We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Monte Codeno

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Monte Codeno
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monte Codeno
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We had an amazing experience! Clean rooms, friendly staff, and a great breakfast. I never caught the owners name for which I am sorry for, but she was super-friendly. Yes, she could not speak English, but we are in Italy. When I go to someone else's country, I dont expect them to speak anything but their native language. Just like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyler C
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

We were in Italy for business and only had one day to make a detour to view the beautiful area of Lake Como. Hotel MonteCodeno was the ideal solution for the place to stay. Right next to the train station, free WiFi and in the cozy and tranquil town of Varenna where you have easy access to the rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mchirch
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Just a bad hotel. Very not good looking, horrible bed and pillows, noisy, hostess doesn't speak a word in english, the room was frozen with no option for heating... Apart from that the location is good, free close parking, free Wifi, clean, OK shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tal_do88
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry you had to write this revie without stay at our hotel, You made a no show, so for the cancellation policy we let you pay the first night of your stay by credit card, and you decide to give us a bad review without reason. No problem, we know that is nothing true into your review. Wish...

Novato, California
Reviewed 6 April 2016

From our first phonecall...to our 3 day stay...Marco and his mother were kind, warm and so helpful. After a rough time in Sicily...we intended to stay only one night..but ended up staying 3!! It was clean, warm, inexpensive and half block to docks...nice lake view...but more importantly... Marco and his mom made it the PERFECT choice. We had the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmef4d
Sheffield Uk
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We loved it here, the family run hotel is much to be recommended. We had a lovely stay here, in a large and clean room with good bathroom. Breakfast excellent, the owner just could not do enough for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheffieldgirl
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Buongiorno, We'd like to thank you for your wonderful review! It's really great that you enjoy your stay and you think our breakfast wes excellent! We do our best for let feel our guest confortable.

Tallinn
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Although this has been a while, I fill up the long lasted promise to write the review. Staying at Monte Codeno was a perfect choice. It is a family business, and staying there was like being part of the family. Marco speaks good English and although his mom does not, we had no problems with that. Everything was arranged extremely...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank IvariHorm
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Buongiorno! Really thank you for the Review! Don't worry if you wait long time for write it, I'm just so glad that you felt good at our Hotel! Wishing you all the best! Marco

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Hotel monte Codeno is a simple and fairly basic hotel located in Varenna, a short walk to the train station and ferries. The rooms were comfortable without being luxurious. However, it was perfect for my budget. Each room contains a television, cupboard, safe and desk. The bathroom was clean and well-stocked. The only downside is that the road below can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alastair J
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Buonasera, thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you like our hotel and all the stuffs inside the rooms! We are so sorry that some scooter disturb your sleeping time, but the road close to the hotel is going be better and better thank to some other street. Wish you the best!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Positives: Close to ferry and train station. Negatives: No view at all. While reception in at road level entrance is 100 metres up a cobbled stone donkey path on the second floor. No elevator. Hallways are small with echoes so you wake up when the first person closes their room door. Room too small for suitcases. Bathroom terrible, no where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alsupremo
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really sorry you didn't like our Hotel at all, For first we tell on our website that there is not a lift and we always help our guest to carry up theirs suitcases. Second things the shower is not 20'x20'' as you tell, but is bigger. Thank you for the photo of the boulb missing, unfortunatly...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2015

The hotel is in a good location, close to the lake, ferry station and restaurants. The rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable. our room was on the second floor facing the street but we found it to very quiet. Lydia and Marco make you feel like you are staying in their home with them. Breakfast was excellent .....great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Hello, We'd like to thank you for the great review. The title of your review is what we wanna that guest feel: feel at home. We are sorry you stay just 3 nights. We wish you all the best

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This hotel is an affordable and comfortable place to stay on Lake Como. It has great access to climb onto a boat and see the lake and it's a beautiful place to walk around a sample the many places to eat and views to see. The rooms were clean, relatively large in size and beds were comfortable. Thank you for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nutmeg48
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Buonasera, We'd like to thank you for your great review! We are really glad you enjoy your stay at our hotel and Varenna town. We hope you'll wanna stay to our hotel again!

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
714 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
328 reviews
0.9 km away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Albergo Beretta
Albergo Beretta
#6 of 6 in Varenna
113 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Torretta
Villa Torretta
#2 of 12 in Varenna
126 reviews
0.3 km away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Price Range: ₹ 4,943 - ₹ 7,698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Monte Codeno staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Monte Codeno staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden view room in the back is spacious and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles thu51, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“front rooms open up to main street but it was quiet and nice view”
 of 5 bubbles wmef4d, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not looking over the road”
 of 5 bubbles AlastairJ841, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Charge your phone off the USB plug on the TV.”
 of 5 bubbles VittorioD263, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Maureen1950_07, 11 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5