We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ideal Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ideal Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of Ideal Youth Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Great location, bang smack on las ramblas,close to main attractions, pier and beach 15 minute walk. very little noise for recovering sore heads. Very clean and friendly staff. Could do with some extra cultlery and maybe a WiFi update! Price is good for a European city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emer C
ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

Wijchen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Looks rather shabby from the outside, and it gets only marginally better within. Does the trick. The beds were a bit noisy when turning around, as the bed is more or less a sheet of metal that clunks every time you turn. The room size was ok, we stayed in a 4-person room with private bathroom. Never seen such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tpjansen
Reputation M, Receptionist at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for having taken the time to share your observations about our hostel, your point of view is very important to us. We would like to inform you that the size of our bathrooms and their equipments, are in the standards of youth hostels. Remember that the reception is opened to resolve all the customer’s issues in order...

Reviewed 4 November 2016

The place is good to stay. I stayed there for 2 nights in a 10 bed room and I had a great time. The beds are good. It is cheap, the location is perfect and staff are nice. The best thing there I think it is the location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariana F
Reputation M, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

Reviewed 1 November 2016

It's one of the worst places I've stayed at. It's not clean, the facility is very old and dirty. The staff are not friendly either. Great location thought. I don't recommend this place. Everything is broken in this building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elsa A
ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for having taken the time to share your observations about our hostel. In this case we understand it is your personal opinion which we don’t share. Our cleaning staff do their rounds every day, but in case you find any trouble you can go to the reception and ask for a double check, we'll solve it! We...

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

IYH offers a fine bed to sleep on. However the hostel is very difficult to find and is not well marked-I walked right past it the first time! Inside, the common room isn't set up in a very social setting. The couches are cubed in a way that you can sit with your group, but doesn't leave a very inviting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
ideal y, reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review Dear guest, thank you for taking your time writing a comment to our hostel. We consider every customer has their own opinions. In this case we understand it is your personal opinion which we don’t share. Ideal Youth Hostel is located at the Heart of Barcelona City. Our...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I am giving it three stars and not less because the staff is really friendly and helpful and the location is great next to the Ramblas. However, even though the hostel has great potential it needs some renovations. I know the price could be considered according to the installations but some things are, in my opinion, not accepted even if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mafalditus
ideal y, reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for comment, your opinion is very important for us. We'd like to remind you there are some services (soap) we do not provide, staying in a hostel is a different experience! About the plugs, we'd like to remind you there are multi plug sockets at the reception which you can ask for! We assure you that...

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

I visited the Ideal Youth Hostel last month whilst visiting Barcelona for the football. Friends were also staying there and the website looked alright so I decided to book as the location also looked great - which it was! Also the security is very good for gaining entry. Upon arrival I was shown to my room - I had booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelchlyons
ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your comment, our customers’ feedback is very important for us in order to improve the service we offer. If any of our guests need anything, they can go to the reception and notify the issue so we solve as quickly as we can any kind of trouble they may have. About the plugs, we'd like to...

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

The front desk employees (Pietro) were super helpful and accommodating to our needs. Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. Only thing I didn't like was the lights turning off in the bathroom half way through showering.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelled08
ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very sorry about lights normally they turn on with the movement. Greetings from IYH, hope to see you soon again in Barcelona!

Winnipeg Beach, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I highly recommend this hostel. Very close to main tourist attractions and Pietro was always there to help us. He is very friendly, knowledgeable and very patient with us. The room could use a fan as it can get really hot. Overall, it's a good hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelambalisi
ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

Reviewed 28 September 2016

Hostel has awesome location, few steps from La Rambla and metro :) Supermarket is nearby. Rooms are ok - clean, bed comfy bud noisy. Kitchen is really poor - bring your own mug, pork and little knife! There is a fridge, coffee machine + machine for hot water (if you ask the employees...), but not electric water boiler, cooker, pan......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hana B
ideal y, front desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your review. Feedback from our guests is important to us. As regards the kitchen supplies... we stock up on them regularly but things sometimes vanish... :/ We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. :) Kind regards, IYH

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#126 of 757 in Barcelona
273 reviews
El Raval
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
#577 of 757 in Barcelona
170 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Kabul Hostel
Kabul Hostel
#76 of 757 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Apartaments Unio
Apartaments Unio
#136 of 757 in Barcelona
64 reviews
El Raval
Hostal MiMi Las Ramblas
Hostal MiMi Las Ramblas
#301 of 757 in Barcelona
39 reviews
El Raval
Be Mar  Barcelona Hostel
Be Mar Barcelona Hostel
#212 of 757 in Barcelona
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in El Raval

Neighbourhood Profile
El Raval
Once a downtrodden corner of downtown Barcelona, this gritty area has seen a cultural resurgence boasting an excellent nightlife and one of the most multi ethnic spots in the entire city. A sense of humble authenticity protrudes from the many independent record stores, second hand shops, and student bars that seem to light up the streets day and night. The rocking epicenter, the MACBA Plaça, is a modern day forum for bohemian youth, abuzz with the sights and sounds of late-night gatherings and talented skateboarders showing off their latest tricks.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ideal Youth Hostel opened in the year 2000 in a typical Barcelona city-centre-style building. It's an experienced hostel located near the famous La Rambla and next to the Opera House.The traditional historical appearance of the façade has been maintained, while the interior is modern with a minimal industrial look, including silver concrete walls and coloured neon lights.We try to cater to both single backpackers as well as groups, offering all that you need to help you enjoy your stay in the city.Accommodation is offered in single rooms and private or shared rooms for two, four, six, eight or ten people. Most of the rooms have their own balcony, individual WC and free hot showers. Furthermore, the hostel provides individual lockers in each room, free of charge.We also offer a terrace, linen, vending machines, self-service laundrette, microwave and fridge and a lounge in which you can relax.Upon request, half- or full-board meals and lunch boxes are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ideal Youth Hostel

Address: Unio,10-12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Price Range: ₹ 1,274 - ₹ 7,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ideal Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Youth Hotel Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ideal Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Ideal Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to ask for a room at the front, i.e. on the mainroad. They have tiny balconies, and that helps! (Thus the rooms are small)”
 of 5 bubbles EvaUH, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I liked my small room with private shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 77lesyat, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to book a room on one of the lower floors as the wifi may reach these rooms - we were on level 2 & just managed to get connected.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolaj135, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take a room in lower floors, you might get wifi”
 of 5 bubbles 825kushg, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I was able to use WIFI on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles MKer_12, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5