We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MacDonald Villacana Resort

#12 of 36 Hotels in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
MacDonald Villacana Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MacDonald Villacana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We did not enjoy our stay at Villacana and really wish we would have stayed somewhere else. First of all, we were provided with incorrect written directions to the resort. According to the written directions, once we passed the resort at mile marker 165/166, we were supposed to exit at "Selwo Park." There is no Selwo Park. After we passed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carillon226
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, I sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about our resort and I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our priority is to provide an excellent holiday experience with excellent service, which we often achieve judging by the reviews on Tripadvisor, although on this occasion we have obviously fallen...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 20 December 2015

We did an exchange through RCI and we very pleased with Villacana Resort. We stayed the last few days of October and the first week in November. As we expected some of the activities were curtailed but as there is so many things to do in the area it did not matter. We came by train from Madrid into Malaga....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J Craig W
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Craig for your positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to greeting you again in the not too distant future.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Nice resort, it's probably best to have a car, however there is a bus stop right outside. Our apartment was above the reception area which I didn't like too much I would have preferred one of the others. However our apartment was quite large and suitable for our needs. Would have been nice to have had a TV in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julie g
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Julie. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We have stayed at MacDonald Villacana for the last three years and expect we will go back again next year but it does however have a number of positives and negatives depending on what you are looking for Positives 1. Very child friendly with lots of activities (primary reason we go back) 2. Some of the apartments are very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cameron L
Sebastián U, Director General at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We are very glad you enjoy visiting us. We have taken note of your comments and will pass them on to the relevant members of staff and the restaurant.

Whitstable, Kent
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We have been going to Villacana for the last 23 years and it is time for a review ! It is mature, self catering style, resort that, despite its age, just maintains such high standards. The accommodation is ever upgraded and the gardens are its crowning glory. They are a plethora of smells and beauty and their cultivation can only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davjill
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our resort. We are delighted that you continue to enjoy staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Tenterden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Shared a self catering apartment with friends. Just the right size, well equipped and with a nice balcony. Very relaxing stay - pleasant grounds and cafes/bars one of which is right on the beach with views down to Gibraltar. Plenty of places to visit roundabout - Gib, Ronda, Estepona, Marbella, Puerto Banus etc etc.There is a small onsite supermarket and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We've been coming here (also used to own at Leila Playa) and all the other Macdonald resorts for the best part of 25 years.Villacana remains a nice resort with lovely gardens and the apartments well maintained. We stayed in the lower section, nearer the beach, but sadly the apartment was very, very dark and you needed lights on virtually all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joe w w
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

As time share owners we have been coming here for about 15 years and the apartments are very well furnished & kept impeccably clean. The grounds are out of this world wilth colourful shrubs & maintained to a high standard. The staff in reception are very helpful & pleasant, but the quality of food doesn't live up to the standards...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimLad6
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We shall pass your comments about the restaurant to the third party operator. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 10 October 2015

Well kept large accommodation, beautiful grounds, pleasant staff. Ideal for those looking for a relaxing break in a quiet location, but near enough to the larger resorts. Only a few minutes walk to beach, and five restaurants close by including one on site. We had a roof top terrace, ideal for soaking up the rays, or barbecue lunches. Only downside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimmer545
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

First the Resort: This is a lovely resort with flowers, plants and trees everywhere there is a smell of jasmine in the air most evenings. The resort is clean and the public parts are well kept. It is lovely wandering through the courtyards as you go down through the resort to the swimming pools there are fountains throughout the resort....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loukir
Sebastián U, General Manager at MacDonald Villacana Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would just point out that we have an on-going refurbishment programme so that all of the apartments will be of the same standard. We do hope you will visit us again.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (26)
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
13.8 km away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
774 reviews
0.4 km away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
469 reviews
13.2 km away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
11.7 km away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
1,268 reviews
3.2 km away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about MacDonald Villacana Resort

Address: Calle Cadiz 165/166, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Price Range: ₹ 5,846 - ₹ 16,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MacDonald Villacana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MacDonald Villacana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Villacana Hotel Estepona
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estepona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Estepona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MacDonald Villacana Resort staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from MacDonald Villacana Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere”
  • Horrible shaded internal north east facing 2nd floor terrace
  • View north with A7 highway right next to reception
MandH-eurotrippers, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a nice complex and all the rooms should be fine.”
GerryT443, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor room or a room with a balcony.”
Stan0951, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“East facing rooms get the sun in the morning but the patios are in the shade during the evening.”
RobbieBStockport, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“See if you can get one with a balcony”
  • Roof terraces
Greenhillsfan, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
HotelQuickly
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates