We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Booking.comUS$ 120*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 259*
US$ 120*
Great Deal
US$ 126*
US$ 126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Start your review of Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
 Click to rate
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Book this hotel for 2 nights. 30 minutes far from Dusseldorf airport by car, well located in between Bochum and Essen. Check in and Check out very efficient. I had diner at the Pub, with relative decent selection of food. Breakfast was well served. Internet connection would need to be improved. Overall positive impression.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dadar D
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to evaluate your stay. We are delighted for your praise and recognition for our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again here in Gelsenkirchen. With best regards Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The Maritim Gelsenkirchen is one of the houses our company has a business rate agreement with. Arriving at the parking lot and bringing the car in front of the entrance was easy, the check-in was really friendly and helpful with a recommendation of some restaurants. The room had a park view and was clean, but not really modern. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver B
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to evaluate your stay. We are delighted for your praise and recognition for our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again here in Gelsenkirchen. With best regards Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The good thing is that to the outside seeing an organisation booking a hotel for an event they could see it didn't cost a lot!! I mean the staff were friendly and the food is pretty good but the rooms are so old fashioned and tired it wasn't a pleasure or even a joy to stay and or relax in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we do not want to miss this opportunity to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking your time to evaluate your stay. Our hotel is from the first generation of Maritim hotels and therefore cannot compete with a newly built hotel. Despite this, our regular guests love the special charm of our hotel. We would...

Redditch, England
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Traffic noise too high Wifi not working No visible way to control room heating No iron in the room Smell of smoke Pillows way too soft No 'gratis' water Only news channels in English (common though in DE) Great shower!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Outonthegolfcourse
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank You for your review. We are very sorry that your stay with us did not match your expectations and wishes. We would have been pleased to give you an iron on request. You are right, due to the single glazing, the rooms on the street side are a bit louder. For the technical problems with the Wifi,...

Jakarta
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I needed a place in Gelsenkirchen and Maritim is a chain I know from Travemünde and Bonn. The hotel was old but very clean, the staff was friendly and the location is excellent. They gave me a wonderful room with a view to the park. The bar was closed but there was a wonderful restaurant in the basement with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dungdang
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the nice and positive review at Tripadvisor. We are lucky that you stayed in our hotel and thank you for the friendly and honorable words. We would like to welcome you again at our hotel and remain with best regards Your Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen Management

Llandovery, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The hotel is very well placed to the motorway network.Stayed here for two nights as over night on route on an Edwards coach tour.All areas of the hotel are clean and the staff very friendly.Good buffet style breakfast and evening meal offering good choices hot and cold.Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to evaluate your stay. We are delighted for your praise and recognition for our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again here in Gelsenkirchen. With best regards Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very dated, and could use some updating. However it is clean and was a convenient location for my trip. The hotel lacks a gym, which is a draw back for me. There is a nice park adjacent to the hotel which helps, but not enough in my eyes. The breakfast was well stocked, and in general the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we do not want to miss this opportunity to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking your time to evaluate your stay. Our hotel is from the first generation of Maritim hotels and therefore cannot compete with a newly built hotel. Despite this, our regular guests love the special charm of our hotel. We would...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Very central and in a quiet area. I always choose a high floor to try and get away from the noise of the ambulance sirens as you are next to a hospital. There is a lovely park near the hotel and if your lucky you might get a view of it. Rooms are quite small but I travel here myself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B0nnie1969
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for being guest in our hotel and we appreciate the time you took for your evaluation. We extract from your indications that you felt well during your stay, which is in our own best interests. Your evaluation makes us happy, because your contentment is a big motivation for our employees. We look forward to welcoming you...

Rehlingen
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Was again here for a quick stopover for a trade show in Düsseldorf. I like this Hotel, because the staff always seem to make me feel at Home. The Breakfast has to be the Best of all the Hotels in Gelsenkirchen, and the Bar/Restaurant is Superb, (not Hautecuisine, but you know what I mean), good Prices and the service is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for being guest in our hotel and we appreciate the time you took for your evaluation. We extract from your indications that you felt well during your stay, which is in our own best interests. Your evaluation makes us happy, because your contentment is a big motivation for our employees. We look forward to welcoming you...

Newport
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Arrived at hotel around 6pm on a hot day. The room was really stuffy as no air conditioning. No kettle or complimentary tea or coffee which was very disappointing. Mini bar and safe were in the room. Very old TV (not flatscreen) which seemed ancient but fitted well in this room as it was very 70's style and still stuck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikemalo
Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very pleased that we were able to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for the time you have taken for your detailed review. Unfortunately, our rooms are not equipped with air conditioning. We hope that our televisions are exchanged by the end of the year. We apologize that your soup was offered with no...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gelsenkirchen hotels
Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
#1 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
183 reviews
Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#3 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
390 reviews
Altstadt
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#11 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#7 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
26 reviews
Hotel am Stern
#12 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
2 reviews
Buer
Schloss Berge
Schloss Berge
#5 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen is situated close to the city centre and shopping district and is privileged to be placed adjacent to the large "Stadtgarten" (city garden). We have 222 double and single rooms in various categories as well as junior suites, which are spread across 14 floors. Approximately all rooms are non-smoking rooms. Aside from the all-purpose conference rooms for up to 650 persons, we offer our guests the restaurant "Pub" - with the park-side terrace during the warm seasons - and an elegant hotel bar as gastronomical facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Address: Am Stadtgarten 1, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gelsenkirchen > Altstadt
Price Range: ₹ 5,721 - ₹ 9,342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View to the park....”
Dungdang, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor with park views.”
B0nnie1969, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room looking over the Park.”
nicholasg889, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Seventh floor, overlooking the park, perfect.”
Venusjupiter, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have views - the ones at the front of the hotel are better”
Rojrk, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 120* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 126
Hotels.comUS$ 126
AMOMAUS$ 259
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates