We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great place for us as we really wanted to be in walking distance from main areas. The hotel has a great bar which is loud and lively at night, really fantastic for young travellers. The rooms are not too big but very comfortable. The staff was just ok. Breakfast is really a plus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MafaldaPortugal
London
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Loved my stay at the George, all beautifully designed, very comfortable modern stylish rooms with large bed, great spacious bathrooms and walk in shower, great breakfast buffet, very attentive staff. I was there Friday night and the bar was heaving (great fun atmosphere ), so at first worried about noise but in room was super quiet. And hotel is only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonProfessional1
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice furniture, attention to the detail, friendly staff, quite rooms, near the city centre.... a well recommended boutique hotel for a weekend in Hamburg. Lot of restaurants in the area. Good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank britishracingreen
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear britishracingreen, Thank you very much for staying at The George Hotel in Hamburg and for the excellent review on TripAdvisor. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards, your The George Hotel team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely boutique style hotel. Area around hotel really cool with many bars and restaurants and a nice 20 minute stroll into the city centre. Room was elegantly furnished, extremely comfortable and had all the amenities one would expect with a 4 star hotel. Only downsides were pillows could be better, bar was very expensive and was quite loud but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mia H
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mia H, thank you very much for visiting The George Hotel and for your kind recommendation. We are delighted to read that your stay was a successful one and that you enjoyed the rooms, the design and the location of the hotel. We are sorry to read that the pillows weren't comfortable for you. Please do not hesitate to...

Salzburg, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has a perfect location on the Alster. You can walk to much of the main city attractions from there or enjoy great morning runs. The rooms are spacious and modern. Design elements are great and the rooftop bar serving great drinks and overlooking the city is just outstanding. The breakfast buffet is also high quality and the prices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kahwage2015
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kahwage2015, Thank you very much for choosing The George Hotel and for your kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hamburg and in our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the location, the rooms, the bar and the breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Your The George...

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this hotel very modern and funky,although not sure why a few Union Jack cushions make it a British themed hotel. Room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable, loved the mattress topper and the. Fluffy duvet. Bathroom was nice too. Big downside wa the very loud music in the bar area which made us not want to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chilliexx
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chilliexx, thank you very much for staying at the The George Hotel in Hamburg and for your honest review. We are delighted to read that you liked the atmosphere and the design of the hotel. At the same time we are deeply sorry that you didnt sleep well due to the music of the bar or the surroundings of...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband & I visited Hamburg for my birthday in January. He had booked The George as a surprise & it was perfect. Situated at the end of a tree lined street with lots of lovely little bars & restaurants. The hotel itself was great - lovely room & the bar was good too. Reception staff extremely helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anggrif
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anggrif, Thank you very much for staying at The George Hotel and for your lovely review. Your praise is a huge motivation for us and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to welcome you again soon. Warm regards, Your The George Hotel team

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Direct neighbourhood is up- and coming and features number of great bars and eateries. The lobby bar is a popular place for a cocktail and busy when we were there. Downside is that it is not easily reached by subway or train, ie from the airport. And city center is 20 min walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daan d
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daan d, Thank you very much for staying at The George Hotel in Hamburg - St. Georg and for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the atmosphere of the hotel. While we understand that you would have preferred staying closer to the central station...

Islington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I was very disappointed by my recent stay The George, mainly by the fact that my room was so hot that I couldn't sleep on the first night and had to call reception at 4am to be told that the air conditioning was broken and would be fixed the following morning.... the next day at 12pm I called to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle G
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rochelle G, Thank you for choosing the The George Hotel in Hamburg and for your contribution on Tripadvisor. It is with regret to hear that your recent visit was below your expectations. It is true that we do not have a proper air-conditioning system in the guest rooms. Guests do however have the possibility to regulate the heating manually...

Scotland
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This is a stunning hotel in a great location in Hamburg. I stayed here on business but must say that I did enjoy a few beautiful gin and tonics on the last night...the bar is one of the longest in Hamburg and was sophisticated and very enjoyable. The rooms are well appointed - spacious and very comfortable. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaydiva840
Fortune H, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holidaydiva840, thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hamburg and that you stay with us again in the future. Thank you for highlighting the Bar DaCaio as well as the guest rooms in vour review. Hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, your The...

669 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (435)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Junior Suite (97)
Viewed
Medium Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Small Alster Room (59)
Viewed
Small Room (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 320 in Hamburg
1,343 reviews
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 320 in Hamburg
603 reviews
St. Georg
Relexa Hotel Bellevue
Relexa Hotel Bellevue
#92 of 320 in Hamburg
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
Hotel Wedina
#76 of 320 in Hamburg
220 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant DaCaio
Restaurant DaCaio
Cuisines: Italian, European, Mediterranean
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
„The name is George, The George!“ Find British tradition with a contemporary touch and intercultural reminiscences of colonial times. In the colourful St. Georg district of Hamburg, close to the recreation area of Außenalster, The George welcomes his guest with discreet elegance and DaCaio Restaurant with Italian cordiality. All areas of the hotel can be booked exclusively. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Barcastr. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: ₹ 9,984 - ₹ 17,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hamburg
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#61 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not travel in the summer as apparently there is no air conditioning so you will bake in your room!”
 of 5 bubbles RochelleG212, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not choose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 976g_rardm, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quit may be the East site is a little bit nicer”
 of 5 bubbles axel158, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Subscribe to Design Hotels Newsletter as I did and got a 3 night for the price of 2 deal!”
 of 5 bubbles Duncraig, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Alster view room!”
  • Sunset Alster view from the room
  • Pillow
 of 5 bubbles Kamsalaun, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5