We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 700: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Tacky and rude staff except a few. Felt like a prison at times. Don't know how some staff even have their jobs as manager the way they behave. They made me feel like kid, and they are the Same age as me most of them. Rooms filthy the staff is ok but they don't clean properly daily, I stayed for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thor593
Gallarate, Italy
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very comfortable to reach from the SXF airport, very close to my preferred zones of the city. Very kind receptionists. The common areas are nice as in the other Generator hostels I already saw/slept in. The rooms are worth their price and it's a very cheap solution for everybody.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucio B
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely comments! We hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Maria Taferl, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location, a communacative athmosphere and very good breakfast. Only minus is the basic equipment in bathrooms and rooms, but for that price definately very good. The staff is very nice and the receptionists are helping you out whenever you need information.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johannk774
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing your stay. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your compliments to my team. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Podgorica, Montenegro
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is super friendly and helpful, the hostel was quite clean, easily accessible by public transportation. The hostels is perfect for backpackers who are in need of a comfortable bed and want to spend less money on accommodation and save for some good beers and food in the city!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shargarepa S
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your excellent review. I have certainly passed on your compliments to my team and hope you will stay with us again sometime. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Naples, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very comfortable place, maybe the rooms could have more bearing surfaces but it's ok. Staff was nice and the hostel is near tram stop and metro station so it is very easy to go wherever you want in the city

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nando G
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing your stay. I am very happy you were satisfied with both staff and hostel and hope you will consider us again sometime. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Buhl, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shower was not good, bathroom stalls too small, average breakfast. But huge hostel, great people, not too close to the city centre but with train/tram station nearby. It was amazing and I'll definitely come back :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lari S
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your awsome review :-) We do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Leipzig, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 days, with my father (he's 60) and we liked the experience. The Hostel, in general, was very nice. Nice staff, nice breakfast, cool environment, very clean... But the bedroom was in a very noise corridor, and the bathroom (inside the bedroom) was very tiny. In general terms, I recommend this hostel to travelers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank subocc
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for reviewing your stay with us. I'm very glad you and your father enjoyed your time here and I do hope you will consider us again. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Lille, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel installations (buildings and common area) were ok; but the staff was really unkind and they seemed very unhappy to give us information or even talk to us. The breakfast was poor, too expensive for what was being served, also they said that they serve food during the evening but one night when we wanted to eat there the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raffaela D
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting and sharing your experience. I'm very sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay and have passed on your comments to my team. I'm also sorry you found the kitchen closed on this occasion, however the bar or in any case would have been open to serve you a selection. Thanks again for your valuable...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall I had an average experience with this hostel. There was big common areas and the folks in the reception were able to help me out a few times. Our room was spacious but really needed a proper cleaning! The floor, bathroom and under the beds seemed like it had not been cleaned for a very long time :-( The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeeanb
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your comments particularly on cleanliness are very helpful to me and I have passed them on to my housekeeping crew and will be taken on board. Thanks again and kind regards Sabine General Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly and very attentive to any and all needs that I had. They are very patient to any and all needs or concerns that you may have regarding your stay in the hostel. The rooms are cleaned each morning and they have an excellent selection of food to choose from in the morning. The receptionists are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austin J
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many many thanks for your excellent review. I have certainly passed on your comments to my whole team. I do hope you will consider us again next time you're in Berlin. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

533 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Common Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Four-Person Bunk Room (27)
Viewed
Private Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six-Person Bunk Room (33)
Viewed
Six-Person Bunk Room with Parking View (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
#14 of 362 in Berlin
1,266 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#23 of 362 in Berlin
1,292 reviews
Friedrichshain
All In Hostel
All In Hostel
#51 of 362 in Berlin
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 362 in Berlin
2,070 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 362 in Berlin
1,167 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 362 in Berlin
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator is located in the ultra trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. T ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Storkower Str. 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: ₹ 1,460 - ₹ 7,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg 2*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“toilets located in halls are never busy”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were 6 and booked separately dormitory beds: so we asked few days before the booking to be all together and it was ok. :)”
 of 5 bubbles alexandren50, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a bike and talk to the welsh girl”
 of 5 bubbles jordanpU7911XT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“near train station”
 of 5 bubbles Gosha86, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a view at the television tower take a room on the S-station side”
 of 5 bubbles claudiusj, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay