We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ostello Santa Fosca

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Start your review of Ostello Santa Fosca
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awful place, got bitten by some unknown bug and got serious allergies now, I'm suspecting fleas. I had no electric outlet by my bed, no personal lights. No one at the reception, couldn't leave my bag in the check out day. To be avoided!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
ostello santa f... o, Responsabile reception at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I assure you there are no fleas or bugs in our facility. The hostel is located in Venice, City built on the water and famous for its humidity, we also have many green spaces is possible to find mosquitoes already at the end of February. Our front desk is open daily from 1pm to 8pm and our staff...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice central place, friendly staff, but bedbugs from the first night on. I had to sleep two nights on the floor, because no alternative accomodation was provided. The generally kind staff just denied any bedbug bits all over my face and chest. No compensation and even no washing of my infected sleeping clothes was offered. Just the excuse that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D0nald313
ostello santa f... o, Responsabile reception at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this review

We apologize for the problems encountered during your stay in our facility. As we told you when you were with us, we do regularly and preventively de-bug treatment. I'm sorry that we did not change your bed from the first night but the hostel was fully booked. Unfortunately we don’t have a laundry service for guests yet, but we are...

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Ostello santa fosca is in a perfect location for a place to stay, right in the centre of the action but super quiet in the night. The people who run it are absolutely lovely and can't do enough to make sure you have a great stay. Highly recommend for this lovely city. Alex from Liverpool :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexBennett1991
ostello santa f... o, Responsabile reception at Ostello Santa Fosca, responded to this review

Thanks for you review Alex! See you next time, Have a good day! F.

Strasbourg, France
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I stayed for 1 night in the hostel, the room was okay and the bathroom as well. But there wasn't any windows so it was hot in the room, and it was not even summer. Otherwise the hostel is in a nice location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elodie W
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

I'll break this down for you guys - but if you don't feel like reading, it was nice and worth it. Facilities: The shared facilities are extremely nice and clean, the luggage storage and common area/kitchen are up to date and nice. Rooms: I stayed in a 4 bedroom shared room, it was dated feeling but not in a bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We spent one night here in a nice double room with view to a canal, and we had really positive impressions. Perfect location non just because of its centrality, but also thanks to the more calm, quiet neighborhood, but with bars' zone in a few minutes walk. The building complex is amazing, with the garden included, a piece of peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigitta S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I visited Venice over the hot summer. The accommodation had a private bathroom - very dirty with mold everywhere. I actually preferred using public toilets and felt absolutely disgusted to go inside the shower. The bedroom was okay. We had two single beds that were comfortable. Please think twice about renting the place over the summer, we were covered in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheeba Q
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely hostel in the middle of it all, but still tucked away and peaceful. At least most of the time. There's a school connected to the hostel and I had a hard time sleeping one night cause there was a party at the school and with no air-con just had to keep the windows open..also, surrounded by water you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaleficentMaddy
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

While our hostel visit was good, it was largely due to location and the travellers we met. This hostel features warm showers and a bed to sleep on, plus some tea and a basic kitchen in the lobby. However, their office hours are short (1-8pm?), the rooms are creaky and loud, and the locks are quite weak. The price point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

One of the few hostels on the mainland of Venice and therefore very few complaints to be had!! More expensive than most hostels for what you get but definitely worth it to be on the main island, only a 20 minute walk from the station if that and everything is reachable on foot, wifi was down when I visited and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eiliscassidy

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Veniceluxury
Veniceluxury
#101 of 219 in Venice
44 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
#6 of 219 in Venice
985 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#30 of 219 in Venice
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca'Sa Linger
Ca'Sa Linger
#157 of 219 in Venice
107 reviews
Santa Croce
L'Imbarcadero
L'Imbarcadero
#42 of 219 in Venice
102 reviews
Castello
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
#124 of 219 in Venice
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Cannaregio

Neighbourhood Profile
Cannaregio
Cannaregio is the second largest sestiere (district) with its busy Santa Lucia train station. Many transplanted Venetians commute from the outlying areas, “terra firma” to the locals, which is shorthand for any place that is not Venice. Two Grand Canal bridges serve Cannaregio, the newest (Constitution, 2008) still a local hotbed of controversy. Ponte degli Scalzi is a busy link to the train station. Nearby shops on the Lista di Spagna offer specialties like pastries and coffee that lure Venetians with a down-to-earth attitude. The Ghetto, where the Jewish population was segregated in Cannaregio, has five historic synagogues with an active Jewish community. The Fondamente Nove bustles with foot traffic to the Rialto and San Marco while vaporettos (water taxis) head to Murano and other islands. Side streets lead into quiet picturesque neighbourhoods and palaces like Ca' d'Oro rise directly out of the water.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Are you looking for a cheap accomodation in the center of venice? Ostello Santa Fosca is the property for you! We offer basic double rooms and dorms ( mixed or only female) at very affordable prices. Walking distance: 10 min from Rialto bridge 15 min from SMark Square 10 min from train station SLucia 15 min from Piazzale Roma ( bus terminal) 3 min from big supermarket FREE WIFI CONNECTION FREE CITY MAP FREE LUGGAGE DEPOSIT FREE BOARDING PASS PRINTING WINTER TIME SCHEDULE ( from half September to half june) Reception time table 9am-12 3pm-8pm No curfew Breakfast service 1 euro No kitchen available 8 euro extra cost for arrival after 8 pm SUMMER TIME SCHEDULE ( from half june to half september) Reception time table from 8am to half past midnight non stop Curfew at half past midnight Big courtyard Kitchen available 8am -10am and from 1.30 pm to 11 pm 8 euro extra cost for arrival after 8 pm ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ostello Santa Fosca

Address: Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Price Range: ₹ 4,263 - ₹ 6,589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ostello Santa Fosca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Santa Fosca Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ostello Santa Fosca staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ostello Santa Fosca staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay more elsewhere and avoid the risk of sleepless nights ending on the floor.”
D0nald313, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here over the hot summer with no air condition and get bitten by hundreds of mosquitoes.”
  • All of these bites were overight bites. This room was swarming with mosquitos.
  • The hotel was swarming with mosquitos and our skin would bleed onto the sheets
  • Stained curtains
  • Bedroom.
  • Filthy shower with mould and dirt all over.
  • A very mouldy bathroom. I doubt it had been cleaned before we arrived.
  • The bedroom
sheeba122016, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms that are not next to the backyard for more silence.”
259charlinec, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Nice quarter. Some rooms located on higher floors with only stairs to access, traveller with large luggages might need to take notice of it!”
YvesTsou, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The room by the canal may face little bit by the sound of engines passing by , bu close the window and everything will be ok”
walaai2016, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates