We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aarangi Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aarangi Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Start your review of Aarangi Motel
 Click to rate
new plymouth
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here in 2012 and was lovely so decided to stay again. It is in a great location only minutes to Kohimarama Beach and 10 mins walk to Mission Bay. Off street parking and balcony to sit on a have a few drinks, But for $194 a night for room 4 it wasn't worth what we paid. It has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DesignerLas
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Helpful manager, clean room basic facilities, old décor. Well located for our purpose, off street parking. We were just a one night stay and the motel was fully booked. Adequate tea and coffee making facilities. Rooms very tidy but small, good natural light.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david255106
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This comfortable, homely motel exceeded our expectations! Friendly owner and off street parking. Great cafes and a city beach just a minute or two away, on foot. No problems with traffic noise. It's not the most up-to-date decor perhaps, but we liked it all the same - our room was very pleasant and well-equipped, and it felt cared-for. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CharityJNorman
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay , we hope you can come back again soon

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 May 2016

The motel itself was clean and tidy but it was not as portrayed on the web site. There was a rusty old stand up fan in the lounge, very old blinds that need replacing, old wooden framework, and the curtains in the bedroom were off the hooks in places. The bathroom was nice and had been renovated but I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 56Irene
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

sorry you thought the tiny fountain was a problem , its been there for years and never been a noise problem with anyone else , if you come back we will turn it off for you

Reviewed 3 May 2016

Friendly staff and great location. The rooms were clean and well looked after though looking tired and dated. I stayed here as it is close to an event I was attending. It suited me well for this trip. Pricing was more than I expected. If I did not want to save travelling time I would have stayed in the CBD...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simono704
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The motel is located a very short walking distance from the road that runs along the ocean right into town. There are a couple of restaurants on the corner of the ocean road and many more restaurants and a movie theatre a short drive away on the ocean road at Mission Bay. There is a bus on the corner of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Good quiet location, minutes from the beach and cafes and shops. Clean comfortable room and cooking facilities. Staff went out of their way to advise about visits. Bus into city centre stops at the end of the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much , we hope you can come and stay with us again in the near future

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I stayed at Aarangi Motel when I sold my home in Auckland this year. The motel is comfortable, the units are larger than other 'newer' motels I'd looked at, and the facilities are better. It's very clean and safe. Rooms are cleaned every single day. The cleaning staff are part of the Aarangi family and the welcome is extremely warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn0104
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review , the area is great and we try to blend in with the locals very friendly and helpful. We hope you come and stay again in the future.

Tenterden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2015

Rooms could do with make over and facilities/ bathroom and kitchen dated Lovely location and handy for good cafes and of course the beach Cleaning staff tried to rush us out at 0915 Minor thing but wifi system very poor

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J2855DYNick
Sctnz, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

Hope you come and stay again in the future

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We stayed at this Motel, as we had a family function to attend in the area. We found it to be a basic 1970’s style of Motel. The rooms were fairly small, & the layout was very dated. Although the facilities were pretty basic we did find the unit to be very clean & tidy, & the bed was comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert M
rosr258, Owner at Aarangi Motel, responded to this review

thank you for your review , we hope you can come again soon.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohimarama
4.9 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 68 in Auckland
623 reviews
7.1 km away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
7.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
627 reviews
6.1 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
5.6 km away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 3 in Ellerslie
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sparkling clean Motel Units in a quiet residential neighbourhood, 1 block to Kohimarama Beach and 1km to Mission Bay. Choose units from upstairs, with a "peep of the sea" or downstairs and enjoy the garden. Walk, jog, bike along popular Tamaki Drive, enjoy scrumptious breakfast/lunch/dinner or just a coffee or wine in neighbourhood cafes and restaurants. Kohimarama beach is a safe beach with popular activities ranging from swimming to stand up paddling, kayaking and kite surfing (wind dependent). It is also home to Kohimarama Yacht Club for juniors, a club that has produced many a top sailor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aarangi Motel

Address: 1 Melanesia Road, Kohimarama 1071, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kohimarama
Price Range: ₹ 8,781 - ₹ 10,792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aarangi Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aarangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aarangi Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the fountain”
 of 5 bubbles simono704, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 is quiet and private, with an outdoor table/umbrella to add to the living space. Right next to the laundry which is handy”
 of 5 bubbles Carolyn0104, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Location great”
 of 5 bubbles J2855DYNick, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Select a room upstairs if you want a view”
 of 5 bubbles 582russellk, 14 May 2015 | Read review
“Request a ground level floor if you don't want to carry luggage upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles helenhW6391KX, 15 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5