Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder

Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder

Plaça Reial, 1 Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona Spain
Traveller (718)
Panorama of the Double Standard Room at the Hotel DO
360
Panoramas (41)
Room & Suite (308)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#42 of 510 hotels in Barcelona
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Let the adventures begin at DO Plaça Reial — steps from La Rambla on its namesake square. The rooftop terrace overlooks palm trees and iconic street lamps designed by Antonio Gaudí. Bar Tomate BCN serves delicious tapas and paella dishes downstairs on the patio. And breakfast is available every morning. The rooftop pool is a perfect spot to cool off on hot days. Or you can unwind with a session in the sauna. This is a central location and prone to noise. This property belongs to a collection of boutique hotels powered by Sonder. No two properties are alike, but all offer our mobile-first guest experience. Use the Sonder app to navigate your stay from start to finish. Check in. Request amenities. Connect to WiFi. Contact customer support. All via our small (but mighty) app. Whatever you need, we’ve got you covered. This Sonder has a front desk which is staffed 24/7. Our on-site team is available to ensure you have a better stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Pool
Bar / lounge
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Plaça Reial, 1 Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Barcelona-El Prat Airport
11.9 km
See all flights
Costa Brava Airport
76.6 km
See all flights
Liceu
3 minBarcelona Metro
1,335Review33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,149
  • 121
  • 37
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Podshare wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We walked in for a rate and booked right away. The adorable plaza with quaint lobby was a warm welcome but Laura at the desk and David showing us up to the room was most memorable. We enjoyed a delicious cup of coffee in the lobby and fruit water while we waited for the room (we came early). We were asked if we preferred the first floor with balcony or higher up for views: we went with the balcony. The room had high ceilings, bath and shower with a large bed, floor to ceiling windows, accent lighting, towel warmer and great toiletries like hair brush and loofah. It was raining so we used their umbrella. The hotel basement has a beautiful restaurant and apparently a sauna and rooftop I wish we had time to use. I appreciated the turn down service with sweets so I had tea at night. One complimentary water bottle was really great to have when I awoke. Next day Laura helped us book a rental car, and David chatted with us on recommendations. The two of them make a great team and make the hotel a better place!

Really 5 star experience in the best location. Muy bien!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteldoreial, Director de Recepción at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Dear PodShares mates, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind feedback with us. We are so glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that has exceed your expectations. Laura & David and the rest of the staff are so thankful for your kind words & we are looking forward to welcome you soon. Warm regards, Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amar201 wrote a review Apr 2022
Hampshire, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked Sonder after visiting Barcelona many times and enjoying the square outside and when we found this hotel we knew it would be the best location for us. We booked for 3 nights in a Balcony room, the check in was simple, not much conversation from the staff, and as seen on reviews online a welcome drink was normally offered however we received no drink, just our keys.

The room itself is beautiful, however a little dark, huge comfy beds and clean towels. The bathroom was well stocked with thoughtful amenities, robes, slippers and big bottles of shower gel/shampoo/conditioner, but no moisturiser was in the rooms. As advertised we thought we would have complimentary water in the rooms and a mini bar but unfortunately no water and the fridge was empty. The room had no iron. The kettle was a nice touch with teas and coffees (no milk) and a small jar of sweets.

We asked about breakfast as we thought this was included but the reception staff said we didn’t have breakfast but never explained how much breakfast was or how to get breakfast other than I believe it was on the terrace.

We went up to the terrace and it was a lovely area, however no service was up there, it was basically closed, the pool area is very small with two sun beds and no towels for the beds. We did ask if we could have drinks on the terrace and we got them from downstairs and took them up ourselves, the staff kindly brought us some food up when we ordered lunch, which was delicious.

We did request a few items during our stay which were promptly brought to us, which was helpful.

To say this hotel is 5* in my opinion it is lacking many features, I have stayed in 4* hotels before which have exceeded expectations so when a few things were lacking it was a shame.

The location is brilliant, the design and details are lovely in the hotel but it does need to refine a few things in order for me to give a happy 5* rating on here.

The main things that were missing for me were only small things such as the welcome drink, more info on the hotel facilities, the lack of water in our rooms, no mini bar, no moisturiser, the Mirror was cracked and sharp in our bathroom, and the seal around the shower was mouldy. It would have been lovely to have our stay more personalised or asked questions as we were celebrating it would have been nice to have this recognised. For the price we paid we feel like we had a fair deal for location but all in all the hotel did lack a few things.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 10 min walk from Plaça Catalunya for the Aerobus, square can be noisy so make sure to shut the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taffy642 wrote a review Nov 2022
Montreal, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were booked on a cruise beginning in Barcelona and wanted to spend a few extra days to tour this fascinating city. We discovered an absolute gem of a hotel called Sonder Placa Reial, just a minute from Rambla de Mar, the famous walking street and bordering on Placa Reial, a beautiful square with a fountain and a number of indoor-outdoor restaurants; all part of the Gothic Quarter. The location is ideal for seeing the sights but also just a 10 minute walk to the very lovely harbour, recently developed. The hotel is also recently renovated with very comfortable new rooms in a classic style and modern bathrooms with everything that you could desire. They served a very good breakfast and we found Pablo, the manager and desk clerk to be courteous, so helpful and kind and efficient. We would certainly return to this hotel and recommend it highly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sonder Team, General Manager at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Responded 26 Nov 2022
Hi Taffy, it's been an honor hosting you during this trip to Barcelona. We are happy to know you felt at home at your Sonder and that you enjoyed the facilities and the service by our staff so much! We really hope to be able to host you again in the future, we will be here to welcome you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ScooterPortlandMaine wrote a review Jan 2020
Portland Maine
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel Do is located in a beautiful spot within walking distance of many sights, the market, great food , the waterfront and a metro station for longer trips. The staff is very helpful and kind and the food is fantastic! The breakfast is very high quality and beautifully served. With fresh fruit or a sweet in your room at night and great water pressure in the shower, great linens, a comfy bed and bathrobe and superb pillows, this is a great place to stay in Barcelona!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteldoreial, Director de Recepción at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear ScooterPortlandMaine, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that you stay has exceed your expectations. Our staff do their best to provide an excellent quality service because your satisfaction is our most value reward. We are looking forward to welcome you soon. Regards, Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WorldT wrote a review Jan 2020
DENVER
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the perfect location for seeing and doing everything I wanted to achieve in Barcelona. La Ramblas is outside the door, a plaza is out the window, metro stop is one block away, and the rooftop terrace allowed me to sit in the sun every day. The staff are super helpful and friendly making recommendations for local food and sites and just for making me feel welcome. The rooms are luxurious and the perfect spot to recover from long days of sight seeing or just for lounging. I definitely recommend this spot with charm, views, and modern amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose south side for quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteldoreial, Director de Recepción at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to know that your stay did exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is the most value reward for our team, cause they do their best to provide an excellent quality service. We are looking forward to welcome you soon. Regards, Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael R wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife writes: "Sonder DO, Plaça Reial. Augusto helped us immediately when we showed up early (9:00am) and feeling a bit lost after our long walk from a taxi near the Barcelona's cruise port. He helped us with our bags from La Rambla. The room was lovely with a large rain shower and comfortable bed. A rooftop terrace with a pool and delightful view of the Gothic quarter is found on the fourth floor. The location is perfect on Plaça Reial with restaurants and bars outside the hotel, palm trees with parakeets and early Gaudi lamp posts. La Boqueria market is within easy walking distance and the Metro is steps away. Evening was a delight as local families came to dine and enjoy the plaça. A team of acrobats suddenly appeared one evening and performed. Children played with aerial spinning lighted tops. The kind and efficient café staff brought us a delicious breakfast with eggs, fruit, yogurt, toast, croissant, fresh orange juice and cappuccino. The afternoon tapas were excellent. The afternoon, evening and morning staff took care of all our needs and arranged a 6am taxi for the airport. We will hold wonderful memories from our stay at Sonder DO Paçal Reial.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for Room 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Miguelo2020 wrote a review Jun 2022
London, England, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for Sonar Festival as it was in a great location, but on day 1 the AC broke down and the reception told us that there was a misunderstanding with the engineers that fix the AC and that we would have to spend the night with no AC and to open the windows. To give you an idea, it was 34 degrees that night, no breeze and there was an event in the square below, so the noise was unbearable.

We managed to get the front desk to agree to cancel the booking and refund the money for the stay, so we could move to another hotel. We moved to the new hotel which was more expensive, but Sonder refused to pay for the difference in rate and even refused to pay for our taxi to the new property which we had to take at 12 at night.

Additionally they refused to give us a direct number to the General Manager and told us it will take 15 days to get our refund and that they could not speed the process. We’re 7 days in since our checkout date and when we called booking.com today they told us that they still haven’t heard from the hotel to confirm the refund and when we call or email the hotel to one picks up.

Please don’t stay here ever, avoid at all cost, there are much better hotels in Barcelona that offer a better value and service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sonder Team, General Manager at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your experience was far from your expectations because the air conditioner system incidental. This isn't the experience we wanted for you and we share your frustration. Please accept our sincerest apologies. As we explained to you previously, the refund from our side is processed already, the intermediary agency is the one who is going to process that.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julia wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There is Phlash bus stop by the hotel. The Phlash bus is free if you have a Septa card. The location is convenient to go to tourist attraction, restaurant, grocery stores and Septa stops. The common area on the second floor is very nice.
The kitchen is well equipped in the room. They even supply salt and pepper, olive oil. We can cook meals.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Sonder
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sonder Team, General Manager at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again in any of our 35+ cities.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina Cox wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to begin? The hotel location was right on Las Ramblas, walking distance to the beach and smack ON the plaza which in the evening is a hub of music, people, and fantastic dining options Most amazing was the personal attention from the front desk/concierge team of Silvia and Laura. Their attention to detail and help with everything (suggested shopping, dining, shows, directions, etc.) made all the difference in our stay. The hotel photos are true to life and totally accurate. It's as good in real life as the photos appear. The only difference was that the basement dining room was closed at the time of our visit. So, if coming to Barcelona, don't waste time looking for a better priced hotel; this place was a total deal for anyone looking for VALUE for your money; impeccably clean, good sheets, bathrobes, great location, spacious rooms, refrigerator stocked with complementary water bottles and safe in our room, and a beautiful rooftop. Breakfast was also delicious, although a little on the pricey side. Regardless, we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose one with a balcony to enjoy people watching on the plaza.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
G W wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a pretty little hotel just off la Rambla. It overlooks a lovely square surrounded by restaurants. I believe the whole area was renovated for the olympics-they even have street lamps designed by Gaudí. This made it a little noisy over New Year’s Eve but I’m a light sleeper, my husband wasn’t disturbed.

The rooms are comfortable with plenty of Molton Brown products in the bathroom. It was very clean with staff calling regularly to tidy, turn down beds, leave fruit and little cakes.

The staff in the hotel make a massive effort to make sure you have a lovely holiday. They are polite and helpful at all times.

Breakfast was fresh, beautifully presented and plentiful. Warm rolls, smoked salmon, meats, cheese and hot breakfast upon request. Served 7-11 so times that suit everyone.

We would definitely stay here again. Views from roof on NYE attached.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hoteldoreial, Director de Recepción at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear Marmite007, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's always a pleasure to hear that your stay did exceed your expectations and to know that you felt at home in Hotel DO Reial. Thank you for your greatful words to the staff, they do their best to provide an excellent and family service to our guest. Your satisfaction is the most value reward for us. We wish you a Happy New Year and we are looking forward to welcome you soon! Warm regards, Laura
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Globe_Trotter_Go asked a question Sept 2020
399 contributions35 helpful votes
Are the private plunge pools heated?
Answer from Sonder
San Francisco, California2,474 contributions4 helpful votes
Thanks for your question. There is a space that has a private terrace and pool. Please visit our website to look for availability. We can't wait for you to stay with us soon.
Martha L asked a question Feb 2020
Hong Kong, China24 contributions6 helpful votes
Can you ask for a smoking room?
Answer from Sonder
San Francisco, California2,474 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi Martha, this is a non-smoking property. Please let us know if you need anything else before your next stay.
Geoff S asked a question Oct 2019
Buderim, Australia1 contribution
Can I book 2 rooms from 1/5/2020?
Barcelona, Spain
Dear 404geoffs, Sure you can book 2 rooms with us! Just email us to get your quotation and give you the best rate :) Regards, Laura
ladybugroe asked a question May 2019
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey91 contributions8 helpful votes
Curious...Is breakfast really served in room at no extra cost?
Barcelona, Spain
Extra charges may be applied to have breakfast delivered to your room.
Sandals47 asked a question Feb 2019
Vancouver, Canada194 contributions8 helpful votes
Can you eat breakfast outside in the placa or is it just downstairs in the restaurant?
Dartmouth, Massachusetts59 contributions11 helpful votes
Breakfast is downstairs but all other meals may be taken on praça
theatlanticview wrote a tip Nov 2023
Halifax, Canada157 contributions129 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 15 is on the side of court yard so less noisy. Bring your own bottle of wine to the rooftop bar."
Read full review
David S wrote a tip Oct 2023
Boston, Massachusetts6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring noise-canceling headphones in case the noise is bothersome."
Read full review
David W wrote a tip Sept 2023
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Crazy Late nights on the Placa made sleep difficult, even while using the white noise generator. The hotel also provides ear plugs!"
Read full review
SB wrote a tip Aug 2023
29 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Whilst I didn’t experience pick pocketing, stay safe around the area. you see a lot of begging from the balcony looking down."
Read full review
Globe_Traveller66 wrote a tip Aug 2023
54 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a quiet evening/area this is not the hotel for you"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
₹23,845 - ₹36,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel DO
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaCiutat Vella (Old Town) / Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic) / La Rambla / El Congrés i els Indians
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DO PLAÇA REIAL POWERED BY SONDER (Barcelona) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Which popular attractions are close to Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
Nearby attractions include Gothic Quarter (Barri Gotic) (0.4 km), Mercat de la Boqueria (0.3 km), and Handmade Barcelona (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bodega Biarritz, Bodega Oliva, and Nix Tapas & Drinks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Barcelona.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.7 km), Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (5.3 km), and Ciutat Vella (0.07 km).
Does Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BarcelonaHotels near Do Plaça Reial powered by Sonder
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire