We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Al Vagon

Booking.comUS$ 153*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Al Vagon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 13 October 2007

Very strange place, We arrived around lunch time and there was nobody there only a cleaner with no english who grunted at us a few times, after about an hour a man arrived,the same guy in the picture at the reception who I presume is the manager,he was unfriendly and was acting very suspicious of us without any reason! We...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank mondo12
hotelalvagon, public relations manager at Hotel Al Vagon, responded to this review

I'm sorry about the problems the guests had. I had momentarily left the desk to see about a problem in a room. When i met the guests I probably wasn't as cordial as I usually am...I'm sorry. As for changing rooms, this problem is rare but even so, I can't avoid it. I'm sorry for any inconveniences and would like...

North Carolina
Reviewed 22 September 2007

This is a great little hotel. The rooms are extremely clean and very cutely decorated. I was surprised to receive daily maid service at a one-star hotel, but we came home every day to made-up beds and a sparkling-clean private bathroom. The double room includes two very narrow twin-size beds pushed together, but you can separate them slightly if you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicoleb83
usa
Reviewed 19 August 2007

We loved the beauty of the city of Venice. We found, however, that the Venetians do not treat tourists very kindly. In a such a lovely city its citizens appear to have a general disdain for tourists. This was the same attitude the management of hotel Al Vagon has towards its clients. Greedy and uncaring. We had booked a room...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cvb855
hotelalvagon, public relations manager at Hotel Al Vagon, responded to this review

I remember this. They spoke with me. I simply applied the cancellation policy the guests well know: They called at 11 pm to cancel the first night. The porter answered that we did not charge if the room was occupied but at that time it was almost impossible to sell. In fact, it was left vacant...and the guests checked into...

Cork,Ireland
Reviewed 14 August 2007

Be Aware!!! Booked hotel two months before trip to Venice. Got my confirmation email for a three night stay over a weekend in May for my girlfriend and I. Then all of a sudden two days before we were to depart Ireland,I received an email from Maurizio at the front desk acknowledging our cancelation! I promptly emailed back stating that...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank corcaighabu
hotelalvagon, public relations manager at Hotel Al Vagon, responded to this review

I only experienced this problem with these customers, the reservation system changed program and it was canceled, the room was free for me and I sold it.
When the customer called me I was surprised, I thought he canceled it, I was sorry about the inconvenience and would like to specify that WE NEVER WORK IN OVERBOOKING. I can try...

San Francisco
Reviewed 2 August 2007

Our room (a triple) was very small. The curtains were not clean and the walls were bare. The hotel is in a good location if you want to be away from St. Marks and even then its only about a ten minute walk. Very close the Rialto though. I would probably stay here again though if the prices stay the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bballer21
Lancashire
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Just returned from a 3-night stay at this hotel. We arrived at reception tired, hot and thirsty, the man at reception was polite and efficient, he slowly took our passport details and then explained we would be staying in a room across the courtyard. He showed us to the building across the road, explained the 3 keys, one for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ajjc
Nutley, NJ
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Dont go by the pictures on the web site. It is a budget hotel but the room is very bad and is not even close to how it looks on the web site. It is in a good location close to rialto bridge. Out of all the hotels I booked while ion my europe trip this was the worst but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RahulAgrawal
hotelalvagon, public relations manager at Hotel Al Vagon, responded to this review

I'm happy the woman said the hotel was clean: the tiles were replaced (they were broken again and we replaced them), the walls were painted (we repaint every 6 months or even more frequently if needed).
The pictures on the site are accurate, the standard and superior rooms are pictured and can be checked at any time.

Europe
Reviewed 29 June 2007

We have stayed in Venice for 5 days for our third wedding aniversary. The hotel Al Vagon was perfect for us. It is in an excellent location, very clean and well maintained. We had the room at the corner of the building, which was of a good size, with a dresser large enough to fit our big suitcase, a comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vrabiuta
Toronto
Reviewed 5 June 2007

We were expecting Venice to be significantly more expensive than other Italian cities, so were pleasantly surprised by the competitive rates at Al Vagon. Admittedly, the room was very small (about 8' by 18') but it had a canal view, a good bed, and adequate light for reading. The location is terrific--steps to the Rialto--with good choices for meals, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank my_cat_misses_me
New Orleans
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Great hotel in a very central Venice location. Easy walk to vaperetto station to catch transporation to San Marco Square and other parts of Venice. Room was very nice and air conditioning worked well. Management (owner) was very helpful. Don't be afraid get a tourist map from the hotel and wander the streets and canals around the area. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank il0vetravel

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (132)
Viewed
Second Superior Room (30)
Viewed
Second Superior Room with Canal View (28)
Viewed
Superior Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Room with Canal View (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#133 of 384 in Venice
427 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 384 in Venice
466 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#157 of 384 in Venice
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel ai do Mori
Hotel ai do Mori
#138 of 384 in Venice
601 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#172 of 384 in Venice
358 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#105 of 384 in Venice
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Cannaregio

Neighbourhood Profile
Cannaregio
Cannaregio is the second largest sestiere (district) with its busy Santa Lucia train station. Many transplanted Venetians commute from the outlying areas, “terra firma” to the locals, which is shorthand for any place that is not Venice. Two Grand Canal bridges serve Cannaregio, the newest (Constitution, 2008) still a local hotbed of controversy. Ponte degli Scalzi is a busy link to the train station. Nearby shops on the Lista di Spagna offer specialties like pastries and coffee that lure Venetians with a down-to-earth attitude. The Ghetto, where the Jewish population was segregated in Cannaregio, has five historic synagogues with an active Jewish community. The Fondamente Nove bustles with foot traffic to the Rialto and San Marco while vaporettos (water taxis) head to Murano and other islands. Side streets lead into quiet picturesque neighbourhoods and palaces like Ca' d'Oro rise directly out of the water.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Hotel Al Vagon

Address: Cannaregio 5619 | Campiello Riccardo Selvatico, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Price Range: ₹ 8,887 - ₹ 10,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Al Vagon 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Vagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Vagon Hotel
Al Vagon Venice
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Al Vagon staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Al Vagon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms seem to be on the first floor. The stairs up to our room were steep, although there is a stair lift available.”
JamesM970, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't know if there are any good rooms”
jamesmB8889IG, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“pay the extra for canal view”
dickyd2015, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room didn't have a nice view but in Venice you don't need to spend much time into the room.”
Antlu21, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We booked a canal view room and would do so again as made the experience special.”
186deane, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 153* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 153
Priceline
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates