We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alessandro Downtown Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

709 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 400: English reviews
Start your review of Alessandro Downtown Hostel
 Click to rate
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were a group of 6 and we shared a room. Everything was clean, comfortable and a friendly staff. They organise activities for the evenings and we had a great time there and met lots of people. 100% recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juanma596
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went to this hostel based on reviews on Hostelworld and was very satisfied. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and cleaned daily and the staff was welcoming and friendly. They offer a 4€ breakfast which wasn't that great, but for 4€ it was fine. We didn't go to any unfortunately but they offer a few activities between other hostels in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

It was my first time staying at a hostel, and also the first time visiting a city as a backpacker. The location is perfect, the staff is very kind and helpful and the rooms are spacious. Tried the breakfast as well and it's pretty good for 4€.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikolett H
Hostels_Alessandro, Public Relations Manager at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Nikolett H, We are totally honored that you chose us for your hostel and hope you have fully enjoyed it! We wish you continued happy journeys! All the best,

Prizren, Kosovo
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything is close at hand. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is neat and tidy. It's a perfect place for group visits. The atmosphere is inviting especially for youngsters. It's full of young and lively people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sisi82626
Hostels_Alessandro, Public Relations Manager at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sisi82626, It is our pleasure to read your review. Thank you for posting it. We hope you have had a good time with us and enjoyed your trip in Rome. Grazie mille!

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 1 week ago

probably the best Hostel location in Rome ... it's about 3 minutes walking from Rome Termini ( the main train , bus and Metro station in Rome ) and 1.5 km from the colosseum and Trevi Fountain ... the staff are so friendly and they have many parties ... the place is clean and comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profahmed94
Hostels_Alessandro, Public Relations Manager at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear profahmed94, Thank you for posting your review. We hope our location helped well your exploring city and you have visited and seen many sites and enjoyed. Thank you for choosing us for your trip! All the best,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great, 2 blocks away from termini station, city accessable by walking. Stayed there for 4 nights, and it was a good choice. Overall cheap, staff are very nice and helpful, PJ helped me a lot. There's a supermarket very close to it. Rooms are big, there are lockers for everyone. you just need to take your own padlock,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dávid J
Hostels_Alessandro, Public Relations Manager at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Dávid J, Big thank you, Dávid! Thank you for your complete review on our place. It is really informative. We believe it is very useful for our future guests and people who look for information on budget accommodation in Rome. We appreciate .it. Hope your trip in Rome has been great and we are looking forward to your return!...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So this place is a minute walk from the station. The staff is super helpful. The rooms are very spacious and the mattress are so comfortable. They also host group events. Will definitely come back! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JumpnJ
Hostels_Alessandro, Public Relations Manager at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear JumpnJ, Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Rome. It is our pleasure to know you liked our place and we are very happy to read you will come back! We are looking forward to your return! All the best,

Temuco, Chile
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very well located near to Termini (main train station) and one metro stop away from the bus station. The service is good for backpackers travellers, with plenty of common spaces. Is really near to the coliseum and many other atractions by walk distance. Completely recommended for a cheap and convenient stay in Rome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francisco A
Hostels_Alessandro, Public Relations Manager at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Francisco A, Thank you for posting your review and introducing our character. We hope your trip in Rome has been great and you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for recommending us! We appreciate it. Best regards,

Antofagasta, Chile
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are big, the breakfast is very good and cheap, there is good vives in the place, Owens and Pj are very nice and they will help you when you have troubles, nice being here, and share to experiences with other travellers. Also good common area places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brun0giu
Hostels_Alessandro, Guest Relations Manager at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear brun0giu, It has been our pleasure we had you as our guest :) Thank you for your review. We appreciate and hope your trip in Rome has been something special for your life. We hope we will see you one day again. Grazie!!

Dallas, TEXAS USA
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As a female traveling alone there is always caution on my mind and those this doesn't look like the best neighborhood I did not have any problems and found the area great for seeing Rome. It is only two blocks from the side of the train station. The double decker tour busses are only a couple of block on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula5210
Hostels_Alessandro, Public Relations Manager at Alessandro Downtown Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Paula5210, Thank you for posting your review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your hostel experience. We also appreciate information you shared about the double decker bus service. It has not been focused much by others but it is a really good point which can help our future guests. Thank you once again for your visit...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#282 of 1,292 in Rome
1,223 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#307 of 1,292 in Rome
543 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#17 of 1,053 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#36 of 1,053 in Rome
682 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,053 in Rome
425 reviews
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#42 of 1,053 in Rome
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Esquilino

Neighbourhood Profile
Esquilino
Old school vibe from the very beginning is the only way to describe the Esquilino neighbourhood. The Esquilino takes pride in being one of the oldest areas in Rome for its key location on one of the city’s famous seven hills. From an ancient neighbourhood to its modern incarnation as a multicultural hub, Esquilino always has something going on—polyglot vendors debate street artists while kids play pick-up basketball games. Look around you: this area isn’t like the historic centre. Liberty architecture, large piazzas, and long boulevards mix with archaic arches, secret side alleys, and beautiful churches like Santa Maria Maggiore.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Alessandro Downtown Hostel

Address: Via Carlo Cattaneo 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Price Range: ₹ 1,609 - ₹ 20,378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alessandro Downtown Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Alessandro Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Downtown Hotel Rome
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alessandro Downtown Hostel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Darlington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Darlington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Belgrade, Serbia

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Alessandro Downtown Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Central tour location, very close to train station clean and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Paula5210, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Is the same whenever you stay”
 of 5 bubbles aler126, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms facing the Indian barber shop had the best natural light!”
 of 5 bubbles navg2017, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bring a padlock, rent a towel”
 of 5 bubbles kerrymaybullion, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“great location”
 of 5 bubbles 636maggien, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5