We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with sister and mum for my mum's birthday for couple of nights. Not much of a reception area - filled with overflow of tables from breakfast dining room. Staff not too friendly. Room was a very good size, spacious and clean. Lacking toiletries in bathroom. A little noisy at night (luckily I brought ear plugs with me). Wifi worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I stayed one night with my friend and it was alright. The location is great, near the train station and the city center. Not much to expect though as the room is very small : a bed, 2 nightstands and a tiny closet/desk. It's not meant to do anything else than sleep but it was clean and it had free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PschittWaouh
Busan, Busan, South Korea
Reviewed 19 October 2016

It is price level hotel. Room : very small as like a business hoteland light is not enough for bright but WIFI was great. Bath room : Not bad and clean Breakfast : Not bad Location : Very near from Hamburg Central Station as walking 5 mints as the best merit. But worst thing was .. it was too noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seonkyoung
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Arrived around 5 pm to the most unfriendly welcome from the chap at Reception. The room was so small that the bathroom door could not even open properly. I had no place to put my suitcase so I had to sleep next to it on the bed. The worst part is that it is not a cheap Hotel. The WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Went here for two nights with my girlfriend. The hotel is located very near the Hauptbahnhof, which is perfect, should you come by train. It is also only a very short walk for the shops and the City-centre. It's a small hotel with very small rooms. We didn't mind, as we were rarely at the room. Breakfast is okay by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
NovumGroupHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Pierre, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel Alster. We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team

Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. First of all, the hotel is in a refurbished old building. This means the rooms are very small. This tends not to bother me as we only sleep and shower in them. You wouldn't want to be spending a lot of time in them in gorgeous Hamburg anyway. The staff were very professional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronny A
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in bedroom for 3 during two days and were really disapointed. The room was really small. The bed sheets were small as if it was for kids. The breakast is OK but I do not recommend this hotel it doesnt worth the price. The standard service is really low for a 3 star hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre A
Worcestershire UK
Reviewed 26 January 2016

This hotel is just far enough away from the hbf to be quiet, yet is still only a short walk to the transport links and the Alster lake. A lot of folk have said the single rooms are small, so I booked a double for the same price on Booking .com. Everything was clean and nice. Free Wifi worked well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sleepytopcat
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Booked hotel through Booking.com as always. Great location, 400 meters from railway station. Central to all Christmas markets and walking distance to many of the sightseeing places. Reasonable price, breakfast included which was very good. Only thing is we paid for upgrade to queen bed however, room very small, en suite very small and had two single beds! But not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyson T
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

It's nice and clean, but zero frills. No kettle, no in-room iron and sub-student accommodation furniture. The room was tiny and the carpet wasn't a looker. That said, the location's great for the central station and the staff are friendly. The guy on the desk when I arrived around 10pm couldn't speak much English, but why should he? We managed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dob R

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
St. Georg
Steens Hotel
Steens Hotel
#244 of 319 in Hamburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome home - the Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg - in the most exciting and oldest part of the Hanseatic city scene at Pure Life. The central location between the main station and the Alster allows both to achieve the business and the leisure traveler all the targets in Hamburg quickly and easily. The Novum Alster Hotel St. Georg is comfortable and contemporary in design, functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a newly designed Hotel after its opening in April 2014. Just steps away are found in the "Long line" numerous shops and restaurants for every taste. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg

Address: St. Georgstr. 10, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Aachener Hof)
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Price Range: ₹ 3,843 - ₹ 19,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachener Hof Hamburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room away from the stairs and lifts”
 of 5 bubbles welshdragon44, 8 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Good location for Hamburg's shopping centre.”
 of 5 bubbles Hampo1964, 17 Dec 2014 | Read review
“The hotel has elevator, so don't be afraid of staying in the upper levels.”
 of 5 bubbles XanaIgreja, 15 Dec 2014 | Read review
“203 is a street facing room. All floors are serviced with a lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Smallpacket, 11 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Room 308 good loation direction calm street!”
 of 5 bubbles Bjorn48, 25 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay