We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Colonial Barcelona

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (413)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (333)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#300 of 519 hotels in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Barcelona Colonial Hotel in the Centre of the city of Barcelona, is the ideal place to navigate the city. It is an impressive stone colonial building located in the Gothic quarter. It is very close to the most important places of interest of the city, such as the Cathedral of Barcelona and the beach of Barceloneta, and very well connected by public transport. The Hotel Colonial Barcelona, next to the Town Hall and the Picasso Museum in Barcelona, is very well connected to the main attractions of Barcelona, by bus and subway. The nearest beaches, such as la Barceloneta, are very close to the hotel, just a 10-minute walk away, as the Cathedral. It is also within walking distance of Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo Maritimo. In a historic building of Barcelona and very near the most important monuments of Barcelona, the Barcelona Colonial Hotel has 81 rooms soundproofed, bright and comfortable wooden floors. Pets are allowed All rooms have air conditioning, heating, TV flat and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. We offer you different types of rooms, all of them equipped with all the comforts and complete
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 1 more
1098Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 314
  • 454
  • 208
  • 62
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Anton S wrote a review 20 Feb
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Horrible customer service. Old hotel in need of repair. The smell in the room was terrible and the noise from the street made the whole stay even worse. I asked for the hotel to accommodate a change in my reservation and they refused referring me to their non-refundable booking policies. Not a great location for the hotel. I recommend you stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Sir/Madam, We are very surprised by your opinion, since our hotel retains the old façade but is completely updated inside and we have not recently heard of any complaints about odor, or request for a refund. By not indicating your reservation number or name and surname, we cannot address this comment from any other perspective since, as you know, the opinions are not verified. Receive kind regards, Norma A., Customer Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MrsWhitty74 wrote a review 12 Feb
Uxbridge, United Kingdom36 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful hotel that’s perfectly located. Metro stop nearby. Breakfast is plentiful and lots of choice for everyone. Rooms clean, spacious and beds really, really comfortable. My husband booked this hotel for my 50th birthday present & I was very impressed, especially as he had arranged a lovely bottle of Cava & chocolates for our arrival. Perfect hotel for a perfect break, would 100% recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: But a 48 hour Barcelona city tour ticket Make sure you book tickets for places you want to visit...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are excited to know that he had an excellent experience celebrating his 50th birthday at our hotel. His satisfaction is our goal, and we hope to welcome him again. Best regards, Norma A., Customer Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MillyC wrote a review Jan 2024
Galway, Ireland40 contributions9 helpful votes
Really enjoyable stay, room was ready at midday, check in was easy and helpful city maps were also provided free of charge. The room was very clean, spacious and well-equipped. The in-room safe is free to use, just obtain a key at reception. Breakfast was good, wide selection of hot and cold options. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is conveniently situated within 10-15 mins walk of Las Ramblas and tourist bus stops in addition to the Metro. Would definitely recommend this hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review and all your positive detailed comments about our hotel. We especially thank you for recommending us. Sincerely, Norma A., Customer Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christopher Campbell wrote a review Jan 2024
Tryon, North Carolina17 contributions4 helpful votes
Nice hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Comfortable room, clean, friendly staff, and huge breakfast buffet. Easy walking distance to many of the city sites. La Sagrada Familia is just a short metro ride away (L4). One negative note: Did not like the pillows. Someone else commented on these and I agree. The hotel should invest in better pillows. These are flat. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Need to get a key for the room safe from reception. It does not work electronically.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Dintinguished guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate you positively highlighting the room's comfort, cleanliness, staff friendliness, and our breakfasts. We are glad that you found our central location convenient. Regarding the pillows, although they are of good quality, we understand that personal preferences for thickness vary from person to person. That's why we offer a variety of pillows, and we would have appreciated it if you had mentioned it at the Reception during your stay so that we could have provided you with the ones that best suited your preferences until the height matched your liking. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel. Warm regards, Norma A., Customer Service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve1988 wrote a review Dec 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom128 contributions100 helpful votes
I will start with the negatives Kettle in room - No offering of coffee/tea.. what’s the kettle for then? Aircon - none existent rooms very hot during evening had to sleep with door open. Baby changing - no changing facilities in the hotel in the bathrooms, would be great addition to add to rooms folding table. View- horrible wall Good points - Front of house - excellent helpful Breakfast buffet - excellent lots of variety, service was great Rooms - spacious and clean beds comfortable Would I go again yes
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Norma A Customer Service, Atención al cliente/recepción at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 15 Dec 2023
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your feedback and detailed comments. We appreciate you highlighting the excellence of our staff and breakfast, as well as your positive evaluation of the room, cleanliness, and the comfort of the beds. Regarding the air conditioning, indeed, it is not activated in December as it is a cold month in Barcelona. What is needed is heating to maintain the room within the usual standards of climate comfort. If you prefer a lower temperature, guests can adjust or disconnect it in their room. We regret that you did not inform Reception during your stay; they would have assisted you in modifying the temperature according to your personal preferences. Regarding the room, we regret that the views from the interior room were not to your liking. We confirm that our rooms do not have folding tables for changing diapers, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Similarly, we are pleased to know that you would return to our hotel, and we will be delighted to welcome you again. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dawn L wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Typical pricey town centre hotel. Clean, but dated, great if you like 90’s brown chipped furniture. Beds very comfy, pillows dreadful, flat pancakes. Hotel staff accommodating, quick ish check in. If you need air con go elsewhere yes even in december, bit of a let down as advertised with aircon yet it’s switched off !!! No fans, no tea or coffee in the room, switch the crap toiletries for the tea & coffee, people who stay at a four star hotel use their own toiletries ! & expect a hot drink in the morning, which is very disappointing, feels like they are cutting back as much as possible at the detriment of customers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are a menopausal lady don’t stay here, aircon switched off. No fans either
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elia Buen, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Dear customer, We appreciate your comments on various aspects of the hotel. We would like to point out that Hotel Colonial is located in a large historic building and, although renovated with modern amenities, it is decorated to respect the personality and harmony of the structure. It is clear that tastes vary, and we completely understand that it may not align with your personal preferences. We regret that you did not inform the reception during your stay about your preference for higher pillows, as they would have been more than happy to assist by providing extra pillows to ensure your comfort. Regarding the air conditioning, indeed, it was turned off as Barcelona's climate in December is cold. We use heating to raise the temperature to standardized comfort levels, in compliance with environmental regulations for hotels of this category. For the same reason, we do not provide fans, as when summer temperatures reach the established level, the air conditioning is activated, rendering fans unnecessary. However, we recognize that the perception of heat varies from person to person, and we understand your preference for a lower temperature like that outside the hotel. We regret that it did not align with your personal preferences, and if you had informed us, we could have suggested opening the windows to quickly lower the room temperature with the cold outside. Regarding the absence of coffee in the rooms and the toiletries you deem unnecessary, we adhere to the criteria established for 4-star hotels, in accordance with the standards set by the relevant accrediting bodies. We regret that it did not meet your preferences. Sincerely, Norma A. Customer Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marilyn S wrote a review Oct 2023
Chesapeake, Virginia18 contributions9 helpful votes
Our flight got us to Barcelona in the morning, so the hotel stored our bags and gave us directions to Casa Mila. We came back in the afternoon, and our bags had already been taken to our room! The room was comfortable and clean, and breakfast had a good variety of items. We left our bags after checking out to do more sightseeing the next day, and when we returned to the hotel, they called us a cab. The guys at the front desk could not have been more helpful. The location of the hotel was perfect, and would definitely would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: They are willing to store luggage even after being checked out. We checked out at 8:30, returned...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elia Buen, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you! Delighted you enjoyed our service, comfy room, and breakfast. Our team is thrilled to have been helpful. We'd love to host you again at our perfectly located Barcelona hotel. Best regards, Melissa V. Booking depatment
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dick L wrote a review Oct 2023
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom47 contributions8 helpful votes
A very nice hotel, good facilities pleasant staff good room and conveniently sited near the old town and the waterfront. Excellent for a stay in Barcelona. A few points to note _ - Fridge and a kettle provided but no tea coffee or milk in the room, however a small grocery store next door -No USB sockets so you will need an adapter - Safe in the room but you will need to ask for the key - No plug in the sink which many years ago was generally the case in European hotels and you took a universal plug with you but had not come across that for many decades! If your stay does not include breakfast then you need to pay beforehand each day at reception and take the receipt in with you. Cost 12E but was an excellent spread and worth the money
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elia Buen, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, appreciated our facilities, and found our location convenient for exploring the old town and waterfront. We appreciate your feedback on certain aspects to note. We'll consider your suggestions regarding the amenities in the room, such as the provision of tea, coffee, and milk. Additionally, we'll explore options for USB sockets and ensure a smoother process regarding the safe and sink plug for future guests. We're glad you found our breakfast spread excellent and worth the cost. Your feedback helps us improve our services. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for another excellent stay in Barcelona. Best regards, Melissa V. Booking department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mick TP CASEY wrote a review Sept 2023
Waterford, Ireland60 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
Top class. Rooms, bar, restaurant etc. Situated in the old town close to all the ancient buildings, cathedrals, churches etc. Staff are welcoming and speak good English. All room amenities are excellent. Stayed for one night and paid €12.00 for buffet, help yourself breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid pickpockets in the crowded back streets.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your rating and for all your positive comments. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Damien S wrote a review Sept 2023
Adelaide, Australia4772 contributions3324 helpful votes
+1
The hotel has a great central location near the Barcelona Port. We enjoyed 3 nights there. Happy with the little balcony where we could enjoy some sunshine ☀️ in the morning. There is breakfast, didn’t try the Bfast. There is a taxi rank across the road so was quick to get to the taxi to the train station. The staff do speak good English. The prices for the location and services was worth it. I would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Norma A Customer Service, Otros at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Dear customer, thank you very much for rating us and for your comments, positively mentioning various aspects of our hotel. We are delighted to read that you were happy on the balcony of your room enjoying the sun. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to stay with us again. We would be delighted to welcome you back. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
₹12,102 - ₹21,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaCiutat Vella (Old Town) / Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic) / El Congrés i els Indians
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL COLONIAL BARCELONA - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Nearby attractions include Gothic Quarter (Barri Gotic) (0.3 km), Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.2 km), and Xventura Barcelona Treasure Hunts (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bodega Biarritz 1881 Tapas bar, Viana, and Restaurante Loto.
Is Hotel Colonial Barcelona located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Colonial Barcelona offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Catalan.