We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Visit hotel website
Traveller (2115)
Room & Suite (1189)
Dining (250)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
This comfortable hotel is located next to the Barcelona Sants AVE (high-speed rail) station and has panoramic views of Barcelona. All of the hotel’s bright and spacious rooms offer free WiFi, satellite TV, air conditioning, central heating, minibar and room service between 7.00 a.m. and 11.00 p.m. Each room is equipped with a hairdryer, bath, shower and complimentary toiletries. This hotel is located just 170 metres from Barcelona Sants train station and Sants-Estació metro station and is just one train stop away from Plaza Catalunya train station and the historic city centre. This property is also just three metro stops away from FC Barcelona’s Camp Nou stadium. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya is a 10-minute walk from the Fira Barcelona Convention Centre and Las Arenas shopping centre. The Sants-Montjuïc district offers a unique blend of culture and architecture and is ideal for travellers who enjoy seeing the sights.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
173Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
23Attractionswithin 0.5 km
4,144Reviews
2,617Photos
295Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,236
  • 1,508
  • 284
  • 73
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I took the bullet train from Madrid to Barcelona - and this hotel was literally in front of the station! Great location! The Metro is across the street - so it is easy access to the metro to go to City Centre of Barcelona. Very clean hotel - it is under renovations - i had an
Read more
Response from MontserratSimon, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Rosie4u, We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings as our guest. We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the general satisfaction with views and cleanliness. We really appreciate them! We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya. Yours sincerely, Montse Simon Quality Department
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
My son and I had a wonderful 6 nights at this hotel. The staff without exception, was very helpful, courteous and professional - always with a smile. Made us feel very welcome. The rooms were very big and comfortable with great big bathrooms and the views were wonderful. Our
Read more
Response from MontseSimon, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Responded 11 Oct 2018
Dear wendy m, First of all thank you very much for sharing your experience with all travelers in TripAdvisor. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and I am happy to see that the staff make a difference on your stay. I will certainly share your review with our wonderful staff! I also very glad to read your positive remarks about our comfortable rooms and location, and the excellent views from breakfast, that are a fantastic way to start the day. It has been a pleasure to host you in Barcelona and all staff are looking forward to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Montse Simon Quality Department
Read more
This hotel was a bit dated, but is in the remodeling process.The staff was very courteous, and accommodating. Our room was great, with a good view of the city. We would definitely stay there again. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya is within walking distance to a former "Bull
Read more
Response from MontserratSimon, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Ricardo B, Thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona and for reflecting your experience. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay despite the works on process. Thank you for your positive remarks regarding the room, the location and the courteous staff. Looking forward to welcome you again! Yours sincerely, Montse Simon Quality Department
Read more
The hotel is located right next to Sants train station, it is also close to a huge shopping mall with lots of places to eat, the rooms are huge lots of amenities, toiletries, the bathroom has a separate shower and huge soaking tub. staff was very friendly and helpful. The
Read more
Response from MontserratSimon, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Tommy H, We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest. We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location, huge rooms, the restaurant and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them! We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya. Yours sincerely, Montse Simon Quality Department
Read more
Booked via Agoda more than a month before. I was only notified that they are not able to provide me a room because the hotel is fully booked, just two weeks before the travel date (Dec 19, 2018). I suspect it's due to coupon code that adoga has applied for pop-up sales, which
Read more
Response from MontserratSimon, Responsable de Calidad at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Responded 9 Jan 2019
Dear Foodie_Gary, I regret that you have not been able to stay with us due to the cancellation by Agoda. I do not know the reason for the cancellation but we will look into it internally. I hope to welcome you in the Hotel Torre Catalunya in a near future, it will be a pleasure to host you. Kind regards, Montse Simon Quality Department
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGran Hotel Torre Catalunya
The Suite at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGran Hotel Torre Catalunya
The Suite at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGran Hotel Torre Catalunya
The Basic Room at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGran Hotel Torre Catalunya
The Attic Plus Room at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Quarto
PreviousNext
123456238
Dear rajeevs74, Thank you for your interest in Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya. Regarding breakfast options, we do not offer cava/sparkling wine. Our buffet include tea, coffee and natural juices. Regarding the Spa, during the working process that we are doing in the Hotel, we have a Wellness Room where we offer different treatments with an extra cost depending the treatment. Best regards, Montse Simon Quality Department
0 votes
Show all answers
I did not see any Cava Sparkling wine however, they are so accommodating that if you ask them they would probably provide it. However, I would not miss their breakfast buffet with or without the Cava Sparkling Wine. There breakfast buffet is worth having and should not be missed!!! Their breakfast buffet is Exceptionally delicious!!! I am picky about how my scrambled eggs are cooked and I have never tasted better scrambled eggs then what they cook. They make their scrambled eggs in a special way, in the oven and the taste is just unbelievable, I love it!!! Their breakfast is varied, fresh & overall, better than any other buffet breakfast that I have ever had or tasted in any of the many hotels that I have visited, in the past, going back many years. Ask them for the Cava Sparkling Wine or bring it with you however, I would not miss their buffet breakfast that is a total wonderful treat!!!
0 votes
Show all answers
In my humble opinion, you must call them at this phone number +34936006996 so they will answer you better than me. But don't worry, there a lot of good restaurants in Barcelona.
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear womble75, I understand you prefere to read opinions from other travellers, but I also want to give the information from the Hotel. As you have read, the Hotel is in a process of complete renovation. This process also supposes the temporarily closing of some services to be able to work in the different areas. But we offer alternative, by the moment, we adapted services as the Wellness Room (only for treatments) or adaptation of the Bar (Visual Lounge) on 23rd floor. During next month we will continue adapting the areas depending the works. We have tried that this process has the least affectation for our guests, but we know that the works can cause discomfort, so we will understand your final decision. In any case I invite you to visit, if not now, when the works finish and experience our service and confort. Best regards, Montse Simon Quality Department
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345659
"As high as possible and a corner room if possible!"
"Higher floors room are 4 star and the lower floor ones are 3 star."
"Higher floor have wider views of Barcelona. Corner rooms have the Panoramic views. All views are excellent."
"Rooms at the rear are probably the best but in general rooms are large and modern"
"Grab a room on a higher floor to take advantage of the views!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 101 - US$ 202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran hotel barcelonatorre catalunyahotel torre catalunya
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaSants-MontjuícHostafrancs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
272
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing