We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Orsa Maggiore for Women Only

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Orsa Maggiore for Women Only
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

A real treasure for women only in Rome. This extremely affordable no frills hostel offers all the basic for a short or long stay in Rome -Trastevere. This old convent converted in a hostel includes a full equipped kitchen allowing home cooking. Single and sharing accommodations, bathroom etc. Very clean, 10 walking minutes along the Tiber from the Vatican This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin L
orsa m, Direttore at Orsa Maggiore for Women Only, responded to this review

Thank you! We hope to see you again in the future....

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Everything was clean and comfortable and the kitchen area was large and well equipped. However, it's doesn't have much atmosphere for meeting other travelers. Everyone I met was friendly but mostly middle-aged women that were as eager to make new friends as I was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willow L
london
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I had my wallet stolen during my trip in Rome and luckily I stayed here. Valentina at reception helped me a lot by locating the police station and even gave me a bus ticket as I had no money at all. I managed to feed myself for 24 hours by making use of donated food left behind by previous guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kzdoncaster
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I stayed in a 4-bed dormitory with its own bathroom. The room was spacious with two big windows to the yard. It was cleaned and tidied up every day.The bed, though a bit narrow, was comfortable. Tea and coffee were provided for free in the big and equipped kitchen. During the night it was very quiet. The ladies at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinazoug
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I stayed here for 1 week just before Christmas in a shared room. The best thing about this hostel is the location, as if you are not shy of walking a little you are able to get everywhere important in Rome just by walking, and it is especially close to the Vatican. I found the staff polite and helpful, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EmmaRLB
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

The hostel is in a great location and walking distance to everything you need. The staff were unable to book a taxi to pick me up from the airport. The shower in the bathroom constantly flooded, and my private room didn't feel so clean. For 60 euros a night I expected more. I can't comment on the dormitory style accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lampone B
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The place it is well located. You can basically walk to Vatican City and surroundings. If you like to walk you can reach easily other points in the city or take a bus. Regarding the hostel itself: Staff is not the best but they try. Kitchen is big enough and full equipped. Rooms are big but there is no air...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DanielleVentura
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

The hostel is nice enough, room is basic but serviceable, amenities clean. Unfortunately the hostel is way to loud at night. Nevermind the noise from the streets, that's tolerable but the people in the courtyard/bar/outside keep laughing and talking until late at night and nobody tells them to tone its down or go elsewhere. Similarly, other residents phone and Skype...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K P
OrsaMagg, Direttore at Orsa Maggiore for Women Only, responded to this review

Dear Madam, thank you for the review! We are sorry for the inconvenience but we wrote an email to the restaurant owners to complaint for the noise late at night. We went several times downstairs but the staff did not consider us. We told to the guest who was talking on Skype to stop because she was disturbing the other...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to stay in, close to all sight seeing, conformable and clean. You can find all the facilities. I had some problems with my flight, they tried their best to help. Thank you ladies. If I plan to go back to Rome of course I will stay there. Strongly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lena C
OrsaMagg, Direttore at Orsa Maggiore for Women Only, responded to this review

Hi Lena, thank you for your review! We are glad to see that you are finally back home! All the best

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Orsa Maggiore is set in a fantastic location! Opposite the river and walking distance to the Vatican!! Lots of great restaurants, super markets and bus stops nearby! The hostel staff are lovely and friendly and more than happy to help! I stayed here with a friend in a private twin bed room. The rooms are lovely and big with wardrobe,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brigid R
OrsaMagg, Direttore at Orsa Maggiore for Women Only, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are sorry for the inconvenience due to the lack of hot water. Unfortunately we have electrical boilers (like the most part of roman buildings), so if someone uses a lot of hot water, the other guests have to wait. Generally we do not have mothers and daughters or many locals. Our guests are 90%...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Generator Rome
Generator Rome
#496 of 1,291 in Rome
50 reviews
Trastevere
Residenza Santa Maria
Residenza Santa Maria
#32 of 1,291 in Rome
734 reviews
Monti
New Generation Hostel Santa Maria Maggiore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#41 of 1,028 in Rome
800 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Villa Riari
Hotel Villa Riari
#896 of 3,659 in Rome
65 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Trastevere

Neighbourhood Profile
Trastevere
Trastevere ("beyond the Tiber") is like a faded postcard, a little worn around the edges but still charming. With its wide-open piazzas, meandering streets, weathered Renaissance buildings, and overgrown personality, it's become an irresistible mecca for visitors. Trastevere is an enclave of entertainment - a rotating set of street performers entertains almost every night, and unforgettable eateries and bars pepper its piazzas and side streets. For a trip to the past, visit the southern and western flanks of Trastevere for pockets of yesteryear, less traversed areas with a residual 1960s and 70s Roman vibe.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A women only Hostel in the center of Rome. Our Hostel is located inside the Internationa Women's House in a XVI century ex convent. We are in the famous Trastevere district: bars, restaurants and city nightlife are few blocks away, as well as the major sightseeings: St. Peter's Basilica, Vatican Museums, Campo dei Fiori, Piazza Navona ecc. We have some private rooms and some dorms all with wodden ceilings and antique "cotto" tiles. Our Hostel is an ideal place for solo travellers, and for all the people who like to relax after a day out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore for Women Only

Address: Via San Francesco di Sales 1/a, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Price Range: ₹ 2,322 - ₹ 6,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Orsa Maggiore for Women Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore For Women Only Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Orsa Maggiore for Women Only staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Orsa Maggiore for Women Only staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Safe affordable clean no frills hostel. Ideal when travelling 'sola'. Big Rooms, full equipped kitchen, atmosphere very amicable.”
 of 5 bubbles 78linl, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms with shared bathroom and rooms with their own one. I liked that I shared the bathroom with the guests of my dorm only.”
 of 5 bubbles Dinazoug, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“View to the garden to see the events during summer.”
 of 5 bubbles DanielleVentura, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask if towels or breakfast are included in your booking price or arranged for an additional fee”
 of 5 bubbles Y2435PIamandaw, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“You can stay in a single room, but the rooms are already so quiet, save some money and stay in the dorms.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingteacher40, 10 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay