We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel d'Europe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel d\\
Hotel d'Europe
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 541: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel d'Europe
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel d'Europe gives you a touch of rural France once you step into their door. The décor gives you a nostalgic feeling. It is a little bit away from the city centre but I prefer the location to be quiet and relaxing. We hope to be back again in the future

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George K
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear George, Thank you for sharing with us your kind words regarding your experience at Hotel d'Europe. I am very happy that you were satisfied by your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back again soon to Avignon. Sincerely, Marie-Pierre Ghirardini General Manager

Irvine, CA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a standard room and it was large enough to be comfortable for 5 days. Not exactly a suite, but the bathroom, toilette & closet were along a hallway outside the bedroom, so it was sufficiently roomy. However, because the shutters were closed from the outside and couldn't be opened, it was very dark in the room. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunhams
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Dunhams, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Hotel d'Europe. I am very happy that you were satisfied by the hotel location and our helpful staff but I am sorry to read about your disappointment regarding your room. Our reception team will be more than happy to help you by choosing a room...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

It has all the olde world charm and comfort, and is centrally located v close to Place de L' Horloge. The breakfast is definitely not worth the price. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigu66
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Hotel d'Europe. I am very happy that you were satisfied by your experience in our hotel. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon to Avignon. Sincerely, Marie-Pierre Ghirardini General Manager

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Even though Hotel d'Europe, is slightly off from the center on the edge of the old city walls, it still offers easy 5-7 minutes walk to the center of the town with various boutique shops along the way. Very enjoyable and elegant and yet without window views from room. The hotel is definitely upscale and not for value travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank From_Bean_Town
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Marie-Pierre Ghirardini General Manager

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Staff very professional and helpful but room is overlooking the atrium was very depressing. Toilet was too far from wash basin especially at night in the dark. Michelin starred restaurant was closed for two weeks and this covered our stay. Very disappointed. Location ideal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Pam, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Hotel d'Europe. I am very happy that you were satisfied by the hotel location and staff but I am sorry to read about your disappointment regarding your room and the restaurant closing. Please believe that your comments will be really used to offer to our...

Reviewed 26 December 2016

Lovely hotel with a wonderful staff. Several delicious restaurants across the street. It's very central. You can walk anywhere in the old walled city in a few minutes. The main shopping street is just a block or two away. The staff was great with recommendations and helping us arrange transportation. Everyone's English was wonderful which is good because my French...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KDobi
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback further to your recent stay at Hotel d'Europe. It was a pleasure to read your kind words about the hotel, the service provided by our staff as well as the central location. I sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel d'Europe. Sincerely, Marie-Pierre Ghirardini Hotel...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

More expensive than other more well located hotels, and other than a beautiful building and decor, not worth it. We had looked at several hotels closer to the main square of Horlage and regretted not staying there this November. Perhaps in the busy season it is better. But in November it was remote and we kept returning to the horlage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doby47
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for taking the time to share your impressions further to your recent visit at the Hotel d'Europe. I deeply regret to read about your disappointment, as this is not reflecting the way we usually welcome guests and the high standards of quality we set ourselves. I hope to see you soon again in Avignon to...

Buena Park, California
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Charming & beautiful. Staff and hotel is impeccable. When I imagined Provence I had a picture in my mind. Hotel d'Europe lived up to all my dreams and more. I walked within the walls of the city and this is the BEST hotel in the area. Breakfast was delicious too. Read up on the history of the hotel before staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank broker40
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with us your kind words regarding your experience in Avignon. I am very happy that you were satisfied by the service as well as the location of the hotel. I hope to welcome you back again soon to Hotel d'Europe. Thank you and... Thank you Again. Sincerely, Marie-Pierre Ghirardini General Manager

Prescott, Arizona
Reviewed 14 November 2016

A woman traveling alone, I chose the Hotel D'Europe because I felt it would be a nice quiet place to have a rest, as well as base from which to get a good feel for the City of the Popes. When I visit a foreign destination I am always interested in how its inhabitants actually live, so a centrally located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma01
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for sharing with us your kind words regarding your experience in Avignon. I am very happy that you were satisfied by the service as well as the location of the hotel. I hope to welcome you back again soon to Hotel d'Europe. Sincerely, Marie-Pierre Ghirardini General Manager

usa
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Fantastic hotel and staff was the nicest we’ve ever encountered. It’s clear that they take pride in running this historic hotel and want your experience in Avignon to be great. Breakfast was excellent too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tordonk
Heuropean, Directeur général at Hotel d'Europe, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing with us your kind words regarding your experience at Hotel d'Europe. I am very happy that you were satisfied by our staff as well as the breakfast. I hope to welcome you back again soon to Provence. Sincerely, Marie-Pierre Ghirardini General Manager

648 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (159)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Prestige Double Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Suite (47)
Viewed
Suite with Terrace (70)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
1,352 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
719 reviews
0.4 km away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
876 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Avignon Centre
0.3 km away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A magnificent 16th century, completely re-modeled in the 18th, and continually modernized since then, the Hotel d'Europe is one of the oldest hotels in France. It occupies an ideal location at the centre of Avignon. In this timeless place, our hospitality is offered discretely and with warmth by a loyal and dedicated team. Its 39 rooms and 5 suites, decorated luxuriously but simply, offer exceptional comfort. La Vieille Fontaine restaurant is idyllic. Its beautiful shaded terrace and elegant dining room are the perfect settings for enjoying fine dining and famous cuisine. Just two steps from the Popes' Palace, the Hotel d'Europe is also located only 50 yards from the entrance through the ancient city walls. This central location is also the ideal starting point for your visit to Provence. From Avignon, it is easy to explore and discover this magical region. Our experienced Tourist hostess offers unique tours, from Orange through the Gard to Marseille, the Luberon, Aix-en-Provence, or Châteauneuf-du-Pape. Legend has it that a stay at the Hotel d'Europe is unforgettable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel d'Europe

Address: 12 Place Crillon, 84000, Avignon, France
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Price Range: ₹ 15,493 - ₹ 41,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Europe 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Europe
d Europe Hotel Avignon
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avignon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
#5 Family Hotel in Avignon
#8 Business Hotel in Avignon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel d'Europe staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel d'Europe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“entire hotel seemed very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles winetravelers2014, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure about location of rooms. They all seem to be equally good and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles tenaciousjhm, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view of the Place Crillon.”
 of 5 bubbles DinaColumbus_NC, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask if a free upgrade is available”
 of 5 bubbles Dadiad2016, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Inside courtyard rooms are quietest. Best views are top floor penthouse rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles TheDotdog, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5