We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rifugio degli Artisti

Booking.comUS$ 108*
View Deal
#2,167 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 142*
US$ 108*
Great Deal
US$ 142*
US$ 142*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Rifugio degli Artisti
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rifugio degli Artisti
See the most recent reviews
Showing 25: English reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2014

We were very pleased with the location, price and the staff (very helpful). However, the rooms are below grade. As a result the room was very damp and musty smelling. The sheets never felt dry. We had mold on the walls in some places. The shower door did not close properly, resulting in water on the bathroom floor. Our feet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Domenico G, Direttore at Rifugio degli Artisti, responded to this review

Dear Guest we are sorry but perhaps you did not understand that our rooms were in the past ancient authentic Roman Cisterns.Our property is a unique and very special place. The floor of the rooms is made of original bricks of 2000 years ago and 'this is the reason why if you go barefoot you get dirty, but not because...

Reviewed 1 September 2014

I booked this Rifugio degli Artisti. and when asked by email,I estimated the time of arrival to the hotel. After a 10hours flight to Rome which was late, a long queuing up for non EU resident for passport control, and a shuttle which was late, I got out of the airport much later than expected. It was still 9pm in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WDulmar
Domenico G, Direttore at Rifugio degli Artisti, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we are sorry for your experience.Unfortunately your behavior has been very incorrect because of this review.Before check-in we have sent many mails to you asking for your check-in time but no one has ever answered. On your reservation it is written that our latest check-in is at 6:30 pm but if the customer tells us an other check-in...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After an early morning train from Sorrento to Naples & another from Naples to Rome, we were exhausted as we arrived. We dragged our suitcases through cobblestone streets as the temps began to soar into the 80's... But Nico made our stay great from the minute he threw open the door with a warm, "Ciao!" He bounded around, happily showing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J G
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Pros: Great location, smack in the middle of everything Great staff able to help with pretty much everything Nice pricing (we paid Euro 120/night for Room Nr. 2) for this location Cons: The rooms are in the basement which means you have no idea what the weather is like The TV was about 14 inch, smaller than on my computer......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PelleH
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hi, we went there for 4 days for my fiancé 30's birthday as a surprise trip and we had the perfect stay. Booked directly with the property (Domenico) and the host was so charming and helpful. The guesthouse is located in the center and all major attractions are nearby. He knows how to treat well his guests. Well recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kasiabel
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The good: Nice and very charming B&B in the heart of Rome close to Piazza del Popolo and easy to reach by public transportation (just a five minute walk from Flaminio subway station). We stayed there in July when it was incredibly hot outside so we were thankful that the rooms are located in the basement and thus pleasantly cool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Hawkins
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013

As the headline suggests, these beds are the best I have slept in when staying at hotels in Rome. Its location is also superb in the old artists quarter (as the name of the hotel indicates) between the river, Via del Corso and Piazza del Popolo. The rooms (as well as the reception area) are cosy and tastefully decorated with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stian S
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I had so much expectation going to Rufugi, but was unfortunatly disapointed... Here is why. First the goods: Location is great, near piazza del popolo and about 5 minutes walk from Flaminio subway station. This was our second time in Rome and we knew this neighbourhood felt very safe, even at night. We were welcomed by the owner, a young...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank goldenray
Domenico G, Direttore at Rifugio degli Artisti, responded to this review

We thank guest for its review.Our guest house is in the basement of an ancient building and this guest had a charming room that was a Roman cistern of 2000 years ago.We have a modern mechanical ventilation system for automatic control of humidity and temperature.We are very proud of this system of last generation.We wonder why the customer did not...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I traveled alone from August 8th to 15th, 2013 in Rome and this little jewel in the heart of Rome was one of the highlights of my trip. The most charming, cozy, beautiful, perfectly situated little refuge you can hope to get in Rome. Walking distance to the major treasures of this gorgeous city, it is by far one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tally G
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Everything was perfect. Host was very kind and helpful, keeping our luggages before check in and after check out. The room was very comfortable with a great artistic vibe (many sculptures and beautiful paintings). Close to all the main attractions. Don't miss it and we will for sure come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romainm359

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#53 of 1,257 in Rome
133 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#72 of 1,257 in Rome
631 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#222 of 1,257 in Rome
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
2,278 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
1,170 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Campo Marzio

Neighbourhood Profile
Campo Marzio
From its original role as ancient army training fields to its present-day identity as one of the city’s most desirable neighbourhoods, the Campo Marzio is the best place to get lost in Rome. Gorgeous Renaissance and Baroque palazzos line the streets, and are filled with enticing boutiques and food shops. By day, Rome’s best-dressed denizens criss-cross its streets in a fashionable parade of errands, occasionally pausing to look fabulous in gorgeous piazzas like San Lorenzo in Lucina. Campo Marzio can be a bit of a sleeper after aperitivi hour (21:00), so visit by day and experience the pulse of daytime Rome.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a prestigious 1600 building in the heart of the historic center of Rome, a few steps from Piazza del Popolo and Via del Corso, is Rifugio degli Artisti. From renovation of an old stable in the basement of the building that was to the most excellent property Borghese family, Rifugio degli Artisti offers its guests five artist studios tastefully furnished and equipped with private bathroom, wirless, tv.In unique charm, in ancient times Roman bricks, including original canvases, easels, hand-carved, antique Italian furniture, the artist studios are ready to welcome artists and art lovers who want to stay in the eternal city, in a street famous for its always been art workshops. In a fascinating and unique, in the way they lived and opererono artists such as Guttuso, Ivanov, Sarra and Canova, our artist studios welcome their guests in a memorable and enticing permanent art gallery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rifugio degli Artisti

Address: Via del Vantaggio 1 d, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Price Range: ₹ 5,094 - ₹ 42,934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rifugio degli Artisti 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Rifugio degli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rifugio degli Artisti staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“suite 1 and 3”
818mostafas, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Only one basement room! Listing is deceiving.”
Argi514, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 was very nice and clean”
648nicka, 8 Nov 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in Room Nr. 2 which probably has the best WiFi (closest to the router)”
PelleH, 9 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Rooms 2 & 4 are slightly larger than the rest.”
tallyg2013, 19 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 108* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 142
Orbitz.comUS$ 142
PricelineUS$ 108
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates