helpful. The staff were brilliant also. It's on the lower Island of Venice so you have to jump on a water taxi but that's part of the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank VARogers1
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear VARogers1, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay here in Venice, we are glad to hear that you loved our staff and location. We suggest to all the guests to purchase a tickets that covers the length of the stay in order to save money and that allows to reach all the corners of the lagoon We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Chilling out in the common room/ dinning area. The hostel is clean and has every thing you need, clean towels for €3 and if you need a lock then it's just €3.50 The breakfast for €4.50 is pretty basic so I opted for the scrambled eggs with bacon for €2 more (€6.50) is by far better. Breakfast is from 7-10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinxme99
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Jinxme99, Thank You very much for your review We love receiving feedback from our guests, therefore, give us the opportunity to implement improvements. We hope to see you again as soon as possible! Sincerely Yours, Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Here is one of the best places that you can find in Venezia, but you shouldn't expect too much. First you should consider that you have to buy a ticket for boat which costs 30€ for 3 days to arrive to this location, then bring a lock with yourself, otherwise you should buy it. (3,50€) I stayed here 2 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shiva S
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Shiva S, Many thanks for sharing your experience online after your stay in our hostel. Our hostel is located on Giudecca Island, in front of St. Mark's basin, just 5 minutes by boat from the city center. We suggest to our guests, to purchase a ticket that cover the length of the stay. . The Rolling Venice Card is...

Reviewed 9 November 2016

This hostel gets the basics OK, comfy bed, hot showers, lockers, a bar and food but the music i. the common area is too loud and no one is listening to it anyway. You need to turn it down, choose more relaxing music like they have at Starbucks and provide a quiet room for people who want quiet. I have...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deptford1593
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Deptford1593, thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. We have taken on board your comments concerning the music, we hope however you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you here soon best wishes Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 8 November 2016

I loved the location and the building! Awesome atmosphere and multicultural environment. Everything is new and the lounge bar is really cool. The rooms are big but not the toilets: their cleanness could be better. Overall, a great experience for the cheapest price in Venice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daria I
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Daria I, We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your time with us here at Generator Venice, Your comments and feedback will be really well received by the team, who work tirelessly to ensure our guests are getting the best possible service and enjoy a memorable time with us. So pleased to hear we’ve met the mark...

Reviewed 4 November 2016

This hostel was very clean and professionally maintained. However, I found the reception staff to be pretty curt and they would talk down to people, and they seemed to have no knowledge or recommendations on the area. To be honest I wasn't particularly impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Shane C, Thanks for sharing your opinion. It is not certainly not great to read your comment knowing the effort that we put every day in delivering the best atmosphere, but we fully accept that it might not ideal for everyone. The team is fully trained and expert more important from Venice. They do have a deep knowledge of...

473 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Large Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Private Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Small Dorm with Ensuite Bathroom (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#131 of 384 in Venice
484 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#153 of 384 in Venice
2,050 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 384 in Venice
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 384 in Venice
820 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 384 in Venice
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Giudecca

Neighbourhood Profile
Giudecca
Giudecca is a retreat for Venetians away from the crowds. Symbolically, six metal teeth represent Venice’s six sestieri (districts); the seventh, Guidecca, points away from the others – part of Dorsoduro, but separated by the Giudecca Canal. Giudecca evolved from a center of shipyards and factories to a quiet residential area with a sprinkling of restaurants and bars. The majestic harmonious Redentore church stands as thanks for delivering Venice from the plague, hosting an annual heartfelt festival.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Price Range: ₹ 2,780 - ₹ 23,983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dividers between dorm rooms are wall topped by glass, so noise carries. Bring earplugs or get a smaller room if you are a sensitive sleeper.”
H6140SCmichellem, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is something to be desired, stock up on mobile data.”
TheMadraver, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“clean room”
731hanym, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“13 beds room not a problem!”
LuliChap, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring headphones as you cannot control who will be in your shared rooms!”
Cheyenne0515, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 68* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 173
Expedia.comUS$ 176
Hotwire.comUS$ 178
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates