We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Laietana, 3, 08003 Barcelona Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$498
View deal
FindHotel
$393
View deal
Travelocity$498
Booking.com$471
eDreams
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (379)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (332)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 27/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Updated 27/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#334 of 545 in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Barcelona Colonial Hotel in the Centre of the city of Barcelona, is the ideal place to navigate the city. It is an impressive stone colonial building located in the Gothic quarter. It is very close to the most important places of interest of the city, such as the Cathedral of Barcelona and the beach of Barceloneta, and very well connected by public transport. The Hotel Colonial Barcelona, next to the Town Hall and the Picasso Museum in Barcelona, is very well connected to the main attractions of Barcelona, by bus and subway. The nearest beaches, such as la Barceloneta, are very close to the hotel, just a 10-minute walk away, as the Cathedral. It is also within walking distance of Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya and the Paseo Maritimo. In a historic building of Barcelona and very near the most important monuments of Barcelona, the Barcelona Colonial Hotel has 81 rooms soundproofed, bright and comfortable wooden floors. Pets are allowed All rooms have air conditioning, heating, TV flat and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. We offer you different types of rooms, all of them equipped with all the comforts and complete
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 1 more
1053Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 292
  • 439
  • 205
  • 61
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
holidaycheshire wrote a review 5 May
Cheshire, England88 contributions88 helpful votes
Stayed for 3 nights over Easter. Location is excellent. Given quite a large room with a balcony, which was great. Housekeeping standards were really high as room spotless. Only negative was that we booked a double but got 2 bed’s pushed together. Reception staff really make the hotel as they are so friendly and make time for a little chat asking about your day. No kettle in room, but vending machine close to lifts on ground floor.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear customer: We appreciate your comments, and we hope that you will visit us again soon and we can create new experiences and unforgettable memories for you. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
BethKSharp wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom13 contributions33 helpful votes
Just home for a 4 night stay at this hotel and it was fantastic. The hotel is possibly in the best location. 2 minute walk to underground, 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas and 2 minutes to the beach. The staff are so friendly, always a hello as you enter and goodbye as you leave. The room we had was on the back so the view was not there but it was large, super clean and as you are hardly there the view is not important. Would 100% recommend and definitely stay again if I was back in Barcelona.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We are very pleased to know that we have contributed to making your trip an unforgettable experience. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
Richard M wrote a review Apr 2022
Builth Wells, United Kingdom190 contributions65 helpful votes
Having read previous reviews my expectations were low but overall i was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff at reception and at breakfast. We had a ground floor room which appeared to be a room adapted for people with disabilities which gave us extra space. the room was okay for the length of stay but i agree with the other reviews that provision of a kettle and coffee making facilities would be an obvious change for the management to make. the close proximity of the metro is a positive and negative but being a heavy sleeper i didn't notice it until breakfast. Breakfast was actually really good and better than previous reviews made out. The beauty of this place is its location and we walked everywhere and nothing was too far away.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Customer. We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel and have left you with such a good experience. We work to make our clients happy and our greatest satisfaction is knowing that our objective has been fulfilled. We hope to welcome you back to our hotels in the near future. Anna Ruiz. customer service
Read more
Paraic M wrote a review Apr 2022
Paris, France2 contributions1 helpful vote
This claims to be a 4-star hotel. Who ever heard of a 4-star hotel where the bar closes at 10.30pm? In Spain! The country where people have dinner at 10pm. So you can have an apéritif at the hotel bar, but not an after-dinner drink. This is unacceptable. Also, there is a metro line below the hotel which means you get a constant rumbling until at least midnight, till 2am Friday night, and 24 hours a day at the weekend. Very disappointed. Staying here in April 2022 with my family.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear customer: Thank you very much for your comments, we take note of your opinion, everything helps us to improve. We are sorry that it was not to your liking, but we have to adjust to some schedules. We pass note to the corresponding department. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotels. Anna Ruiz. customer service
Read more
Jeff Y wrote a review Apr 2022
UK37 contributions53 helpful votes
Having previously used this hotel and knowing the location we rebooked for our weekend visit. Warm welcome from the gentleman on reception and another took our cases to our room. The rooms were clean and spacious, yes they fronted onto the main road and it was noisy at times. We requested one room with twin beds and pleased to see they had arranged this. Shower room was clean but in 512 the shower did leak but not a major issue. There was no tea or coffee in the rooms, but there was a Lavazza machine near the lifts which served decent coffee. The bar wasn't open during our stay, no reason given but we didn't ask so not an issue. Breakfast is served in the basement, ok the ambiance was not great, maybe the choice could have been better but depends on what you want. COVID measures are still in place so you had to wear plastic gloves to pick up serving spoons, use the coffee machine etc. Not an issue you just get on with it. We chose to have our our breakfast at an amazing cafe up the road called Cappuccino, only because we like to be around the locals and there was a lot more choice. Check out was easy and they looked after our bags whilst we did a bit more exploring. For us the location is what makes the hotel and is the perfect base to explore. You are in the heart of the gothic quarter a 10 min walk to the marina and the metro stop is just up the road. The fact that the restaurant and bar was not open was not an issue as we were there to explore the city not stay in a hotel. If we go back ( I am sure we will one day ) I would still book this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Customer. We are delighted that you have chosen our hotel and have left you with such a good experience. We work to make our clients happy and our greatest satisfaction is knowing that our objective has been fulfilled. We hope to welcome you back to our hotels in the near future. Anna Ruiz. customer service
Read more
june wrote a review Mar 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom5 contributions
Avoid. The room is very basic but ok. The air conditioning only works when the hotel decide it’s warm enough and have no fans to offer if they choose it’s not hot enough. There is no coffee/tea in the room. There is a coffee machine which currently doesn’t work. When I asked if I could get a hot drink in the hotel anywhere I was told no, there are places outside to get this which I felt was very unprofessional, I’m sure they could provide hot drinks from the kitchen . There is a fridge in the room but is really small and barely gets cold , but if you bought a travel kettle you could fit a pint of milk in there. I would consider this a 3* hotel as there are no facilities. I would not stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Bring your own travel kettle!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear customer: Thank you very much for your comments, we take note of your opinion, everything helps us to improve. We pass note to the corresponding department. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotels. Anna Ruiz. customer service
Read more
Gemma F wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Disappointing and not 4 star. Rooms were Standard No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. We stayed in room 310 it was so noisy as we on main road. Didn’t get any sleep really in the whole four days I was there . If you want to change your room make sure you do it first thing in the morning as they won’t change it. I requested a room change on day two because it was in the afternoon they refused . Was told to come back in the morning on day 3 to change my room . Wasn’t worth the change as I was leaving the day after . Breakfast is in the basement very basic would only recommend if you just want a room near the Gothic quarter. I wouldn’t be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Client; Thank you for your comments, we are very sorry for the noise, due to our central location sometimes there may be some noise pollution, on future occasions we advise you to notify us in advance so that we can offer a quieter interior room. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
CatrinGriffiths wrote a review Mar 2022
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom15 contributions8 helpful votes
Disappointing and not 4 star. Rooms were fine and beds comfortable. No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Bar was closed for the time we were there but we were never told of this on arrival. Breakfast is in the basement and is an uncomfortable experience. Hotel is lacking atmosphere at the moment and I would only recommend if you just want a room near the Gothic quarter. Reception staff are helpful and pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear customer: Thank you very much for your comments, we take note of your opinion, everything helps us to improve. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotels. Anna Ruiz. customer service
Read more
Micha wrote a review Mar 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom16 contributions12 helpful votes
Room ok not great, the view was a wall and the room was very dark, the beds were comfy though. Breakfast room was in the basement it was very small and we couldn’t sit together, the lady was quite rude , pointed to her right and said gloves! You have to wear plastic gloves to get your food, which is fair enough but it was an order not a request, the breakfast was poor, the boiled eggs black in the middle and the scrambled eggs cold, we stayed 3 nights and only had breakfast the first morning it wasn’t worth the hassle, the queue to the coffee machine for a very small coffee was ridiculous The bar wasn’t open and no one told us this before we travelled/ arrived or we would have swapped hotels, we asked as the bar was closed - if we could open a bottle of Prosecco in the lounge area before going out and we were told yes we could, however once we had opened the bottle we were told the manager had rung in and said no we couldn’t ( big brother is definitely watching you, we were told he saw us on the cctv in the lounge area by reception where we had asked permission ) definitely wouldn’t stay here again and we have now booked another hotel in Barcelona for when we return in June.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear customer: We are experiencing a time of constant changes and protocols imposed by the Ministry of Health that are constantly being modified. Covid makes us change our usual way of working, and that means we have to adapt day by day. We try to do the best we can, and always prioritizing health and hygiene for our customers. Surely there are many things that we can improve and therefore we listen to all your comments. We thank you for your stay and your comments. Anna Ruiz. Customer service.
Read more
elaine d wrote a review Feb 2022
Drogheda, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
Was totally disappointed with the room we got. It was so small and at the back of the hotel so no view at all only scaffolding and derelict walls. Also it would have been nice to be told that the bar and restaurant was closed. Great location though so plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ELIA BUEN, Dueño at Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Responded 3 days ago
Dear customer: Thank you very much for your comments, we take note of your opinion, everything helps us to improve. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotels. Anna Ruiz. customer service
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaCiutat Vella (Old Town) / Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic) / El Congrés i els Indians
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Nearby attractions include Gothic Quarter (Barri Gotic) (0.3 km), Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.2 km), and Sandemans New Europe - Barcelona (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bodega Biarritz 1881 Tapas bar, Viana, and Cremat 11.
Is Hotel Colonial Barcelona located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Colonial Barcelona offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Colonial Barcelona?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Catalan.