We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Paseo de la Sabica 40, 18009 Granada Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$46
View deal
Expedia.com
$51
View deal
Agoda.com
$44
View deal
Official website$46
Hotels.com$51
Travelocity$51
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (621)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (265)

About

#62 of 137 hotels in Granada
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The complete Alixares hotel is located opposite the stunning Alhambra, one of the most wonderful monuments in the world, and a 15-minute walk from Granada's city centre. The hotel offers its guests a comfortable and cosy atmosphere in a modern environment. Hotel Alixares offers Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the building, a reception desk open 24 hours, several fully equipped meeting and conference rooms, an Internet Point, an outdoor swimming pool, a private parking area, a bar and a restaurant, just to mention some.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Pool / beach towels
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Solarium
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
1884Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 364
  • 796
  • 497
  • 143
  • 84
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christopher s wrote a review 13 Nov
1 contribution
Very poor expereince for a 4 star hotel, the only two things to reccomend this hotel is the proximity to the Alhambra, and the rooms are clean. On balance however you are far better off staying in Granada and getting a taxi to the heritage site. Reasons for poor review are as follows. We found our rooms on the 5th floor to be unconfortably hot. I went downstairs to ask why the in-room A/C was not funtioning and they told me it was low season, therefore they are all switched them off. I said it was unseasonably warm and suggested they might turn them back on for the confort of us and their other guests and I was laughed at!! Incredibly rude Pillows are the fat 'sausage'' types that span the width of the bed these are unconfortable to sleep on. The sort of pillow you expect at a hostel not a 4 star hotel. Beds for couples are two joined singles, adverstised as doubles. Not very confortable if you are a couple really and this should hav been made clear. Parking - while we did know about this we felt the 20 euro charger per night somewhat excesive, especially as its a 5 min walk away invovling lots of steps. Food: Good point here is the breakfast an excellet selection including drinks, why couldnt the dinner match this? Evening meal - I can only describe this as the worst meal we have ever had in a hotel. It was a buffet meal as we went half-board. There were no other meal options for the nights we booked. The dining room was located down a set of steps, with no lift or ramp access making it difficult for one member of our group. If you were wheelchair bound you would be stuck! The room itself had no windows, was brightly lit with cold-colour temperature lights, and there was no music. Seats were all close together. It felt more like some sort of prison dining hall than a hotel restaurant. We were given tiny plates (the size of side-plates you use for your bread), presumably this is done to make you feel unconfortable about going up for seconds, however the quality of the food would probably put you off having more... The soup tasted like weak chicken stock with a few floating bits of tinned vegetables. The paella had no meat, seafood, saffron, or even herbs of spices from what I could gather and tasted more or less lile plain rice with a few vegatables, again clearly came from a bag of frozen or tinned vegatables. The meat choices were all tough, greasy and overcooked. Desserts were all from a packet and defrosted - all ultra-processed and utterly repulsive. To sum up the evening food, it reminded me of the cheap food one used to get for school dinners. Howver at least then they had the excuse that they had a tight budget. Also absolutely no drinks were provided, not even water. Any drink we asked for was charged on top. In addtion the staff were overly eger to take your paltes away. At one point I pointedly told the waitor I had not finished as he was about to remove my plate (which still had food on it!! As a 4 star establishment they should be utterly ashamed, patucularly the evening food as there is no excuse whatoever for the experience we had, paticularly in a country that prides itself on its fantastic cuisine. Unless the hotel can show humility, apologise for our poor expereince and indeed offer some sore of recompence for the experience we had then we have no choice but to not reccomend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Customer, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We take note of all your indications to improve, thank you very much for letting us know, we would have liked you to tell us in person and I will inform you a little and comment on things that you have told us. At this point in the year, we cannot put on the A/C since Granada has the largest temperature difference in all of Spain. During the day the temperatures are high, but at night they drop a lot and most people ask for heating. Our heating system is central and we cannot put everything according to need. Our staff is very professional and it is one of the most valued items of our Hotel, they are very professional. We apologize if we may have offended you by any comment or gesture. The pillows are viscoelastic, they usually have a very good acceptance, apart from that they have another set of pillows in the closet if you don't like them. But pillows are something very special that not everyone likes. We have double beds and rooms with two beds, we cannot always offer the double bed as they are subject to availability upon arrival. Parking is €20, we are in the second most visited monument in Spain and therefore you cannot park free of charge near the Hotel. We take good note of your indications regarding dinners. We will inform the property of the Hotel and we will try to introduce more variety of products in our buffet. We are very sorry for not having lived up to your expectations, we apologize for what we may have offended you. Have a nice day. Gustavo Cara Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travlintone wrote a review 2 Nov
Chippenham, United Kingdom803 contributions446 helpful votes
A busy tourist hotel with a constant stream of tour parties coming and going. Recently partly refurbished but still with wafer thin walls that ensure sound travels! A big advantage of the hotel is the location as it is only a 5 minute, downhill walk to the Alhambra complex. (Don’t forget to take your passport if visiting, no passport – no entry, even with a ticket!) The hotel has an unexpectedly large, outdoor swimming pool and sunbeds at the rear of the property (towels from reception). As with many Spanish hotels there are no facilities in the room to make a hot drink (take a travel kettle!) and there are few (no!?) shops nearby to buy supplies. Various buses go up and down into the main town centre every few minutes. A one way taxi costs around 5 euros.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Travlintone, We thank him for his stay at our Hotel Porcel Alixares, letting him know that we are delighted that he has given us almost the highest score. We have all kinds of clients in our Hotel, either in groups or individually. As you define, our location is ideal for visiting Granada and the Alhambra, as we are well connected to the city center, both on foot and by bus and taxi. Indeed, our pool is one of the largest in Granada within the city hotels. We have kettles in the superior rooms and whenever you want, we can provide one if you request it. Also in the cafeteria, we can provide you with hot water whenever you want for free. We wish and hope that you will choose Porcel Hotels again for your next visits to Granada, Seville or Madrid. Thank you very much for everything and have a happy day. Gustavo Cara Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sthompson216 wrote a review Oct 2022
Wetherby, United Kingdom7 contributions
We arrived by car and be warned that you might want to reserve a place in advance. It costs 20 euros for 24 hours. Our room was old fashioned but really comfortable and clean with lovely views towards Alhambra. Swimming pool was pleasant but cold. No poolside service because October. Staff were helpful but food was a disaster! In fairness you are so close to loads of eateries it probably doesn’t matter.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 5th floor for views is best.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 17 Oct 2022
Dear Stompson, We thank you for your recent stay at our Hotel Alixares and we are delighted with the good score you have given us, thank you! As you could see, the staff is one of the key pillars of Hotel Alixares, and we are glad that you highlight it in your comments. We take note of your indications about our restaurant, we will try to improve its variety and quality. As for the pool, we have a bar right there in the summer, but in October it is not open, imagine that other years, the pool was closed at this time of year, but with this weather, it is complicated close. We hope you come back to stay with us soon. A cordial greeting, Gustavo Cara Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coopuk wrote a review Oct 2022
United Kingdom228 contributions169 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights on a road trip around Spain and to visit the Alhambra. Not very well signposted, and no obvious parking outside the hotel - basically you are allowed to unload, then you have to park in the all day parking for the Alhambra, which was an additional 20 euros per day. The parking is also 5 mins walk from the hotel. This was disappointing as our booking clearly said that hotel parking was included in the price - so make sure this provided if you book. Lots of other guests - this is a popular stop-off/hotel for coach trips. Reception immaculate, excellent check-in and staff. Excellent rooms, everything clean and working. Outdoor pool was excellent if a little busy/crowded. If you need towels for the pool get them from reception - do NOT use the room towels, as the staff get upset if you do. Note that this hotel is at TOP of one of the hills outside Granada, and it is a steep 30 minutes walk down to the main town. There are not many other bars or restaurants near the hotel. Quality of sleep excellent. Breakfast was good, quite varied, although the coffee was from instant machines and was dreadful :( On the whole I would recommend this hotel, though the additional price of parking was a surprise. PROS Location for Alhambra - 10 minute walk. Excellent checkin, rooms and staff. Good outdoor pool. CONS Not central for Granada Breakfast coffee appalling. Parking was extra to cost of rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you need towels for the pool get them from reception - do NOT use the room towels, as the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Dear Seed, Thank you very much for offering us such a good evaluation and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The price of parking is published on all the websites, it is paid for, as is the case with 99% of the hotels in Granada, since the city is small and there are few places to park free of charge, and all of them, as is normal, are quite away. In addition, we are forced to set the same price as the Alhambra car park so as not to create disparities with the rest of the customers. Another thing that we improved is the coffee machine, which grinds the grain every time it makes a coffee, this is very good since before it was freeze-dried and it was of poorer quality. We are delighted to have met your expectations during your recent visit to Hotel Alixares and we hope that you will stay at our establishment again soon. a cordial greeting Gustavo Cara Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aine1905 wrote a review Sep 2022
15 contributions3 helpful votes
We picked this hotel because of its proximity to the Alhambra palace. The main entrance is at 4 minutes walk (after you enter it takes you 15 minutes to the Nasrid Palace). My only complaint is the price of parking, at 20 euros per night, but we were aware of that so I cannot complain too much 😁 The hotel is clean, offers everything you need (shower gel, lotion, tissues, hairdryer...) The breakfast is excellent with a lot of different options for everyone. As for the pool, it is also great, refreshing after a long walk in the Alhambra. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 7 Sep 2022
Dear Carlos, thank you for giving us the highest score, we are proud that our customers are so satisfied with their visit to Granada and their stay at our Hotel. Our location is ideal for visiting Granada and the Alhambra. The price of our €20 garage is similar to that of the Alhambra car park, we are forced to have the same price, otherwise we would have complaints from our customers. Thanks for the recommendation and here is your house when you return to Granada. Have a very nice day. Gustavo Cara Director Hotel Alixares
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reynoldsan wrote a review Aug 2022
Wicklow, Ireland2 contributions
Great hotel. Fantastic staff. Lovely pool area. Perfect location. Also we went for the bbq dinner offered on the rooftop terrace restaurant and bar - which was stunning - food was to die for, service exceptional all with stunning views. Also rooms were great - all in all great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear Reyoldsan, thank you for your great review and for taking the time to write your opinion after your recent stay at Hotel Porcel Alixares. Our hotel is strategically located within walking distance of the main tourist attractions in Granada, such as the Alhambra. We are pleased that our staff has made your stay a 10 and therefore, that we have met your expectations during your stay. We hope that the next time you visit Granada we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards. Gustavo Cara Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NathaLie0779 wrote a review Aug 2022
Boortmeerbeek, Belgium56 contributions10 helpful votes
Everything was great! Reception was friendly, rooms were spacious and clean. Swimming pool area was very nice. Breakfast offered everything you could wish for. Very close to Alhambra and city center at 15 min. Took a cab back to the hotel for 7€. Parking at Alhambra parking was very convenient for 20€ per night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Dear Nathalie. Thank you for her great evaluation and for taking the time to write her opinion after her recent stay at the Hotel Porcel Alixares. Our hotel is strategically located within walking distance of the main tourist attractions in Granada, such as the Alhambra. We are pleased to read such good comments directed to our services offered and your recommendation. We understand that we have met your expectations given the 5 stars you have given us and we are pleased with that. We hope that the next time you visit Granada we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Gustavo Cara Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GunnerGirlYuffie wrote a review Jul 2022
Hampshire, United Kingdom21 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel is very conveniently located for the Alhambra - in fact, it’s a two minute walk across the road which is its main selling point. We received a very warm welcome at reception and provided with very useful information about the buses to and from the city centre (it’s a steep walk back up) and generally, all the staff were very friendly. The hotel is a bit tired and dated looking and this is very evident in the room. The towels and sheets were threadbare in places. The pillow was one, long thin sausage which wasn’t very comfortable for sleeping. The bed itself was fine. Some of the sockets were not working or had been broken. The bathroom had been modernised recently which was pleasant enough to use. The cleaning service was exemplary, the pool was nice and there was a large selection at breakfast to choose from. Perfectly serviceable but nothing to write home about.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear GunnerGirlYuffie, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would have liked to have seen the five stars and therefore we are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. Also thank you for the good comments addressed to our staff. Inform him that if he had wished and with those inconveniences that he mentions, we could have changed his room without any problem, in order to improve his stay during his stay. We work to improve our facilities little by little so that our customers can fully enjoy them. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to choose us again to improve your stay on a future visit to Granada. All the best, Gustavo Cara Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JulianneMackrell wrote a review Jul 2022
Bath, United Kingdom63 contributions12 helpful votes
We had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and the access to the pool was welcome during the particularly hot days. Access to the Alhambra palace was so easy. A minute down the road. We also walked into town through a beautiful park which took about 25 minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Alixares, Director General at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 16 Jul 2022
Dear Julianne, We are very happy to receive these types of comments as they encourage us to continue doing things as before. We are also very happy to read that you had a stay as planned, this makes us feel very good, since we put a lot of effort into making sure that everything goes very well during our clients' stay. The hotel is in a privileged position, very close to the main entrance, and only 15 minutes from the city center. The surroundings of the Alhambra and the Hotel are spectacular, they invite you to transport yourself to another era with some magic. All the staff wish you the best. We hope to see you again another time. Anthony - Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cybercop2267 wrote a review Jun 2022
Canvey Island, United Kingdom100 contributions23 helpful votes
The hotel is ideally located next to the entrance to the Alhambra. Parked in the Alhambra car park opposite as hotel car park was full. Car was secure overnight due to good security. Hotel room was lovely we were on the 4th floor facing the pool . Room was soundproof and very comfortable. We only had an evening Meal which was a buffet but very good, we mostly had breakfast out in one of the many little cafes and restaurants. Staff were all very polite and helpful . Overall a very enjoyable stay and we would recommend. We walked everywhere in grada sightseeing used the tourist train although enjoyable the suspension was hard which gave some discomfort in the ride especially over the cobblestones.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Use the Alhambra car park opposite of hotel is full lots of security patrolling . Also purchase...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GRUPO HOTELES PORCEL SL, Dueño at Hotel Porcel Alixares
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Cibercop, thank you for your great evaluation and for taking the time to write your opinion after your recent stay at Hotel Porcel Alixares. Our hotel is strategically located within walking distance of the main tourist attractions in Granada, such as the Alhambra. We are pleased that our staff has made your stay a 10 and therefore, that we have met your expectations during your stay. All our services work very well and we have managed to have a great charming hotel. We hope that the next time you visit Granada we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. A cordial greeting. Gustavo Cara Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$45 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of GranadaGranadaRealejo - San Matias
NUMBER OF ROOMS
197
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PORCEL ALIXARES (Granada) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Porcel Alixares
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Nearby attractions include Cuesta del Rey Chico (0.4 km), Saico Paranormal Rock Bar (0.2 km), and Granada Cemetery Walls Memorial (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Jardines Alberto, Pizzeria de l'Angus, and Restaurante Mirador Casa Paco.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Porcel Alixares?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Porcel Alixares?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Generalife (0.6 km), The Alhambra (0.6 km), and Mirador de San Nicolas (1.3 km).
Does Hotel Porcel Alixares have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.