We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Victoria

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 235: English reviews
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great and friendly service. Delicious breakfast. Beautiful room in a lovely location. The only downside is that Wifi in the room is not free, however, it is not too expensive to access it. Also, there is free wifi in the common areas. Overall, a very pleasant stay. We highly recommend this hotel!

Helpful?
Thank aawrey
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your nice words. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you next time you'll be in Italy. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Lake Como. We chose to stay in Varenna as it is quieter and more intimate than Bellagio. The ferries around the lake make it very easy to visit any other towns. The Royal Victori Hotel surpassed all expectations. You feel as though you are living in a Palazzo on the lake. The rooms were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your words! Our mission is to let our guests feel relaxed and comfortable in the magic of our location. It's a great pleasure to read we did it. Hope to welcome you soon ... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed 2 nights during the off-season and had a wonderful experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had 2 dinners in the Grill and the wait-staff were attentive and knowledgeable. The meals were excellent. The hotel is just a short walk to the lake ferries, and it is even not too difficult to walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill H
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much! We're glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We really hope to welcome you again. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October. The hotel is conveniently located and very cosy. The staff were fluent in English and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. But nothing beats the views from the balcony: absolutely stunning! The Victoria grill serves delicious food and the staff working there were gracious and warm. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank SKV22
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

We really thank you for your good review. It's important for us to know what going on well or less with our work to let our guests fell comfortable and in peace while staying with us. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, friendly and English speaking staff. Most accomodating . Fantastic Lake view room. Wonderful breakfast and restaurant. Good value for money for this time of the season. Really enjoyed the walks around Varenna including the ferry to Menaggio and Bellagio.

Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much, We're glad you anjoyed your stay with us so much! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel Royal Victoria is a fine hotel but visiting Varenna in November wasn't our best choice - Most of Lake Como is closed at that time of year and the activities were therefore limited Thats not the hotel's fault - They remain open The staff were friendly and warm - No complaints there The main restaurant was closed that faced... More 

Helpful?
Thank RIchardJS59
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a pity you decided to vote only 3 points only because of other services are closed. We love our lake also in autumn/winter time and we're trying to let everyone know it. We're working on it and we offer the same services and quality for all our... More 

San Fran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As many of you know, travel in off season can be a great way to avoid the throngs of holiday seekers and to have the charm of a village like Varenna virtually all to yourself. The downside often is the choice of sleeping arrangements can be limited and a bit dicey. Well rest assured the Royal Victoria and her staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ajhello
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice words! We're glad you enjoyed our lake in low season. We're working hard to let people know the beaty and the flavours of our lake in autumn/winter time! More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed an unforgettable stay at the Royal Victoria. Our room had a lovely terrace with a view of Lake Como. All areas of the hotel are decorated beautifully and are kept immaculate. The hotel has a substantial breakfast which includes eggs that you boil to your liking. The staff is friendly and can provide helpful information regarding the area.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ohiotraveler913
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

It has been a pleasure to welcome you! Varenna and we are ready to welcome guests in low season showing everyone our beauties and flavours also in autumn/winter time. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is the perfect location, in the plaza across from the church in Varenna. There was a short walk to parking and all the local dining locations. Breakfast was included with our room rate, which was served in the dining room overlooking the lake. We were also treated to a free glass of prosecco our first night.

Helpful?
Thank Robby W
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much, We Always try to welcome our guests at best letting them feel like home! We hope to welcome you again! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is the perfect location, in the plaza across from the church. You can walk from the train station with rolling luggage, since you do not have to deal with steep steps. Breakfast was included with our room rate, which was served in dining room overlooking the lake. The food choices were excellent from bacon and eggs to cereal,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your nice words. We Always try to welcome our guests at best and let you all feel like home! Hope to see you again ... More 

465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Junior Suite Manzoni (35)
Viewed
Lake View Room (34)
Viewed
Outdoor Swimming Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Square View Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.5 km away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
703 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
2.9 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
409 reviews
5.1 km away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
936 reviews
26.8 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of lake Como. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Price Range: ₹ 8,798 - ₹ 24,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Victoria staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Seattle, WA
9 months ago
Tampa, Florida
9 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Victoria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake views are a must”
 of 5 bubbles RIchardJS59, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles 482martaz, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Look before you buy.”
 of 5 bubbles LynnSeattle, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room facing the lake - you can enjoy the evening sun.”
 of 5 bubbles Gerhard43, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Square view rooms are better value - see the lake at breakfast or from the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles 362stepheng, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay