We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Birillo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 149: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were there for two nights. very nice host, they've kept for us a parking place and cared about our needs. good location. The room was nice but very very small bathroom and no lift to carry up things. We did enjoy there.

Helpful?
Thank Roni S
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we're glad to know that you had a nice experience here and enjoyed your stay More 

Bo I Telemark, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016

After reading the reviews I was expecting something else than how this hotel really was. Everyone is saying the breakfast is great, but it was the worst breakfast we had during our 18-day roadtrip in Italy. Extremely dry bread, and pretty much just cake for breakfast. The juices wasn't even good! The food is also placed in the room with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lene G
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hello, you came in a period of the year which is very expesive and I can assure you that in this town we are one of the less expensive. We really didn't understand what you expected because we have swwt and savory things, and everything is really fresh, we make it by ourselves. Thank you anyway for sharing More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

The central location, the very friendly staff, the hospitality and the affordable price make this a place to return to. When we add the surprising and original breakfast this is more than we expected. Room was clean, but could do with a little update. Only problem we had was the shower that was either hot or cold and had little... More 

Helpful?
Thank WanderML
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hello good evening. Thank you so much for everything! It's nice to know that you appreciated our job and what we do everyday to make your stay the best as we can. The building is quite old, so that's why maybe we have problems sometimes with water, there are some little tricks to use it in a better way, but... More 

Siliguri, India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Positives: 1. Good location. Not too far from the train station. 2. Very nice and friendly staff. 3. Good breakfast. Homemade cakes and pastries were really nice. 4. Room was decorated nicely and looked lovely. Negatives: 1. The bed was actually comprised of 2 single beds joined together and it got really uncomfortable in the middle of the night when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank priyankakandoi
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you very much we appreciated a lot that you liked the staff, our homemade breakfast and the decoration of the room. We're trying to solve the problem of the 2 single beds, but it's not so troublesome in all our rooms. It's true we have no elevator but we write it everywhere so everyone can read it: we... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Probably the best breakfast in Italy. It's true the food was amazing. Where else can you get a free breakfast buffet with four different homemade cakes to choose from. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, the recommendation of the Cinque Terra was the best ever. The rooms are spacious and clean. There are plenty of restaurants within 5 minutes walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank EddiesMom7
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you very much. It's very nice to know that you enjoyed your stay so much! Tha food that we serve everyday for breakfast is all homemade and we always give you the best genuine ingredients, trying to serve evryday something different. It's true it's plenty of restaurants, 200-300 :) for any kind of budget and taste Thank you for... More 

Peñíscola
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Lovely staff helpful, they are inproving the hotel it is nice and clean,breakfast is good the room was ok could have been bigger for three persons it was clean and the bathroom was ok it had all one needed for one night stay. If We visit La Spesia again it would be an option to stay at the Birillo, lift... More 

Helpful?
Thank KristjanandYr
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we really appreciate your suggestions and the fact that you loved us <3 We would be really happy if you want to come back here. For the rest we're improoving everyday CIao! More 

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I didn't like this Hostel at all. I had high expectations since I read all these good reviews online. I had the feeling it was dirty. I even found bugs inside the room. Unfortunately, since it was very late I couldn't call for help (since there wasn't somebody at the front desk during the night). The girl in the front... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolinaFuller
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

I'm really sorry but I think that your bad night here depended also by the fact that you had a bad day, that you lost your luggage and the rest... We saw you didn't see the packed breakfast and I'm really sorry about that More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Front desk staff spoke English and were very informative. The train to the cinque terra villages was not running when I arrived due to a minor landslide so the hotel staff gave me directions for a bus to do a different hike while I waited a day for the train to run again. Rooms are small and bed was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahKS1983
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we really appreciated that you wanted to share your experience with other travellers. The village you meant was Portovenere for sure and we suggest everybody to visit it because it's really magic =) More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

The room and bathroom were small, but they were clean and cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful- we had to catch an early train but breakfast only starts at 7am, but she prepared breakfast 10 minutes earlier so we could still grab a bite. We really appreciated that. Wifi was a bit unstable, but it was alright since we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zher Min T
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. It was a pleasure for us to try to satisfy your needs, so we did our best to make sure that you could leave eating something at least , and something good =) It's true, our hotel is really central so it's a real base for everything you'd like to visit. Hope... More 

Санкт-Петербург, Россия
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2015

+ perfect location between railway station, port and the historical center of the city. The hotel is situated on the silent street near the main prospect with many shops, restaurants and transport. + fantastic friendly and helpful stuff (the girl on the reception and the boy who helps her with the breakfast) + the price was 70 EU per room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaSPb
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review :) Sharing your experience is always important and you gave lots of informations We're always happy when people apreciate all our job. Thank you for mentioning our staff and breakfast and everything, we really like what we do and we try our best to make you happy :) More 

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (133)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (23)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Single Room with Balcony (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Triple Room (26)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (82)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.0 km away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#6 of 22 in La Spezia
888 reviews
0.3 km away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
628 reviews
0.5 km away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
204 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Price Range: ₹ 4,138 - ₹ 6,678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Spezia
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Spezia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Birillo staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Birillo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you do not like stairs try first floor, no lift”
 of 5 bubbles KristjanandYr, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask about renovated room”
  • View
  • View
  • Bath
  • Room
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaSPb, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If traveling in the summer, ask for an AC room.”
 of 5 bubbles Puppimus, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“2 of my friends had a room looking onto the street and found it very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Anitafromoz2010, 7 Feb 2015 | Read review
“During the time of the year when no A/C is required away from the street and higher floors will be preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles JosteinJ, 27 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay