We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel Venice

Hostelworld.comUS$ 134*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 217*
US$ 134*
Great Deal
US$ 212*
US$ 213*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel Venice
See the most recent reviews
Showing 638: English reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

So many problems. They made a mistake so I had to change rooms after the second night which was a huge pain. Not only this I had to check out in the morning and then I couldn't get into my new room until after 1pm. There was soap scum on the shower heads. The rooms are so small you can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Firstly can I thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us after your recent stay. As I am sure you can imagine, with so many guests it’s great to get individual feedback to help us continually improve the service we provide. I am disappointed to hear your feedback as we have a team who...

Mol, Belgium
Reviewed 8 April 2017

+ really good sleep comfort + very hygienic and comfortable sanitary accomodations + social hostel! + very helpful personnel + decent kitchen +- not so much to do in the vicinity, but very well accessible by Vaporetto. Quieter part of the city, but only one single boat stop away from San Marco (which is the place to be) +- bar...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanbaelend
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Karin R, thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed you here. Thanks and hope to see you next time! All the best. Generator Venice Team

Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

At first I was hesitant because it is located outside the main island. But once I was there, I realized that the location was perfect. Away from the busy and noisy touristy area; handful of secret local restaurants to discover; has the perfect view of Dorsoduro and San Marco; 2-3 meters from the Canal de Giudecca, which is perfect place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingMD
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear GlobetrottingMD, Thank you for taking the time to review the Generator Venice. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall however I do apologise you found your room floor dirty. Hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Rooms are crammed. All 8 can't even stand in the room at once. Opening your bags and repacking them can be very tricky for lack of space. Beds are equipped with small lamp and a socket, but is very near to claustrophobic. Good WiFi. Great view from window (if you get one). Bar and lounge are good and spacious. Little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aparna D
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Aparna D, Thank you for taking some time out to write this review. It’s great to hear feedback from our guests after their stay, and it really helps us improve the service we offer in the future. . We appreciate all of your feedback and comments and I will be sharing them with the whole team here to ensure...

Reviewed 4 April 2017

I am a Croatian student and I already travelled a lot, and therefore, I stayed in a lot of hotels and hostels, but I have never found a such pleasant place as the Generator Hostel. I am really impressed by the overall ambience of the hostel. I had an incredible time here! This place has such a nice, laid back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ines M
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Ines M, it is a great pleasure for us to read your review about the Generator Venice. We thank you for sharing and for choosing our property in occasion of your getaway to Venice. We are honored to have welcomed you to the magical and unique city of Venice and for being part of your journey. We look forward...

Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I was a night at this hostel with my friends, about 30 persons to stay. First impressions was so nice, the front liner was nice and the interiors are amazing. I love the bedroom; pillows, blanket and bathroom are clean and comfy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karina_Septiani
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Karina.Septiani, Thanks for writing a review after your stay with us here in Venice. It’s great to hear from you and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Generator Venice again in the future. Thanks again for choosing Generator Venice Best Wishes Generator Venice Team

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Staffs are rude, especially those at the reception. They nearly can't speak English , it is difficult to understand what they are talking about and their manner is poor. Bathrooms are wet because the glass doors are poor design, and have no privacy and dry place to change your clothes. There are no soap, hairdryer and the toilets are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine L
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear Sandrine L, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are terribly sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you and please rest assured your comments have been shared with the management team. Please believe that we strive to adhere to...

Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Rooms and baths were not clean. Only one sink for over 30 people. Staff is not nice and they charge for everything. Towels. You can't bring food since they have bar. Lockers are not safe and you have to bring your own lock. Way to expensive for being not well located. Just go to bar. Only good thing about it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartuMatheos
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear MartuMatheos, Thank you for your review and feedback after your recent stay with us. We were extremely disappointed to read your feedback and experience with us. Please rest assured the attitude you explained is not what we expect from any of our staff and your comments will be shared with our with our entire team here in Venice. We...

Alessandria, Italy
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Very nice Place to sleep, is very closer to piazza San Marco. Good staff, very nice and friendly. Good breakfast. A lot of foreign boys and girls to be friends. A few meters from the hostel there Is the ferry station, so very convenient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rkejdi
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Hello rkejdi , Thanks for writing a review after your stay with us here in Venice. It’s great to hear from you and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Generator Venice again in the future. Thanks again for choosing Generator Venice Best Wishes Generator Venice team

Irvine, California
Reviewed 28 March 2017

My experience at Generator Venice was great. Wonderful, friendly employees and a great atmosphere and amazing food. The only downfall was that my comforter had yellow stains on it, but I didn't say anything, I just slept with it anyways. I assumed it was cleaned. The rooms were pretty nice with full sized lockers under the beds that you can...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colbyr737
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review

Dear colbyr737, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Venice. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hostel itself. We hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards Generator Venice Team

473 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Large Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Private Double Room with Ensuite Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Small Dorm with Ensuite Bathroom (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#132 of 385 in Venice
483 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#151 of 385 in Venice
2,043 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 385 in Venice
818 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 385 in Venice
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Giudecca

Neighbourhood Profile
Giudecca
Giudecca is a retreat for Venetians away from the crowds. Symbolically, six metal teeth represent Venice’s six sestieri (districts); the seventh, Guidecca, points away from the others – part of Dorsoduro, but separated by the Giudecca Canal. Giudecca evolved from a center of shipyards and factories to a quiet residential area with a sprinkling of restaurants and bars. The majestic harmonious Redentore church stands as thanks for delivering Venice from the plague, hosting an annual heartfelt festival.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Price Range: ₹ 2,844 - ₹ 24,693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Venice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dividers between dorm rooms are wall topped by glass, so noise carries. Bring earplugs or get a smaller room if you are a sensitive sleeper.”
H4463KCmichellem, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is something to be desired, stock up on mobile data.”
TheMadraver, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“clean room”
731hanym, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“13 beds room not a problem!”
LuliChap, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring headphones as you cannot control who will be in your shared rooms!”
Cheyenne0515, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 134* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 212
PricelineUS$ 213
Hotwire.comUS$ 217
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates