We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$363
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/23
Hotels.com
$363
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/23
Trip.com
$339
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Booking.com$360
Travelocity$363
travelup.com$382
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1385)
Room & Suite (520)
Dining (144)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#27 of 136 hotels in Granada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
2054Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,187
  • 515
  • 201
  • 91
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
traveller1968 wrote a review Jan 2023
Vienna, Austria669 contributions285 helpful votes
Having stayed at several paradores in other parts of Spain, I was so looking forward to staying at the one in Granada. My heart sank when we saw our room. I could not have been more disappointed. It was a bland modern room with no atmosphere and no hint of being in a historical building. We immediately asked to change rooms, imagining we were in a new annex or something, but were told all the rooms were the same. The rest of the building was no different. The restaurant and bar were totally soulless with bright lighting and zero ambiance. The lounge was bizarre with mismatched modern furniture and strange built-in green shelving which was entirely empty as if it had just been installed and was still waiting for some ornaments. Not inviting at all. The whole place was so different from the other paradores we’ve stayed at where you really felt you were in a historical building with antiques, paintings and period furniture everywhere. Having planned the stay as a treat to celebrate our wedding anniversary, it was a huge disappointment and a waste of money as we could have stayed in a modern hotel in town for lot less. We definitely won’t be back and will be more careful about choosing paradores in future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
traveler11223 wrote a review Dec 2022
Lynnwood, Washington5126 contributions71 helpful votes
The location of this hotel in The Alhambra is unmatched. The staff were friendly and hospitable and our room clean and comfortable. We were not able to get water any warmer than tepid in our room, but didn’t say anything to the staff so they did not have the opportunity to sort this. I would love to stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 19 Dec 2022
Dear Guest: Thank you for placing your confidence by choosing us during your stay in Granada, and for your review about our Parador facilities and service. The experience at the Parador is unforgettable not only because of its location in the heart of the Alhambra, with wonderful views of the Generalife, but because it´s located in the Convent of San Francisco of the XV century founded by Queen Elizabeth - Franciscana Tertiary - after the reconquest. Its walls protect the old Nasrid Palace of the Infants and was also the first place chosen by Queen Elizabeth as the tomb of the Catholic Monarchs. Sincerely yours. We would have been delighted to help you with the water temperature. Lovely to hear your stay met your expectations and we will be happy to welcome you in the future. Yours sincerely. Marian Montero - Manager -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CreatureComforts40 wrote a review Nov 2022
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom60 contributions74 helpful votes
A haven of tranquility in an old monastery in the Alhambra. We had a standard room which was lovely. It overlooked the gardens at the front of the parador and we fell to sleep to the gentle burbling of the fountains. Beds were very comfortable. Wonderful location, just a short stroll to the main sites of the Alhambra, while the gate to the Generalife is right by the entrance to the parador. The parador was being refurbished while we were there so the bar area was much reduced and breakfast was relocated to a function room. The only downside was that you had to reserve a time for breakfast due to the rather limited capacity - but it worked. Breakfast consisted of a cake stand of yogurt, fresh fruit, croissants and pastries, ham and cheese plus toast, butter and jam, as well as orange juice and a choice of tea or coffee. You could order hot items separately. We ate elsewhere for other meals. It’s about a 15 minute walk down into the town from the parador. Taxis were plentiful and cheap. Also very efficient taxi ordering service at the hotel - by the time you’ve walked to the parador entrance the taxi is waiting for you. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again - and this time we’d know how to find it! We got very lost trying to find the place. It’s signposted off the roundabout at the top of the hill BUT we went down into the car park instead of taking the parallel road just after the car park entrance. Then you go down the hill before going through the security barrier, back up the hill, through the palace walls, into the main square, continuing up the hill and the parador is right at the top. Easy once you know how - a nightmare the first time. One tip - reserve a parking space beforehand: we didn’t but as it was November they managed to fit us in.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t trust the sat nab - it will take you to the public car park not the parador. Reserve...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 19 Dec 2022
Dear Guest: thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience in our Parador by this way. Nice hearing you enjoy an unforgetable stay in our Parador Convento de San Francisco. It would be a pleasure receiving you in next future. Sincerely yours. Marian Montero - Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles B wrote a review Nov 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom355 contributions195 helpful votes
Many years ago, the Paradors were top notch places to stay. No longer. State ownership has resulted in a place stuck in the 1970s, with Soviet-era staff uniforms and decor. You have to wait till 8am to be served breakfast and 8.30pm to get supper, so guests are queueing outside to get in. We though that it would be great to do half our Alhambra tour, recover with a quiet lunch, then set off again. No chance. The lunch place is open to the public and you have to queue for a table. They give priority to hotel guests, but it is vey embarrassing having to barge past a long line of waiting tourists. It is a 1-star cafe serving sandwiches made with the nastiest variety of processed ham and cheese. The rooms are small but OK with comfortable beds and a barely functioning bathtub. Make sure you advance book Alhambra tickets (9.30am Nazarin Palace) and a parking space. The hotel fails to warn you about buying the absolute need to buy Alhambra tickets in advance and fails to provide directions to find the hotel. Avoid this Parador and take taxis from a proper hotel instead.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Dear Customer: I´ am pleased to greet you again by this means and thank you for your loyalty to our hotel chain. I am sorry that in the end the result of your stay at the Parador did not meet your expectations, despite the care we gave you, which included being upgraded to your room throughout your stay. As you personally conveyed to me, I inform you that I have taken note of all your comments to redirect them towards improvement. Yours sincerely. Marian Montero -- Manager -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
744susan wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom53 contributions32 helpful votes
The hotel is in such a spectacular position for visiting the Alhambra and meant that we could pop in and see parts of the complex from dawn to dusk and take breakfast and relaxing breaks in a gorgeous place. This hotel is expensive but we were shocked to be given a room (209) that had a lift shaft protruding into it. We had to complain and then were upgraded (at a higher cost) to a charming room with a balcony. The difference in the room and location was beyond belief and what we had expected from the initial price. Overall we had a lovely stay and loved the location of the second room (204.) The breakfast and dinner were really good and definitely to be recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear Guest: Thank you for placing your confidence by choosing us during your stay in Granada, and for your review about our Parador facilities and service. Nice hearing you finally enjoy your stay in our superior and lovely room 204. I recommend you to visit us in June, to enjoy The Alhambra Music Festival in Generalife Gardens; it will be un unforgetable experience for your senses. Best wishes. Marian Montero - Manager –
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holibobs62 wrote a review Oct 2022
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom14 contributions7 helpful votes
Have just spent 4 nights in a superior room. The room was comfortable, bed, pillows, bathroom all good. The view from the room over Generalife was truly spectacular. However, the hotel seemed devoid of any personality, the public areas deserted - it was very quiet in the evening, it was nearly impossible to get a pre-dinner drink. The food in the restaurant was very good but it was served with very little aplomb, not what should be expected at this price point. My message to the Parador would be improve your staff training and get some soft music running through your public areas. I would strongly recommend booking a tour of the Alhambra through the hotel and also using Guruwalk for a walking tour of the Albaicin and Sacremonte - not to be missed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear Guest: thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience in our Parador by this way. We are glad to read that your experience with us has been so satisfactory. Regarding your comments I inform you we start the redecoration process in order to aimed at giving more warmth to all our dependencies . About your suggestion to get some soft music I regret it´s not allowed to preserve the sound of the water in the Alhambra Monument. It would be a pleasure receiving you in next future. Yours sincerely. Marian Montero - Manager -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rozduffell wrote a review Oct 2022
Alvor, Portugal1 contribution
Excellent location with exceptional Service and wonderful atmosphere. Tranquility and history with fantastic views over the Generalife gardens. The room provided every amenity - possible improvement could be the provision of an English speaking television channel such as BBC WORLD NEWS. Not everyone has ChromecSt!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear Guest: thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience in our Parador by this way. Nice hearing you enjoy an unforgetable stay in our Parador Convento de San Francisco. Regarding your comments anda attending the customer demand, I inform you we have recently installed the Chrome Cast in the room, but our TV also allows you to watch ordinary channels. We were able to help you with the connection. It would be a pleasure receiving you in next future. Sincerely yours. Marian Montero - Manager – It would be a pleasure receiving you in next future. Sincerely yours. Marian Montero - Manager –
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhonda wrote a review Sep 2022
15 contributions3 helpful votes
Imagine waking up every morning and seeing the Alhambra as soon as you open the drapes in your room. I spent 3 nights here and it was just the relaxing break that I needed after a very hectic year. Visiting the Alhambra was on my bucket list but never did I imagine that I could stay in a hotel on the grounds of the property. The former convent has been converted into a luxury property and boy oh boy it did not disappoint. Breakfast was included in the stay and 2 of the 3 nights I had dinner on the property and i was always so pleased with the service, and the food did not disappoint. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here - it was a good relaxing place to come back to after a day of exploring. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear Guest: thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience in our Parador through this way. The experience at the Parador is unforgettable not only because of its location in the heart of the Alhambra, with wonderful views of the Generalife, but because it´s located in the Convent of San Francisco of the XV century founded by Queen Elizabeth - Franciscana Tertiary - after the reconquest. Its walls protect the old Nasrid Palace of the Infants and was also the first place chosen by Queen Elizabeth as the tomb of the Catholic Monarchs. It would be a pleasure receiving you in next future. Yours sincerely. Marian Montero - Manager -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ariel A wrote a review Sep 2022
Negril, Jamaica22 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed for one night and felt all the rich past around us. Our room was simple, clean and functional not the highlight but neither did it take away from the warm and welcoming atmosphere and historic location. We had a wonderful lunch at the restaurant overlooking the Generalife gardens, we tried the Nasrid tasting menu which was so delicious we went back for a very special dinner that the Chef was so kind to make for us. The staff were attentive and friendly to us. We recommend staying here when visiting La Ahlambra. For us it was a magical moment. Thank you to everyone for making our stay a memorable one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose a superior room if available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Dear Customer: Thank you for placing your confidence by choosing us during your stay in Granada, and for your review about our Parador facilities and service. I will convey your opinion about dinner and lunch to our Chef. Lovely to hear your stay met your expectations and we will be happy to welcome you in the future. Yours sincerely. Marian Montero - Manager -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trance Master wrote a review Aug 2022
Singapore, Singapore5 contributions1 helpful vote
Food is delicious, price is reasonable, given the remarkable location. The dressing for the salad is light and refreshing...one of the best I have in Spain. I also had a sandwich, which tasted absolutely delicious. The ambience is comfortable and relaxing, with a wonderful view of the generalife and it own garden.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The restaurant starts at eleven am...so no early lunch or late breakfast.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marian Montero Cuadrado, General Manager at Parador de Granada
Responded 9 Sep 2022
Dear clients: thank your very much for your review and sharing your experience in our restaurant. For next visit I recommend you to taste our Nasrid Menu and our especial Tea called "Alhambra Tales" with Moorish sweetes; it will be un unforgetable experience for your senses. Best wishes. Marian Montero - Manager -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$291 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
parador de granada hotel granada, parador de hotel granada, granada parador de hotel
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of GranadaGranadaRealejo - San Matias
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARADOR DE GRANADA - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Parador de Granada
Which popular attractions are close to Parador de Granada?
Nearby attractions include Generalife (0.3 km), The Alhambra (0.04 km), and Artesanía del Árbol (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Parador de Granada?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Parador de Granada?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Parador de Granada?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Parador de Granada?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Parador de Granada?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oteiza Coffee, Rabo de Nube, and Restaurante Ruta del Azafran.
Are any cleaning services offered at Parador de Granada?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Parador de Granada offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Parador de Granada?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Parador de Granada?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Generalife (0.3 km), The Alhambra (0.04 km), and Mirador de San Nicolas (0.7 km).