We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cat's Hostel

Booking.comUS$ 34*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Cat\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

795 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 417: English reviews
Start your review of Cat's Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The space is nice, a pleasant patio to hangout with people. I liked the breakfast as well, and the bar was okay. Regarding the conditions, they were okay, toilets were a bit tight xD. Good policy with reusing the cups.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank José C
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great and beautiful lobby in the Arabian style. And that's pretty much the only positive thing about this hostel. The staff was rude, some of the rooms were just too crowded. The internet was horribly slow or non-existent in some areas. On the third day, someone stole my boyfriend's computer from his backpack. The only nice person, willing to help...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oya O
San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Gabby, Tayllor, and Giancarlo were amazing guides for the pub crawl. I had a great time with them and the rest of the people from Cats. Made my last night in Madrid a fun one! The hostel itself has a lot to offer and there's a lot walking distance. The rooms were clean. I'd definitely recommend Cat's Hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wa24
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Cats is exactly what you read... a party hostel. It's cheap, cheerful and encourages you to get absolutely blind drunk. I was on the second floor and it was extremely noisey past midnight. There are signs saying to be quiet after that time. The staff clearly didn't implement this rule. You get what you pay for. A good location, decent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mhokgd
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I traveled to Madrid alone and the people I met at Cat's Hostel made the experience unforgettable (although things did get hazy). The first night I arrived, I signed up for the pub crawl and had so much fun that I did it the following two nights as well. My tour guides, Taylor, Gabby, and Guille, were all professional and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed in Madrid for a weekend to visit a new city. Cats hostel was very welcoming and exactly what a young traveler wants. Great atmosphere and located in the hear of the city. Went on two pub crawls which were great value for money and very well organised. Gabby sold it to me on the first night, making sure I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WillRinge
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Legendary customer service and an amazing one night stay catered by the staff. I couldn't be happier with the adventure they provided, especially Emanuel Kovacic! His tapas tour was as excellent as his company and for a great bargain. The hostel itself was beautiful to look at and I have no complaints about my stay. Thank you so very much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in different hostels throughout my entire life and this is by far the worse experience I've ever had. After a long day of flights and taking the metro all I wanted was a bed to sleep as I was exhausted. Upon arrival I was greeted with a very impersonal welcome and the check in process was very simple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Túlio B
Manager L, Manager at Cat's Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. We have taken care about the situation that you are talking about and our recepcionist said that he really took care about it and spoke with the 3 girls that day. After the first day, you never came back to reception and we thought everything was solved. Then, we received your mail asking for...

Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We were stuck at the sister Hostel, MAD. We ate at Cat and went on CAT's pub crawl though. Everything about cat was amazing, wish we had've stayed there. More of a family vibe compared to MAD. The Cave Bar below was so cool also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob G
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Pretty decent staff, thanks for the great night out Mickey !! Pub crawls are always a good idea and a great way to get to know a city's night life. Definitely enjoyed Madrid! Hope to get back soon ! Cheers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liza D

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#10 of 386 in Madrid
549 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#11 of 386 in Madrid
294 reviews
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#49 of 386 in Madrid
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
U Hostels
U Hostels
#9 of 386 in Madrid
1,116 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#5 of 386 in Madrid
806 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 386 in Madrid
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Huertas

Neighbourhood Profile
Huertas
Also known as Barrio de las Letras, Huertas was once home to prominent literary figures, Miguel de Cervantes and Lope de Vega among them. The neighbourhood is committed to celebrating its rich heritage: Calle Huertas itself is inlaid with quotes from celebrated authors, street names pay homage to them, and second-hand bookshops pervade. Huertas receives a fair amount of spillover from the center — side streets around Plaza Santa Ana take on a foreign party atmosphere at night, and you always see young backpackers navigating the streets — but as you descend into the neighbourhood, everything becomes a little more cramped and slightly less refined, and takes on more of an underground feel. Live music is at the heart of Huertas: by night, its subdued bars are ideal for meeting friends, sipping cocktails, and chatting quietly while enjoying jazz or singer-songwriter performances.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Price Range: ₹ 1,034 - ₹ 5,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cat's Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cat's Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a bottom bunk”
, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“4 person dormitory, best choice!”
jessicabeck91, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“bring ear plugs”
C827VBmaryh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good for knowing people, nice shared places”
145ramiroc, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Prived and not so crownded if you are a quiet person.”
Welington_Costa, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 34* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$ 34
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates