We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Petit Palace Arana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Petit Palace Arana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 221: English reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel, staff sometimes hardly notice you or speak English. I know is not an English speaking country but at least hotel reception? Anyway problem was noise, felt like everyone was moving furniture the whole time. We went in nov and was really noisy, so can't imagine how summer would have been. Overall was clean and bed was super comfy...

Helpful?
Thank alinul
Manchester
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Little to complain about. The hotel was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful, very good value. Our room was on the first floor landing, and was occasionally a bit noisy with people outside. It also overlooked the tram, so the occasional rumble or ringing bell. May be worth being specific if background noise bothers you. The toilet was separated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annawaltzerpose
Sonia L, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Anna, We really thank your time and lovely feedback sharing your excellent ratings after your recent stay in Petit Palace ARANA Hotel with us. We are so delighted to know that you could appreciate our excellent location , and the helpful deal of our great team, really motivated to help our customers in everything they may need . We... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location on the edge of the old town, and a nice 20 minute walk along the river to the Guggenheim. Our twin room was clean, with a modern shower, TV and fresh linen. Free wifi very useful and appreciated. Friendly and efficient staff. All good and a lot better than many other more expensive places I've stayed. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank GeeCee68
Sonia L, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review following your recent stay at the Petit Palace Arana Hotel. We are more than happy to see that we could meet your expectations making your stay an occasion to remember. Our team take truly care to provide our guests a confortable stay and offer everything they may... More 

Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff really excellent but rooms badly maintained and bathroom not clean enough. Bidet cracked, wood veneer on furniture chipped and broken, toilet stained! Breakfast was very good, so really it's up to the hotel group to step up their room maintenance policy. The location is also very good but unfortunately I wouldn't stay there again due to the shabby aspect... More 

Helpful?
Thank a110
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay at Petit Palace Arana and taking your precious time out in sharing the valuable feedback with us. Firstly I apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights there this week and found the staff very good, but the hotel terrible. Very badly designed and laid out room and bathroom, not very clean and poor facilities.location is good for the old town, that and the attitude of the staff are it's only positives

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Dave I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete this review following your stay at Petit Palace Arana I was pleased to see you enjoyed the location and the great service we provide to our guests. I was however concerned to hear you were disappointed overall with your stay and we... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was nice and clean with modern room design. Breakfasts were good. Basicly everything was in order. The location near the theather is also very nice. Just few steps to the old city and an absolutely great food market are a big plus.

Helpful?
Thank Dominik M
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Dominik Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us at Petit Palace Arana I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities , location and of course the great breakfast we serve in the hotel. I have passed on your kind words... More 

Lyon, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for a business trip. The staff is really friendly and helpful (my room was too cold, they have changed it without any problem). Big rooms and really good breakfast. It's an old building with a lot of charm and in the center of Bilbao so perfect for visiting this wonderful city. Maybe the only bad point is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garhub
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Guest I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Petit Palace Arana. Thanks you so much for your kind words regarding the great service you received during your stay . I have passed these on to the team here Please be assured I have shared your feedback with my Executive Housekeeper... More 

Gjovik Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated in Bilbao. Located in the old city with its thriving ale streets and small restaurants but also at the foot of the bridge that leads you directly into Bilbao's most important shopping street. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who gave us a small but clean and nice room. A free cava was waiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank John B
Sonia L, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for the great review of our hotel and your excellent ratings! As well as for the time invested in sending us your lovely feedback. We are delighted to read that you could enjoy your stay and we really thank you for choosing our Petit Palace ARANA during your recent stay . Thanks for highlighting our excellent... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The hotel was situated in the old part of the city of Bilbao and ideal for all amenities. The rooms were small but adequate for our needs, although I would liked to have had some drawers and,although our bathroom was large, there wasn't enough space for our toilet things. Our room was tidied every day and clean towels supplied when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet1670
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Janet Thank you for your recent stay at the Petit Palace Arana and for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to note that you found our overall service and facilities to your satisfaction and we truly appreciate for sharing with us your positive overall comments. Janet, your honest comments will help us in... More 

Vigo, Galicia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Ideally located hotel in the heart of Bilbao´s Old Town, within walking distance of all main attractions. Literally two minutes on foot from the main train station. Clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I cannot comment on the breakfast as I did not try it. Good value for money. I would stay again and would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcos A
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Marcos First of all, thank you for choosing Petit Palace Arana and we truly appreciate your time and effort for sharing your valuable and encouraging feedback posted on online. I was really pleased that you found the hotel to be a good choice and enjoyed the great location and of course the brilliant service we try our hardest, as... More 

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
Hesperia Bilbao
Hesperia Bilbao
#8 of 43 in Bilbao
1,526 reviews
ILUNION Bilbao
#18 of 43 in Bilbao
382 reviews
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Petit Palace Arana Bilbao is a boutique hotel situated in Bidebarrieta street opposite Arriaga theater, between the old district and the Ensanche (modern distric). The Petit Palace Arana occupies an emblematic building dating from the nineteen century, being the oldest hotel in Bilbao. Our modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), hydro-massage shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar. Some of the rooms have balconies. Located in the heart of the city, in the gastronomic area where you can taste the best pintxos and typical gastronomy. It is situated just few minutes from the Guggenheim Museum and the other Bilbao tourist attractions.Room types •64 stylish rooms.•High-Tech rooms: laptop, exercise bike, trouser press, hydro massage shower and king-size bed.•Family rooms up to 5 people: King-size bed or two beds plus bunk beds. (Baby cots free of charge).•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.•Smoking & non smoking rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Petit Palace Arana

Address: C/ Bidebarrieta 2, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Price Range: ₹ 3,830 - ₹ 9,302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Arana 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Petit Palace Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Arana Bilbao
Petit Palace Arana Hotel Bilbao
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Petit Palace Arana staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Petit Palace Arana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for higher room not overlooking the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles Annawaltzerpose, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bus from the airport stops less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Try it rather than a 25 euro taxi ride.”
 of 5 bubbles GeeCee68, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 5th floor has creaky floorboards, not so good if you want an early night.”
 of 5 bubbles Janet1670, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for large room!”
 of 5 bubbles 356karenj, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose room in 4th floor, if available (e.g. #410) and avoid to get rooms towards main street (more stret noise)”
 of 5 bubbles petervd173, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay