We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen
 Click to rate
Chennai, India
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We travelled in December 2016 and had to stay for one night. The rooms were spacious compared to European standards. But toilet fittings were a bit old and out of fashion. Breakfast was not so great but you can grab a quick bite and push off. On the whole, not recommended if you are looking for luxury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickypedia101
Argenteuil
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room's ground was not clean. The bed sheets were clean. In the sky bar we went as family, barmen told us that he had other guests so you gotta wait. There were only beverages. So we had only asked to drink coffee and fruit juices. We waited half an hour and when we are about to leave barmen said...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 482akifa
Excelsior L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review and your feedback. You are right we do not have a restaurant. Since we are just 5 minutes by foot from downtown and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from we do not have a restaurant. But in the Bar you can choose from multiple snacks and small dishes. I...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

although this large building has many rooms, and advertises Wi-Fi availability, I found there to be only one tiny spot on the 17th floor next to the elevator that had a connection for me, at least to my telephone. This proved to be a massive problem, and shortened my stay here. I had to pay a lot of money for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DynastyFounder
Excelsior L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for your stay with us and your feedback. First, I want to apologize for the complications with our WiFi. These complications were actually a citywide issue and did not only effect us. After we had our own technicians try all they could we too wait for technicians from the city to reach us. Sadly, this...

Northallerton
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Generally fine - but as a business traveller, I need working WiFi (too slow to allow VPN connection) and a chair for the desk (this seemed odd). Otherwise, staff were friendly, breakfast good, the room clean and in good condition.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonrG5594GD
Excelsior L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Dear Simon, we really appreciate you rating us and giving us your feedback. We thank you for that as well as for your stay with us. I understand your displeasure with our WIFI these days. We had a citywide breakdown for a few days due to bad weather. As soon as we realized our guest WIFI was not working, we...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We had two rooms: one of the showers didn't work at all. The bathrooms were dirty and the rooms were dank and musty. A whole gorup of people was shouting at each other in out hallway at 5:30 in the morning, as well as smoking right outside a non-smoking room. The free breakfast was decent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K1380GBmartins
Excelsior L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First I want to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced while staying with us. You can be assured that this is not the norm and our guestrooms are cleaned daily. I apologize if you were bothered by other guest’s behavior and hope you reported this immediately in order for our Staff to intervene. I really wish you...

Argenteuil
Reviewed 17 December 2016

The facility ist really clean I liked the hair dryer, the fridge and what not. But Poor WIFI Only german channels on TV The service can knock on the door a bit less than that during the morning The phone in the room wasnt going through

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 307julesm
Excelsior L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Dear Jules, We are very grateful for your rating and feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by our nice housekeeping staff. The next time we have the honor of accommodating you just put your 'Do not disturb' sign on your door and our housekeeping will leave you in peace. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your...

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I was at the end of the hall, furthest from the elevators. There were people opening and closing doors, talking in the hall and using the elevator until after 1:00 AM. The cheap floor and wall coverings actually increased the echo of these noises rather than muffling them. The breakfast is easily the poorest/least assortment of food I've ever seen...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
Excelsior L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Dear Jack, Thank you very much for informing us of your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that this experience was not one of your better ones. I apologize if the noise other guests created kept you awake and made you feel uncomfortable. We will have major renovations this upcoming year and more soundproofing will be on...

Aartssizaar
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Non-smoking room smells like cigarettes, The elevator is old and so slow, it took ages to go up and down to 13th floor. The TV remote control did not function, not all lights in the room were working. Never again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristiaanv2016
Excelsior L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate and thank you very much for your feedback. What our guests experienced while staying with us is very important to us. I apologize for your non-smoking room actually smelling like smoke. Our Housekeeping should have spotted that. If the remote did not function the batteries were probably dead and a phone call to our friendly reception...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This hotel has been part of our Euro trip as per Thomas-Cook itinerary. - Hotel is very Good. - The sky bar in the 16th floor is a must visit. - Excellent view from the room balcony's in the top floors. - Breakfast and WiFi were given as complimentary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh M
Excelsior L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Hello Rajesh, thank you so very much for staying with us and your feedback. Every feedback is much appreciated. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to visit our rater famous Sky Bar. We as a team hope to greet you again soon and wish you a great rest of the week....

Fall Creek
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Stunningly beautiful hotel. Massive hotel that employees only ONE bar tender- they called in sick- so that means the bar is closed for the night!? We only chose this hotel- so far into unpleasant area instead of staying in Mannheim- BECAUSE of the beautiful bar! According to the receptionist there are NO near restaurants? We ate dinner at the bowling...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T2773ELelizabethw
Excelsior L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for visiting us and providing us with your impressions of our Hotel. I completely understand your displeasure and want to let you know that this is not the norm. We actually do not only employ one Barkeeper but due to of a series of unfortunate events none were able to take the shift last night. Do...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludwigshafen
1.7 km away
Rene Bohn
Rene Bohn
#1 of 9 in Ludwigshafen
186 reviews
0.9 km away
Europa Hotel Ludwigshafen
Europa Hotel Ludwigshafen
#2 of 9 in Ludwigshafen
131 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Leoso Hotel Ludwigshafen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Gartenstadt Hotel
Gartenstadt Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ludwigshafen
29 reviews
1.5 km away
Speicher7 Hotel
Speicher7 Hotel
#3 of 45 in Mannheim
107 reviews
2.3 km away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen, with its 160 hotel rooms, is situated in the midst of Ludwigshafen city. Our bar on the 17th floor offers a 360° panoramic view of the city and the beautiful Rhine-Neckar Valley. The cocktail bar is an ideal place to start a lovely evening with a glass of wine or a cocktail. All the hotel rooms have a balcony and enjoy free WiFi internet. In the business hotel rooms, selected drinks from the minibar as well as a tea and coffee station are available free of charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen

Address: Lorientallee 16, 67059 Ludwigshafen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Ludwigshafen
Price Range: ₹ 3,248 - ₹ 6,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurohotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen
Eurohotel Excelsior Hotel Ludwigshafen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Excelsior Ludwigshafen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose rooms closer to the top floor on the northern side. They tend to have good views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles vickypedia101, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are good as they have excellent view from the room.”
 of 5 bubbles raj_movva99, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Sam693, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Views of the city”
 of 5 bubbles Latravel1014, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Front of the building has windows that open.”
 of 5 bubbles Leigh710, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5