We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Les Barmes de l\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
 Click to rate
new york
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just spent a week at Hotel Les Barmes de L'Ours skiing in Val D I'sere. The hotel is 5 star in a premier ski resort so it is expensive but if you can accept this the hotel is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, facilities are extensive and top class including spa, sauna, indoor swimming pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard d
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We are very thankful for your feedback and sincerely appreciate you enjoyed our facilities during your stay in our mountains. The whole team and myself are looking forward to welcoming you again. Our best regards, Valérie Boulenger General Manager Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours ***** Chemin des Carats 73150 Val d'Isère - France

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Paying 420 euros the night for a room that has no shower. Only a bathtub but no curtains so all the water spills out and no place in the wall to hang the eater telephone so you always have to hold it in your hand. Which is not comfortable for a shower and washing your hair.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank santiago c
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What makes this hotel stand out is the training and attention of the staff who are constantly thinking of the guests; they act before you need to ask. Yes, maybe the standard rooms are a little small but overall, the hotel is outstanding. The ski service ( the Pro Shop ) is the best I have found anywhere anticipating requests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DN-L1955
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, dear Madam, What a great feedback we have ... we couldn't be more grateful to you! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay among us and would be glad to welcome you again. Receive our best regards, Valerie Boulenger General Manager Hotel les Barmes de l'Ours ***** Chemin des Carats 73150 Val d'Isère - France

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't get me wrong - Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours is really good, but considering the rating of the hotel and the price level I had expected something that was excellent. The staff and the service are excellent except for the lunch service in the Rotisserie. But arrival, concierge, ski rental and breakfast staff are all excellent. Great common areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olle O
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback following your stay in our property. We appreciate your honesty in regards to the different facilities and services of the hotel. We are glad you were overall satisfied and hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards Valerie Boulenger General Manager Hotel les Barmes de l'Ours ***** Chemin des Carats...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I am being a bit mean by only giving three stars as the hotel is excellent. The rooms and staff are great (as I expected for 1000 euros a night). BUT the food in the grill restaurant is just terrible! The starter buffet is about sufficient for a five star hotel. But, I suffered a main course on two occasions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nPP
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our property and its facilities. We are sorry you've been disappointed by our restaurant La Rôtisserie and we will make sure to transmit your feedbacks to our Chef. Wishing for your next visit you'll enjoy both the hotel and the restaurants. Best regards, Valerie Boulenger General Manager...

kent
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We have just come back from a week in this hotel and I have to say we haven't had such a good ski holiday before. The hotel is charming and the staff are all friendly, efficient and professional - although it should be as it is very expensive! The hotel is just at the bottom of the Face run (not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hpp63
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you very much for this great feedback about the hotel and more specifically about the staff. We sincerely appreciate your comments and we were pleased to have you among us during your ski holidays in the French Alps. Looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit in our mountains, Best regards, Valerie Boulenger General Manager Hotel...

Moscow
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

In short - the best skiing accommodation over the past 10 years. Location: In Val d'Isere, which is next to a glacier, so skiing is almost guaranteed. Close to ski lifts, definitely ski-out; not always ski-in, as only one particular slope goes past the hotel. 10 minutes walk to town centre, and good own shuttle service with MB Viano adapted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George G
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, A huge and warm thank you for your great message about our property. We were delighted to have you during the January winter holidays and to read you and your family had a nice moment during those 9 nights. Looking forward to welcoming you again Kind regards, Valérie Boulenger General Manager Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours ***** Chemin...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

A beautiful hotel with lovely bar area, kids area and very nice rooms. The staff are mostly very nice and friendly. Great location. What was a huge dissapointment (which our whole group agreed on) was the poor quality of the food. It was honestly not food I would usually spend €5 on let alone the €40something prices they charge. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley_Fairburn
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We acknowledge your feedback following your stay among us and are very sorry to read the quality of the food didn't meet your expectations. No doubt we will transmit those comments to the right services in order to make sure it won't happen again. If we have the pleasure to welcome you again, please don't hesitate to share...

Reviewed 17 December 2016

We had a 5 day stay in easter 2016. Excellent location. Excellent service and facilities. Rooms and restaurants (including the Michelin stared La Table de L'ours) were however not living up its piers. Ferme de Marie in Megeve will stay my favourite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Idamar
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your nice feedback following your stay among us. We are sorry to read our rooms and restaurants were not to your taste and can understand you have a preference for another style of properties. Remaining at your entire disposal, Sincerely yours, Valerie Boulenger General Manger Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours *****...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Fabulous hotel. Lovely staff. Complimentary pick up from ski runs in hotel BMW X5 4x4 Complimentary lifts to and from resort restaurants in hotel BMW 7 series. Lovely spa. Hotel restaurant ok but not fabulous. There are better options in town and for a Michelin star restaurant we were disappointed. Lovely hotel bar sometimes with live music. Almost ski in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redrated
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, The whole hotel team is very grateful for the review you wrote about our property. We are happy to read you've noticed and enjoyed the little services we put at our guests disposal. Believe it was our pleasure to host during your ski vacations. Hoping to welcome you very soon Our best regards, Mrs Valerie Boulenger General Manager...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
392 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#16 of 39 in Val d'Isere
106 reviews
0.4 km away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#6 of 39 in Val d'Isere
163 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
133 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#3 of 39 in Val d'Isere
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours

Address: les Carats, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Price Range: ₹ 29,205 - ₹ 1,49,348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Barmes De L'Ours France/Savoie
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
#9 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you don't want to pay the price of the superior room the standard was lovely to and as equally as spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 541alexm, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Panoramic view room”
 of 5 bubbles Meister88, 28 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Get a room or suite with a view of the Bellevarde Piste.. divine especially when Frostgun is on!”
 of 5 bubbles Titillator, 25 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Rooms above reception at the front of the hotel have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles topant1, 2 Jan 2013 | Read review
4 of 4