We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karl August

Augustinerhof 1, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria Germany
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (42)
Pool & Beach (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Augustinerhof 1, 90403 Nuremberg, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Karl August
1,044Review1Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 779
  • 198
  • 48
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
SGAGROUP wrote a review Mar 2024
Frankfurt, Germany1 contribution
We traveled for Business and booked the Hotel as it came highly recommended. It exceeded all our expectations. The location is spot on, right in the centre of the Old Town. Major historical places within walking distance. Service at the hotel was on the highest level
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SGAGROUP, wow, thank you for your great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could use our central location to explore our historical Nürnberg. We are particularly pleased to read that you mention our staff with extra praise. After all, they are the heart and soul of our hotel. We are much looking forward to have you back here someday. Best regards from the Neighborhood Lena & Your Karl August Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mandradehome wrote a review Mar 2024
Calgary, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
Our trip was with much excitement until three nights at your hotel smelling like rotten eggs. I asked for management to review - just a horrible stay. I asked for some compensation- nothing offered not even a phone call from a manager. Beautiful hotel and great location - but attention to customer complaints nonexistent. Won’t stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear mandradehome, Thank you for your feedback, even though we are very surprised by it. Our reception team took your complaint about the smell in your room very seriously and informed our technical team directly. Unfortunately, we were unable to enter your room during your stay as you had the "do not disturb" sign permanently hanging on the door. Our reception team also explained this to you in a personal conversation at check-out. Our technical team thoroughly checked your room and all technical equipment in the hotel and no smell could be detected. As we could not find any defects, we did not agree to a refund. Dear mandradehome, Please be assured that it is our highest priority to satisfy our guests and ensure a pleasant stay. It is a pity that in your case, despite our best efforts and no defects found, we were unable to ensure this. We wish you all the best! Best regards, Jan & your Karl August team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Curiosity30731065947 wrote a review Mar 2024
Guatemala City, Guatemala3 contributions
The hotel has excellent location in the historic center of Núremberg. Our room had a balcony with a beautiful view to the river with and old town. Spacious rooms , very modern interiors, well equipped. The food of the brasserie was excellent, service a little slow, probably because it was always full.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Curiosity30731065947, thank you very much, for taking the time to write a feedback for your stay! Our location in the heart of Nuremberg is perfect for easy access to the hustle and bustle and cultural sights of the city. We love to see, that you enjoyed our modern Interior, our Brasserie NITZ and the balcony of your Suite, where you could enjoy the beautiful view to the river and the old town. If you are visiting Nuremberg again, we would be happy to welcome you back! Lovely regards from our Neighborhood Mariann & Your Karl August Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Giulia D wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The hotel is stunning and positioned in the best place. The Hotel stuff is professional and kind, I could properly relax and take my time off with my partner. The gym and SPA service is an amazing addition to the Hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Giulia, thank you very much for your lovely words about your stay with us! We are delighted to see, that you and your partner could relax and have an wonderful time in our Augustinerhof. If you are visiting Nuremberg again we would be happy to welcome you back! Lovely regards from our Neighborhood Mariann & Your Karl August Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BIBIANA P wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
My experience was more of an extremely unfair human practice. I booked a room, the last room online and did not notice that it was not refundable and the room did not have a fridge. I arrive germany and checked in got to the room no small fridge or cooler for a room of €1775.00 for 5nights. I came downstairs to complain and the lady said they can put my drugs in the fridge downstairs in a hotel that had no room service. I made her aware that i could not stay in the hotel since it was their very last room. I went and found another hotel. I came back to check out and was told i would only be refunded 10% after only two hours of checking in. That is the worst practice i have ever come across that is their cancellation policy for 24hrs and i booked the room late last night. I spoke to the manger and explained.. wow they literally where ok taking my money that is criminal For a hotel with 9.1 rating, no room service or bell assistance and the lady at the reception gave me the wrong information and then it was ok cos she made a mistake. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone and also it far different from the pictures
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Please do not go to the Karl August, the Park Plaza hotel is far more modern and good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Dear Bibiana P, As we discussed with you personally yesterday, we have offered you a room upgrade to a category with a fridge. However, you have consciously decided against this and have already booked another hotel. Our room categories are described and communicated transparently on all online portals. You have deliberately opted for one of our Superior Double rooms, and here too the features are truthfully described everywhere. Our flats, junior suites and suites are equipped with a fully equipped kitchenette and a fridge. In principle, it is the guest's own responsibility to choose the hotel according to their own wishes. If the booked room does not meet our guest's requirements, we will be happy to assist and advise you on site in choosing the right room. Unfortunately, you did not give us the opportunity to find a solution together with you on site. You have left early at your own request, therefore the conditions you agreed with us (cancellation fees) apply in this case. You have booked your room during the BioFach trade fair, a peak season for us. We are sure you will understand that we cannot make any exceptions to the calculation of cancellation fees, also out of fairness to our other guests. Dear Bibiana P, apparently we are not the right hotel for you. We wish you all the best! Best regards, Jan & the Karl August team +++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Dear reader of this review: Please make up your own mind about our Hotel Karl August. Not only in view of all the other reviews, but also in a personal telephone conversation with our team. We will be happy to explain our unique concept to you. 0911 3767660 ! We are passionate hosts for our guests and love feedback - as long as it is constructive and without ulterior motives.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Max R wrote a review Feb 2024
Miami, Florida7 contributions5 helpful votes
Stylish oasis for a lovely respite situated in the middle of “old town” Nuremberg and close to all the cool action - bars, restaurants, retail, museums, etc. Bar is sleek, great beer and cocktail options! The hotel has a very convenient cafe adjacent for easy grab and go coffee and snacks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Max, thank you for your great feedback! We are pleased that we were able to convince you with our modern design and concept. It's good to see that you were able to use our central location to discover and experience Nuremberg and had some good drinks in our bar. We're looking forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards from the Neighborhood Lena & Your Karl August Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
frodo2024 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The front desk staff, in particular, were super friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and the restaurant wait staff were friendly and attentive. Everything about the experience was pleasant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Dear frodo2024, WOW - Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will forward your words to our team. See you soon in our Neighborhood, Jan & your Karl August team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MrsBoxerDog wrote a review Jan 2024
Tadworth, United Kingdom25 contributions27 helpful votes
I must start by saying the position at the Christmas Market was ideal. Walk out of the front door and straight across the little road in front of you. Perfect. I was with friends and we agreed on a meeting place should we lose one another; next to the Christmas tree outside the big church in the market, or back in the hotel bar! Now to the hotel. The reviews are very good, but I've concluded this type of hotel is not for those of us in our 60s, or above. When I walked into the bedroom, I was very disappointed, thought it hadn't been finished and was about to walk back to reception and ask for another room. Although very clean, it was bare/stark with the walls and ceiling looking as if they'd been left plastered with 'patterns'. (I discovered the corridor walls were the same - not appealing) I belive it's called 'modern'. No kettle etc., although when I asked at reception one was provided - I already had my tea bags! Note the safe is higher than one would expect, which caused a problem. The bathroom was very modern with an excellent shower. The street outside proved to be quite noisy up to about midnight. The staff were lovely, very polite and helpful. Note the bar/restaurants shut on a Sunday evening. The breakfast was excellent. How good to have breakfast served to the table and not a buffet. The best croissants ever - superb!! All around a good hotel, but not quite my style. (A visit to Rothenburg is a 'must do')
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Dear MrsBoxerDog1, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location near the Christmas market, and we really appreciate your kind words about our staff and the breakfast. It's a pity that we couldn't convince you with our design. Our deliberately minimalist style, with thoughtful design, exposed concrete and the use of natural materials is something that makes our Karl August special. We are proud of our product and sustainability is a big USP of our hotel. At this time, it is important to be consequent to protect the environment, that is why we have no kettles minibars or amenities in the rooms. As you already mentioned we have most of the ameneties on request at our reception. If you ever visit Nuremberg again, we would be glad to welcome you back in our Karl August! Best regards from the Neighborhood Lena & Your Karl August Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
frankaeschbacher wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Experience a stylish and sophisticated stay at Karl August, complete with top-notch amenities. Our bar/restaurant is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day, and our spacious rooms will provide you with the ultimate comfort. With easy parking, our hotel is the ideal location for both business and leisure trips. Don't miss out on the opportunity to elevate your travel experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 29 Feb 2024
Dear Frank, thank you for your review! We are happy, that you liked our Style and Design and you´ve been comfortable in our beautiful rooms. It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards from the Neighborhood Lena & Your Karl August Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
toyinstitutekorea wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
This hotel is close to Christmas market, and it is in the central of Nuremberg. Good location with best service and facilities, especially breakfast is nice. I will choose this hotel if I have another chance to stay again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Karl August, Inhaber at Karl August
Responded 29 Feb 2024
Dear toyinstitutekorea, thank you for your great review! It´s lovely to hear, that you enjoyed our central location and our breakfast! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards from the Neighborhood Lena & Your Karl August Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nuremberg area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,271 - ₹15,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaFranconiaMiddle FranconiaNurembergAltstadt - St. Sebald
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KARL AUGUST (Nuremberg) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Karl August
Which popular attractions are close to Karl August?
Nearby attractions include Altstadt (0.2 km), St. Lorenz Church (0.5 km), and Weissgerbergasse (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Karl August?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Karl August?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Karl August?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Karl August?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Karl August?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kaffee Lebemann, Restaurant Albrecht-Dürer-Stube, and Cafe Bar Wanderer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Karl August?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Karl August?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Karl August?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Karl August?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.