We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ancient Romance B&B

Via Ottaviano 9, 00192 Rome, Italy
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
  • 7 Hills Tours
    0.1 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 11 July 2016
Great base
Brilliant location, just by Vatican City. Easy access to public... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Killybegs, Ireland
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We stayed at the Ancient romance b&bfor 3 days the first 2 nights we had no hot water and the shower hose was leaking very bad so for the first 2 nights we was not able to take a shower. The hotel finally fixed the hose on the last night of our stay. The water still did not get hot...

Thank Bill W
Reviewed 21 September 2016

we were fooled being first time travellers in Rome and stayed in Ancient romance. They got a very beautiful advert to attract customers but in reality it is not....too good to be true....the room were not impressive, the food, only voucher is given, had to get out of the building about 3 minute walk and will only give one small...

3Thank Erminda P
Michele B, Proprietario at Ancient Romance B&B, responded to this review

Dear guest, we always accept every type of complain, not to be said "we fool our customers". Everybody can disagree with our room style and dislike it, but it is very clearly written on every website that our standard breakfast is a coffee at your choice (normal cup, italian bar size) and a croissant. Continental breakfast costs 7 € per...

Reviewed 11 August 2016

When our shuttle bus dropped us off around the corner and told us "it's just around there" we thought the there would be a sign telling us exactly where. When we turned around the corner there was no signs only a shop with a massive door with no signage. I then had to google images of the front the the...

1Thank Parksey7
Michele B, Proprietario at Ancient Romance B&B, responded to this review

Dear guest, our b&b is located in a late 19th century building and it is an Historical building. That is why there is no possibility to put any sign outside the door, just buzzers or the reason why you find a historical elevator or a floor AC unit (perfectly working): because you are in the historical center of a 2.500...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Brilliant location, just by Vatican City. Easy access to public transport or walk into Rome itself. Bus to Palatine, Colesseum stops right outside on the square, tickets from green shop on square. Beautiful old residential building, Google will take you to square side by footlocker, it's actually just down the street. Square to your back past tiny kebab pizza place...

Thank Sais
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We spent two nights here over last weekend and, although the location was great (just outside the Vatican City and near the Metro), the rest of it was a disappointment. Although clean enough, the standard of the fixtures was poor (the shower door twice came adrift from its frame, the toilet seat shifted when you sat on it, and the...

1Thank Purple_thistle2013
Island of Gozo, Malta
Reviewed 12 March 2016

It's hard to know where to start - first let me say the rooms and facilities were spotlessly clean! Access to the kitchen, and telephone in the hallway were much appreciated. The location we ended up at was a short walk to both the Vatican and the Castel Sant' Angelo and right next to Mc Donalds and the Metro. There...

1Thank DrPJShield
Elliniko, Greece
Reviewed 18 January 2016

I liked very much. The area is perfect, 5 minutes from Vatican and its museums, 10 minutes from Saint Angelo castle and 30 minutes from piazza Navona with foot. The metro station is 2 minutes near, so nothing to worry about. Also there is supermarket near and a mini market which stays open late at night. 24h food you can...

1Thank Κωνσταντίνος Π
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 4 January 2016

The only good thing about the hotel was the destination. Otherwise it was awful!!!!!! It was full of mould , dirty and without view! Its not a hotel , just a few apartments in a very old building without any comforts! The receptionist was never there and the breakfast was compriced by some chip prepacked jam ( the cheapest and...

3Thank elina p
Michele B, Proprietario at Ancient Romance B&B, responded to this review

Some travelers always think they paid averything with the pre-paid offer they usually book online with some companies, or at least they try to avoid to pay the city taxes, which are always excluded and it is perfectly written in their booking confirmation. When we ask for what they still hace to pay, often starts a big complain and refuse...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Simple, clean and great value pensione in a 6 floor apartment. About 3 minute walk to St Peters Sq and 200m from Octaviano metro stop. No main sign on road so look for multi address numbers on the door. Just next to Gelato shop! Help yourself breakfast with food in the fridge. Some nice bars and restaurants in vicinity too....

Thank JammyJimmy007
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for three unforgettable nights. We could not fault it. The B&B has a beautiful quantness to it. It was clean, comfortable with a great view and very central. The staff were extremely helpful with all our queries. We would highly recommend a stay at this B&B. 😀

Thank Barbara G

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (68)
View from Room (10)
Room/Suite (19)
Dining (5)
Bathroom (4)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
Le Suite di Via Ottaviano
#666 of 1,292 in Rome
164 reviews
Martini Bed
#268 of 3,674 in Rome
119 reviews
Ottaviano Augusto
Ottaviano Augusto
#1,414 of 3,674 in Rome
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bed & Breakfast Roma Vaticano
#2,923 of 3,674 in Rome
37 reviews
B&B Have a Nice Holiday
B&B Have a Nice Holiday
#924 of 3,674 in Rome
38 reviews
Suite Rome
Suite Rome
#490 of 1,035 in Rome
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prati

Neighbourhood Profile
Just steps away from the chaos of the centre, Prati is the closest Rome gets to calm. Meticulously planned in a neat grid, quite unlike neighbouring Borgo, Prati is a local favourite for its aesthetic organisation and wide streets lined with a range of boutiques for every shopping fantasy. Nonnis pushing baby carriages and gossiping teens own every inch of the sidewalk, but that’s only during business hours. Once the sun sets, quirky sidestreet bars celebrate aperitivo hour, those evening cocktails that help wash away the tensions of Roman life.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“Ancient Romance” is a bed and breakfast located in the wonderful, historical and artistic area of the Vatican City, in the hearth of ancient Rome. It is just 50 metres far from San Pietro square and the Vatican Museums. Our B&B has just been renovated and it is situated in a splendid late-19th-century building, in via Ottaviano, on a quiet pedestrian precinct. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ancient Romance B&B

Address: Via Ottaviano 9, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Price Range: ₹ 3,212 - ₹ 8,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient Romance B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Ancient Romance B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Romance Hotel Rome
Ancient Romance Bed And Breakfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ancient Romance B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good for Vatican location only”
 of 5 bubbles Parksey7, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for a room overlooking the street - it's seriously noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Purple_thistle2013, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have an electric plug adaptor!”
 of 5 bubbles DrPJShield, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just don't try it , its a mess!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 836elinap, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the 'black room' while my sister stayed in the next door pink room. The black room seemed a little larger.”
 of 5 bubbles 233nanettea, 13 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5