We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Il Gourmet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Il Gourmet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Very comfortable, cozy hotel,just beyond Colle Aperto. Good value for money. Excellent place to eat with good and varied menu. Stunning views over both Citta Alta and the new town. Great off road parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulbmwbloke
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

The 3 ONLY good things this hotel have are: 1- localization 2-The Nice Place to have a breakfast 3- free parking THATS ALL. No acebility. Old furniture. A lot of carpets on the rooms. Bad humor from the recepcionist. A 3 little drops Bath. Small and horrible beds. The Internet is a chapter also, the password has 23 caracteres, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaque M
North Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2015

This beautiful little hotel is so conveniently located just around the corner from the Old City Wall and the funicular railway to go to the castle. The room we had was a great size and overlooked the garden which made it very quiet and private. Although quite dated, the hotel has charm with its central courtyard and wisteria covered al...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheena D
Il_Gourmet_BG, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Il Gourmet, responded to this review

Dear Sheena D, thank you for your review. We try our best every day, so, we listen to every advice we receive. We hope to see you again. Best regards Albergo Ristorante Il Gourmet Staff

Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 September 2014

This hotel was our 'port in a storm' when our booked hotel lost our reservation. We were thankful for the room, and for the platter of meats, cheeses, and bread that they served us late at night. We were told that the hotel is best known for its restaurant. However, in our three-week trip, this was the most minimal breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pemichongan
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel if you accept it for what it is. the location is great however it is a little dated. however I think its style is in keeping with the area and makes it a nice touch. Breakfast was a shambles tried it once and it was not good. If your expecting top notch hotel with mod...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeyh1984
Il_Gourmet_BG, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Il Gourmet, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the compliments about the location. Bergamo is beautiful and our hotel, as you could see, is perfectly positioned. We cannot understand what you mean for "shambles" about breakfast. However, we are sorry you didn't like it. We hope to see you again; next time we are sure you will write on Tripadvisor about a great breakfast!...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel in the "citta alta" for 1 night in September. Very nice view from our room on the first floor. No lift so hard carrying large suitcases upstairs. Within easy walking distance to the old city and close to funicular to San Vigilio which has a beautiful view of Bergamo. Unfortunately breakfast was virtually non-existent. Cereal, orange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
Il_Gourmet_BG, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Il Gourmet, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for underlining the nice view from your room. Bergamo is so nice from those windows! We are really sorry for your breakfast. We cannot remember your stay, but, please, next time tell us immediately what you expect, since you can enjoy your breakfast. We hope to see you again; next time inform us directly of your stay,...

NJ
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First, be prepared for a heart-pounding ride to the hotel winding through narrow, cobblestone streets up to the hotel, dodging pedestrians and squeezing past cars going in the opposite direction. It is NOT easy to navigate the Citte Alta! But once we arrived we were grateful for the free on-site parking and with such a convenient location, we were grateful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank madamsusan
Il_Gourmet_BG, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Il Gourmet, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for your stay in our hotel. We are sorry that you did not choose our restaurant, in which you could taste best typical and Mediterranean cuisine. We think that next time, if you will choose our restaurant, your experience will be much better! Give us a chance! We hope to see you again. Best regards Albergo Ristorante...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Sentrally located just outside the old city, and with the funicular to the top just outside the hotel. We stayed in room 16, with a nice view over the valley. Old fashioned rooms, but clean and spacious though. No elevator, you have to use the stairs. Nice area outside, we had both dinner and breakfast outdoors. The dinner was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reisefan
Algiers, Algeria
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel's main asset is its location, right outside the old town (città alta). The rest of the offer is quite random, depending on which room you end up getting. When we arrived, we were given what is probably the worst room in the hotel (#12), with a insanity-inducing bathroom (no window, weak yellowish lighting, 70s decor and loud fan)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexbeaulieu
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff nice room in 1980's style with a stunning view over the new town. Be prepared to be woken up by the church bells at 7 am. A plus is the free parking space just outside the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mats B

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.7 km away
La Valletta Relais
La Valletta Relais
#3 of 33 in Bergamo
324 reviews
0.6 km away
Albergo Il Sole
Albergo Il Sole
#17 of 33 in Bergamo
109 reviews
0.7 km away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#11 of 33 in Bergamo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Hotel Agnello d'Oro
#13 of 33 in Bergamo
238 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#16 of 33 in Bergamo
148 reviews
1.8 km away
La Castellana
La Castellana
#10 of 33 in Bergamo
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Il Gourmet" Hotel has ten rooms and one suite overall. The rooms, located on two floors, have a magnificent view and are 9 double rooms and 1 single room. The suite, completely independent, has 2 double rooms, a dining area and a terrace (solarium) that the Client is free to use. All the rooms have air conditioned and independent heating, mini bar, satellite TV and telephone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Il Gourmet

Address: Via San Vigilio 1, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Gourmet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Il Gourmet Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Il Gourmet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms with a view. #21 and #22 are good choices. Avoid #12 at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles alexbeaulieu, 27 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Request a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles Hudsimo, 20 May 2013 | Read review
“If you don't like church bells choose another hotel, otherwise enjoy the charm. Most rooms have great views, ask for one looking over the plain with "bella vista".”
 of 5 bubbles deanm302, 8 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Family Apartment worked well with 2 small kiddies.”
 of 5 bubbles ScambusterSZ, 9 Sep 2012 | Read review
“See the rooms first, then decide. No elevators, we didn't see one, but didn't need it. The rooms for 3 didn't have the front view but to the backyard trees and flowers.”
  • View from the backyard
 of 5 bubbles Skipper_il_a, 8 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5