We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

About 4 KM away from Chamonix. Not the best hotels. Would prefer something closer to the city. The rooms are ok but in our case many things were not working. Would not recommend for a stay or to come back. There are better hotels in the heart of the city that would be nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek S
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Abishek, We thank you for your comment, and would really appreciate to have more information about the things that "were not working". We stay at your disposal if you need to contact us by phone or email, and will do our best to satisfy you during a future stay. Best regards,

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

On arrival(11.45am) we were told check in was at 4pm so we agreed to go away and come back later, returned at 5pm and room still wasn't ready so had to wait a little longer in seating area but not too long. Our room was lovely and very clean, nice big flat screen TV but not one English Channel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, Thank you very much for your comment, but we really feel sorry that your stay didn't fit to your attempts... If we had learned about the heat in your room, we would, for sure, have proposed to bring one (or even two) fan in your room. We have well noted your comments on our breakfast service, and are...

Dunakeszi, Hungary
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

we stayed 2 nights with half broad.the view is fantastic from the restaurant.try the Mont Blanc coctail!!!staff are very friendly!nice and good evrything!i recommend for evryone!comfortable bed and room and bathroom.and not so far from the center!or a.du nidi!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melhvt
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Melhvt, Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel!!! We'd love to welcome you again, so please, come back soon! Best regards,

carlisle England
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Took 4 nights booked 2 rooms, half pension, room was on first floor with a view over the dining room roof, but to the right, , a reasonable view of the mountains, rooms were very good, and soundproofed that is so important, so the main thing, 4 nights peaceful sleep, staff absolutely excellent apart from one problem, but firstly the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank exglobalagent
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Madame, dear Monsieur, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. During your future stay, do not hesitate to ask another playlist (we have a lot different ones, but try to fit to all our guests…) We hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon for another...

Israel
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights while we toured the area. I really want to emphasize the friendliness of all the staff at the hotel from the people manning the reception desk to the staff in the dining room everyone was wonderful and super helpful. We had a room with the most gorgeous view. The bed was extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabi H
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gabi H, Thank you so much for your appreciation regarding our staff, because we always try our best to content our guests and this really is appreciated to read that you liked us! You're right, our hotel is a the most peaceful place to rest in Chamonix, and the best place ever for a hike in the mountains or...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

All the staff were welcoming in particular Lydia who went out of her way to help us, she gave good advice on where to go and eat and even let us borrow her umbrella! The hotels itself is in a lovely location, has a nice little spa handy for after hiking. Close to the train and bus station

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avtar b
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Avtar b, Thank you so much for your comment! We hope we'll soon have the pleasure of welcoming you at the hotel for a future stay! Best regards,

North Jersey
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

I booked my room on short notice for $80/night. Driving up their narrow gravelly short driveway, which looked residential, with some construction, I was concerned. However, upon rounding the last curve, I saw the hotel and was very happy. It's a older style building and from the outside looked very well kept. Inside was very nice and modernized. The receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorJerseyDad
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Monsieur, Thank you so much for your nice review on our hotel, we'd really love to see you coming back for another stay in our hotel and spend another great time with you! For sure our rates change according to the season, but do not hesitate to call us for any request of availability, we may have some promotions...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived here at about 5pm and so have not done much more than eat dinner, sleep, and eat breakfast. The room feels smart and recently refurbished, indeed the whole hotel does. There was a sort of paint/new carpet smell in the room, but it was not a particular problem to us. The restaurant was bright and airy, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Graham, Why wouldn't you come back for a longer stay?? Do you know that we have a Pure Altitude Spa, with body and face treatments, a heated swimming pool during summer, and an indoor area with jacuzzi, sauna & steamroom? Our hotel is opened all year, and we'd love to welcome you again for a future stay in Chamonix,...

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for just the one night but could quite happily have been comfortable for longer. (Other plans on our trip meant we couldn't 😔) The hotel was lovely and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Bar was accessible and although not cheap, it was reasonable with great staff and selection of drinks. Breakfast offerings were fresh and plentiful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lianne C
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lianne, We would also very much appreciate to welcome you for another AND longer stay in our hotel! You're right, you often doubt when you arrive in Les Tines, it seems to be lost in the middle of nowhere, but this is why our guests choose us: to relax in a calm and silent area between Les Drus and...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Great hotel, used the pool and spa many years ago after climbing Mt Blanc. Went back with friends for a ski weekend. Good rooms decent shared areas and a breakfast that suited our needs and catered for any hangovers. service was efficient. Bus right outside for skiing areas. All in all a good place to stay without being OTT.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malplaquet
LouiseCEREZOLAHIANI, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Madame, dear Monsieur, You really have to come back in our hotel this winter!! Do not hesitate to call us before booking, because as a former guest you may have interesting rates! Best regards,

474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room with Terrace (67)
Viewed
Family Room (58)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
4.6 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 76 in Chamonix
961 reviews
4.1 km away
Mercure Chamonix Centre Hotel
4.1 km away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#3 of 76 in Chamonix
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 76 in Chamonix
753 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#2 of 76 in Chamonix
321 reviews
4.8 km away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#12 of 76 in Chamonix
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its early 20th century architecture, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel Restaurant & Spa is just over 1.6 kilometers from the La Flegere ski slopes. It offers an outdoor swimming pool and panoramic views of the Mont Blanc mountain range. The guest rooms are modern, with a simple design. All rooms are equipped with private bathrooms and a Wi-Fi Internet connection. The on-site restaurant serves breakfast every morning and French cuisine every evening. From the train station of Le Fayet or Chamonix, a shuttle service can be organized to the hotel with prior request. A bus which goes to Les Praz, Argentiere et Le Brevent ski resorts has a station next to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa

Address: 251 Chemin de Saint Roch, 74400, Chamonix, France (Formerly Hotel Excelsior)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Price Range: ₹ 5,873 - ₹ 20,810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#11 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They all looked good to us”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“South facing for the best view”
 of 5 bubbles ChamonixTransfers, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for a mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles MarkandBJ, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go to other hotell if you can, rooms suck”
 of 5 bubbles frodes739, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure that the room your reserved is actually the one (type) which will be offered to you following your arrival.”
 of 5 bubbles Guest_Incognito, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay