We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Cristal

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Cristal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 328: English reviews
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was quite alright for one night, wouldn't stay for more nights.. it was a little loud at night. but the staff was friendly and the check in and check out very fast. Very near from the train station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_SdV
Martina K, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Jenn_SdV, thank you very much for your review! Our team is looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is very central, less than 5 minutes from central train station. The room was ok, considering the relatively expensive price. Charge €4 Euro wifi usage which is disappointing and the breakfast was horribly overpriced Would look elsewhere on my next visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwihammers
Martina K, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Kiwihammers, thank you very much for your review. It's possible to get free Wifi in our hotel for your next stay, please ask our staff. As a cheaper alternative we also have a coffee shop located next to the restaurant. There we offer hot and cold drinks as well as small snacks like Sandwiches and pastries. It would be...

Essex England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am a little late in posting this review... however the hotel is in the middle of a red light / little immigration area which to this date has not caused me any trouble, in fact the local shop owners are very helpful and polite. The hotel is in an excellent location for the train station and only 10 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nemesis3623
Martina K, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Nemesis3623, thank you very much for your rating! It's great to welcome you again in September! Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a night when we went to a FC Bayern game. Room size was good, clean, few minutes walk to central station. We did not have any issues walking on the streets very late at night like about midnight. We will stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMP1914
Martina K, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear JMP1914, thank you very much for your review! We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel! Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for the Christmas markets. Upon arriving the location wasn't exactly ideal or what I had in mind for a four star hotel however upon entering the hotel it made the outside street not matter as much! Check in and day staff were friendly and approachable, on arriving to our room it was clean and tidy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie P
MANCHESTER
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed at this hotel at least twice a year for about 8 years now due to the positive aspects that other reviewers have mentioned such as proximity to the train station and also it's a short walk to the main points of interest in Munich etc. Of all the visits, this was the longest, most expensive stay I've had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MANCJET
Martina K, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear MANCJET, thank you very much for your feedback! We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with our service! We would like to apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. It is absolutely not our standard! As a family-owned hotel, it is very important for us to offer a good service and friendly staff so we...

Freising, Germany
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is quite decent and efficient, good food but a bit expensive, WiFi system keeps kicking you out of the network but the rooms are quite clean and decent especially the toilets. The price is above average but in match with other hotels in the area. The only catch would be the crazy train living area, which doesn't feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mohhuss
Martina K, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear mohhuss, thank you very much for your review. We're sorry for your inconveniences with the Wifi. The area around our hotel is just a busy area near train station, like in every other city in the world. There is no reason to feel unsafe or uneasy. It would be a pleasure for our team to welcome you again in...

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

The Hotel Cristal has many positives and few negatives, but the negatives are so strong that I DO NOT recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious rooms especially for the price. The beds are clean and comfortable. I believe the rooms are recently renovated! The location in terms of a 10 minute walk to Marienplatz (Christmas Markets/Oktoberfest) and a 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn H
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed on a 3 night trip and found the Hotel to be well placed clean and comfortable. We didnt try the buffet breakfast as @€16 euro better value options elsewhere. Only negative was from a 5th floor patio area next to hotel which was particularly noisy with alcohol fueled games !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevos747
Martina K, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear Stevos747, thank you very much for your review! We would be really happy to welcome you again in our hotel. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 30 November 2016

for my business trip it was best located. close to the main station and city center with easy access to the public transport system. room was clean and quite. staff was very friendly and all spoke perfect english. breakfast buffet was very good with a big choice. I can recommend the hotel and come back for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljosphkg
Martina K, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review

Dear ljosphkg, thank you very much for your rating! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We're looking forward to welcoming you again in our house! Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#255 of 380 in Munich
653 reviews
0.1 km away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#27 of 380 in Munich
986 reviews
0.1 km away
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Maritim Hotel Munchen
#114 of 380 in Munich
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.1 km away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.2 km away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#86 of 380 in Munich
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Price Range: ₹ 4,285 - ₹ 16,413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cristal staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cristal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure that you book a room at the rear of the hotel otherwise would hardly sleep at night. Arranged by prior the charging of the internet.”
 of 5 bubbles spyridonangel, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back if you want a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 416timp, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles IluvnjNewJersey, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back of the hotel for more silence at night”
 of 5 bubbles MrRollT, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from the street if there's such a thing.”
 of 5 bubbles riain, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay