We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Passeig de Gracia, 24, 08007 Barcelona Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$98
Hotels.com$98
Travelocity$98
Priceline$104
Vio.com$104
Tripadvisor$98
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (176)
Room & Suite (78)
Dining (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#41 of 551 hotels in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Praktik Essens is an exquisite boutique hotel with 37 rooms located in the heart of Barcelona, the Passeig de Gracia. It is the most luxurious avenue in Barcelona, Paseo de Gracia, featuring not only the best clothing brands and restaurants, but also a large proportion of Barcelona’s modernist buildings, including La Pedrera and Casa Batllo. The Praktik Essens occupies a beautiful historical 19th-century building that we have converted into true olfactory pyramid so that you can enjoy a sensorial journey through the hotel to recover the most primal human sense of all: smell. Our carefully selected range of in-house perfumes and fragrances will ensure that you always recall Barcelona! All rooms are completely new and exterior and all have a desk, 49'' television, capsule coffee machine, luggage rack, chair, reading light, private bathroom and a large rain-effect shower, hairdryer, safe, individually controlled air conditioning (cool and warm) in each room, and free WiFi. In addition, all guests can enjoy its magnificent terrace lounge with a selection of wines and snacks, courtesy of the hotel, every day from 6 pm to 8 pm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Sofa bed
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Catalan

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
472Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
141Attractionswithin 0.5 km
285Reviews6Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 35
  • 5
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Despina Berati wrote a review 9 Nov
Kos Town, Greece13 contributions
Fabulous location, in the center of the city. Beautiful downtown hotel with nice lounge/terrace. It’s clean and has a lot of comfort items to make you feel at home. Staff was wonderful and helpfull. Would definitely stay here again!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, Director General at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Despina, We really appreciate your excellent review, thank you very much! As you mentioned, we are located in the city centre, which makes our location very convenient for sightseeing, shopping, going to restaurants... We are also happy that you had a comfortable stay and we are thankful for your kind words towards our staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NNN wrote a review Oct 2022
New Jersey46 contributions7 helpful votes
Great hotel, loved the fact that it was in the middle of everything, yet down a street that was VERY quiet. We walked all over from the hotel and felt very safe. The Oassis Restaurant was right outside and had a great breakfast. The hotel room was small and the view wasn't great, but we weren't there to stay in the room. The bed was comfortable, the only complaint was they had a list of pillows you could choose from and when I went to get a feather pillow and lumbar pillow they were out, but they finally found a feather pillow. I was originally concerned that the hotel might have a strong smell since it is a perfumery, but it was fine. They have pastries in the morning and a happy hour at night and the hotel staff is very nice. I'm very happy we stayed here and would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for pillow choice ahead of time
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, Director General at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to know you had such a great stay with us. As you mentioned, we are located at the city centre which makes our hotel very convenient for sightseeing, shopping, going to restaurants... We are also glad you enjoyed your room and our complimentary services such the pastries in the morning and the happy hour in the evening. Regarding your comment about our pillows, we already noted it so we can have even a larger stock of each one of them. We will be pleased to welcome you back. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aveywavy wrote a review Oct 2022
Vancouver, Canada15 contributions3 helpful votes
We loved this hotel. Very central and very close to metro. El National nearby was great for dinner when we tired after sightseeing. Our room was one of the quietest places I’ve ever been. The shower was fantastic though I didn’t love the way it opened into the room (it would be awkward if you were travelling with someone you didn’t want to be naked with, lol). Beds and pillows very comfy. The lounge/terrace with all day coffee and tea along with baked goods in the morning and cava/wine at happy hour were the best part (actually, baked goods weren’t special, but I’m sure kids would like them). I was pleased the perfume theme wasn’t too strong, in fact barely noticeable, though the in-room products were nice. Very clean modern vibe.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, General Manager at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback with us! Comments like yours encourage us to continue working to satisfy our guests every day. It will definitely be a pleasure to welcome you back in Praktik Èssens hotel. Best regards, Andrea Garrido Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lailafromwpg wrote a review Oct 2022
Winnipeg, Canada187 contributions61 helpful votes
This hotel has it all: a fabulous location, great design, comfy beds. We booked a superior room with a huge private balcony, including bathtub, outdoor shower, raised double sun bed, lots of sunshine, a bistro set and couch/chair conversation area. The view from our room was fabulous and included sunset views. Room was typically European-small, but extremely efficient with lots of smart storage, separate wc/shower/double sinks. Great service from Adrien, who was there in the evenings. Happy hour and lounge with indoor and outdoor spaces. Our only complaint - and it is a significant one - is that the water never got really hot. The first morning, showering at peak times, the water was freezing, and I mentioned it to front desk staff; I was told someone would look at it. That evening, the water was warmer, but barely acceptable to me and would not have been even close to hot enough for my partner or adult son. The second morning, I asked for the day manager, who was forthright enough to acknowledge that the max hot water temp is capped until October. That evening’s shower was also barely warm enough, and I was covered in goosebumps (the air conditioning was not cranked up, this was all about the water). It’s a significant enough issue that no matter how much I love the hotel, I won’t rebook without strong assurances that this practice is discontinued. We stayed at 7 hotels this trip in Spain, Portugal, and Morocco, from a 2 star apartments-hotel to 5 star hotels, averaging 4 stars. This was the only hotel without plentiful hot water.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, General Manager at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Dear Laila, Thank you very much for your complete review about Praktik Èssens hotel! We sincerely apologice for the inconveniences caused during your stay. We worked hard to solve the issue as soon as possible as the temperature of the hot water was not enough during some days of your stay. Fortunately, the problem was completely solved after a few days. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back to improve your opinion about us. Sincerely, Andrea Garrido Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vzzg wrote a review Oct 2022
Lake Bluff IL36 contributions31 helpful votes
The Praktic Essens had a distinctive boutique flavor. Our room was spacious and we enjoyed the lounge for a glass of wine in late afternoon. The only negatives were the absence of face cloths in the bathroom and a messy entranceway down the brick passageway leading to the front door. There was often litter there and it was sticky. It needed a good sweeping and hosing down.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: In boutique hotels i always choose a large room, it’’s worth paying more.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, Director General at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 6 Oct 2022
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking your time on sharing your experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed our common areas and we appreciate all your comments which will help us keep improving. Best regards. HOTEL PRAKTIK ÈSSENS
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
natjane3 wrote a review Sep 2022
Sydney, Australia3 contributions
What a fabulous hotel! Great location but quiet and peaceful. Simple things that make the stay so easy such as several usb charging points. Clean, beautiful decor and wonderful staff. We booked the terrace room and used the outdoor bath as a pool which saved us after the hot days walking around. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, Director General at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 22 Sep 2022
Dear client, Thank you so much for taking the time on reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate so much your kind comments towards our hotel and staff. We're glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We sincerely hope to see you next time. Best regards from Barcelona!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ShawnLA_7 wrote a review Aug 2022
Los Angeles, California33 contributions49 helpful votes
Nice hotel in a great location, however no bell boy service and the hotel entrance is a bit far from the street. Only one person at the front desk. Soap portions is small. Otherwise front desk personal very nice and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, Director General at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Dear Shawn, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review of your stay. We really appreciate your kind words towards our staff and facilities, and we are happy our central location was convenient for you. As you mention, we do not have bell boy service, however our reception is open 24 hours and our staff is always willing to help our guests. Since we are a small boutique hotel, there is only one person at the front desk at a time, but if you have any requests you just need to let us know (we could've provided extra portions of soap, for instance). We would also like to clarify that our entrance is 50 meters away from Passeig de Gràcia, 1 minute walk. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roy W wrote a review Aug 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel90 contributions47 helpful votes
Good location, nice design. Clean. Very strange bathroom design which may be difficult for some since there is none... Just a door to a shower. Nice touch with the happy hour wine and snacks. Front desk could be improved since they knew nothing about local SIM cards or queues at the airport
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, Director General at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us! The location of the hotel is one our biggest strengths, nearby the main monuments and city points! We are glad to know you had the chance to enjoy all that our central location has to offer. The housekeeping team do a fantastic job here at the hotel and it’s excellent to know that you found the room to be clean during your time with us. Our Front Desk Team always cares about every single detail of our guest's stay, and the huge majority of our customers’ feedbacks are excellent. I am deeply sorry to see that we did not reach your expectations. Thank you again for your time and We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Warm regards, Andrea Garrido Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole R wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We loved the location and the room was very comfortable and clean …We’ ll be back without hesitation …Happy hour wine and snacks was a nice touch and coffee,tea is available all day long which is great…
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, Director General at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for your great review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The location of the hotel is one our biggest strengths nearby the main monuments and city points. Also I am happy to know that you enjoyed our lounge area, during the morning with complimentary coffe, tea and muffins and our Happy hour during the afternoons, with free snacks and catalan wines for our guests. We hope to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you back to our city. Best regards, Andrea Garrido Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen K wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
A very nice hotel with friendly staff and beautiful rooms. There were delightful aromas throughout the essens hotel. Happy hour was an extra added bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Barcelona!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dirección Hotel Praktik Essens, Director General at Hotel Praktik Essens
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Dear Helen, Thank you very much for your excellent review! We really appreciate you had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our services such our complimentary happy hour in the afternoons. We will be more than happy to welcome you back. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaEixample / Passeig de Gràcia / La Dreta de l'Eixample
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PRAKTIK ESSENS (Barcelona) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Praktik Essens
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Praktik Essens?
Nearby attractions include Casa Batlló (0.3 km), Bobby's Free (0.2 km), and Casa Amatller (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Praktik Essens?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Praktik Essens?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Praktik Essens?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Praktik Essens?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Praktik Essens?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zenith Brunch & Cocktails, Babula Bar 1937, and Rudi of Pirate Cooking.
Is Hotel Praktik Essens located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Barcelona.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Praktik Essens?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Praktik Essens?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (1.4 km), The Carmel Bunkers (3.3 km), and Reial Monestir de Santa Maria de Pedralbes (4.5 km).
Does Hotel Praktik Essens have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Hotel Praktik Essens accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.