We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Hotel Koeln West

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Hotel Koeln West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

582 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon check in was charged immediately, price was higher than expected, upon examination of the invoice we realised we had been charged for breakfast which we didn't request. We had booked our accommodation with an evening meal in the restaurant, we new this offer was a limited choice ( we have done this before at other Mecure hotels) but when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve e
Bart V, Geschäftsführer at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your feedback to your stay with us. First of all I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I can absolutely understand your disappointment and your anger. To show you that we can definitely do better I would like to send you a voucher for a one night stay including...

Ga
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The building has been very nicely remodeled. The staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. The location is convenient, depending on why you're visiting the area. If you have you're own car then it is about 5-6 min drive to center Köln if you needed transportation I'm not sure what is close to the area to get you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie K
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Kimmie K, Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us! I am sure that a future stay will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards,

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Was here for 2 days business in Cologne. Was surprised by just how busy the hotel was. Occupancy levels appeared very high, but the hotel seem to run without issues. Room was clean and tidy. My only complaint would be that my view from the room window was directly onto some sort of brightly lit shopping centre and that there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Happy L
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Happy L, Thank you for your positive review. I will share your comments with my team. I am looking forward to welcome you back to us and remain with kind regards,

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I travel to Cologne on business at least 4 times a year and always choose the downtown hotels. I broke my routine and thought I would fore-fit a central location as I was traveling with my family and wanted a larger hotel with a pool so my wife and kids were comfortable during the working half of my trip. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathan r
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan, Once again I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. As stated in my second email on the other platform I just wanted to explain the issues you mentioned in your review and never intended to be insulting. Of course I will be pleased to give you a refund. I...

Hulst, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 October 2016

+ Very very good restaurant! Nice staff, nice atmosphere and great food. I am a vegetarian and they offered me multiple veggie options + Nice room + Friendly staff at reception + Felt very welcome! - Nothing to complain!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marjolein J
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Marjolein, thank you very much for your warm words. I will make sure to forward the compliments to my team. I hope to welcome you back in our hotel anytime soon. Kindest regards, Bart Vaessen General Manager

Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Came here for Photokina. The hotel is outside the city a bit but the tram is a close walk away. The room is great. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms I like very much showers were better than a small stall. But had a full tub and room to move.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phillip B
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Philip B, thank you very much for your great review. I hope to welcome you back here anytime soon. Kindest regards, Bart Vaessen General Manager

Richmond, Texas
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Very nice place to stay. Room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. While the room was not as large as similar US hotels it was comfortable larger than most European hotel rooms I've visited. The staff was very friendly and eager to help when asked. A big plus for me, everyone I interacted with spoke very good English which made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pgaroni
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear pgaroni, thank you very much for your review of your stay here with us. I am happy to hear that my team comforted you that much. I will make sure to forward your warm words to my team. Until next time here in cologne, Bart Vaessen General Manager

Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The hotel rooms were comfortable, very clean. Breakfast options were good. You can enjoy a drink (preferably Köstrißer or kölsch) after a tiring fair day. The hotel's location is good, too. It's really close to train stop and there were supermarkets across the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Burcin B
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear Burcin B, thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to hear that you could relax with a drink after a busy day. I hope to welcome you back here anytime soon. Kindest regards, Bart Vaessen General Manager

middlesbrough
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Stayed at the hotel in July 2016. This was our second stay at this hotel having stayed the previous year and would say it had not changed still high standards. Staff really welcoming. The only disappointment for us was that they had stopped providing free parking to Le Club Members and the parking rates were a little steep. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tagmanMiddlesbrough
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear tagmanMiddlesbrough, thank you very much for your great feedback. I will make sure to forward your warm words to my team. The parking fees adapt depending on the surrounding hotels. In comparison our parking lot is cheaper. I hope to welcome you back in our hotel anytime soon. Kindest regards, Bart Vaessen General Manager

Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This hotel was our last stop on a road trip around Europe and was conveniently placed just off of the Autobahn on the edge of Cologne. It's quite a way out of the city but this makes it cheaper but good value for what you get. Marsdorf tram stop is nearby and is the cheapest way into the city (takes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phammel2016
Bart V, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Koeln West, responded to this review

Dear phammel2016, Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback! I am looking forward to your next stay with us. Kind regards from Cologne

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#70 of 277 in Cologne
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mercure Hotel Severinshof Koeln City
Novotel Koeln City
#40 of 277 in Cologne
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in our comfortable 4-star Mercure Hotel Koln West in the west of Cologne. It has great transport links and 191 rooms offering free WIFI and high-speed DSL. Enjoy our leisure facilities with pool and sauna. Our spacious events area offers conference rooms - some accessible by vehicle - and optional outside spaces, and can be put to many uses. It is 5.6 Miles to the main train station and 15.5 Miles to Cologne/Bonn airport. Reach us by car via the nearby A1 and A4 highways ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koeln West

Address: Horbeller Str. 1, 50858 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Novotel)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Price Range: ₹ 4,120 - ₹ 10,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koeln West 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koeln West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Koeln West
Mercure Hotel Cologne
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#25 Family Hotel in Cologne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Hotel Koeln West staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mercure Hotel Koeln West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All OK, but not suitable for more than one child”
 of 5 bubbles 599jonathanr, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room seemed good to us, but as one would expect, higher floor is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles X9488FSrichardg, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Please respect do not disturb signs”
 of 5 bubbles Maevean, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms are equal.”
 of 5 bubbles UrbanBur, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Basic rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 410hannesd, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay