We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Reine Mathilde

TripAdvisorUS$ 97*
View Deal
#3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
07/06/2017 08/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 171*
US$ 97*
US$ 171*
US$ 97*
US$ 171*
US$ 97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Reine Mathilde
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Reine Mathilde
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,062: English reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Aussie couple who booked for one night on a road trip around France. Fantastic value for money in the low season. Comfortable room with modern features. Great location across from Notre Dame Church and very close to Bayeux tapestry, and a quick drive to Omaha beach. Breakfast buffet with many food options. Would recommend to friends and a lovely town....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren D
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Dear Lauren D, Thank you for your great comment left on tripadvisor. It's with pleasure that we noticed you enjoyed your stay with us. Effectively our location is perfect right across Notre Dame Church, the Tapestry and so on. We would be pleased to see you again, Barbara

Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We usually write to the prospective hotels before booking them. We ask a simple question, such as if they can recommend any tours or if they have an elevator. If they don’t respond, we send them a second question request, if they still don’t respond, we look for another place to stay. The reason we do this is to test...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank K-C N
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Dear K-C N, Thank you for all your words you left about our establishement. It's a pleasure to see you enjoyed your stay. If our guests request something, we have to respond him/her since our clients' satisfaction is one of our priorities. We always try to reply your requests as soon as possible. We are pleased to notice you enjoyed...

Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed overnight as we were on a short weekend break to see some of the historic sights and do some Christmas shopping. Hotel and rooms were well presented and great value for money. Best of all was the staff who were cheerful and very helpful. We arrived early in the morning and decided to have breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave1805
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Dear Dave1805, This is with pleasure that we read your nice words you took the trouble to write. One of our priorities is to satisfy our clients and we are really glad to notice it was the case for you. Effectively we always try to put in a room that is ready when you check-in early, we know our guests...

Rosanky, Texas
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I had booked this hotel well in advance asking for a room in the main hotel building with a cathedral view for our daughter and a room in the annex with ground floor entrance for my husband and me. When we arrived, the main building was under renovation so the requested room for my daughter was unavailable and the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank subchaser744
Natanya
Reviewed 7 December 2015

The hotel is well located just off the main shopping street and 5 minutes picturesque walk to the Bayeux Tapestry Museum. Parking was convenient. The staff were always available and attentive. Room was not large but comfortable but up flights of narrow stairs. We ate a tasty dinner at the restaurant and then enjoyed the hotel's fresh and plentiful buffet...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShiraNatanya
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Dear ShiraNatanya, The whole team thank you for your great comment left on tripadvisor. We always want to satisfy our clients and it's a pleasure to notice you enjoyed your stay. Effectively, closed parkings are convenient. We are glad you enjoyed our "fresh and plentiful buffet breakfast". We would be pleased to receive you back again, Kind regards, Barbara

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

A single overnight stay, but everything was good. Value, comfort, location and breakfast. Worth the stay. Easy to walk to everything and short drives to various historic sites. We will definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank EGTV
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Dear EGTV, We all thank you for your lovely comment you took time to share. It's a high pleasure to notice you loved your stay and that you will come back. We would be pleased to see you again, Barbara

Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We had a wonderful stay at this terrific hotel - clearly a 4 star hotel -clean, very comfortable with staff that really appreciates you as a guest. Restaurant is by far one of the best locally with a varied menu and reasonable prices. Most important is the location - close to all you'd want to see and visit. This is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Dear Edward, Thank you very much for having taken time to write about your impressions regarding your stay. Your satisfaction is our most beautiful award. Thank you again, and hoping to welcome you next time in Normandie! Kind regards, Anne-Claire

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 December 2015

I booked this hotel on line basing my choice on previous reviews, I was not disappointed. The receptionist booked me in and insisted on taking my luggage to my room, (I have a pronounced limp) despite my protest as she was a girl young enough to be my great grand daughter. The room was immaculate, yes the shower room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pencoch40
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Dear guest, All the team thanks you for your nice comment. Your satisfaction is for us the best of the awards. Hoping to receive you again. Kind regards, Anne-Claire

Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Reine Mathilde. Super location just a short walk from the train station, right down the street from the Cathedral and near the Tapestry. Our room and our bathroom were really large and spacious, the largest we'd had throughout our trip through Europe. We would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nudawn
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Bonjour, Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay at the hotel Reine Mathilde! We are plesed to know that you enjoyed the situation of our establishment, as well as the space of your room and the bathroom. We would be glad to receive you again in the future. Kind regards, Anne-Claire

Belfast
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Hotel Reine Mathilde is a very nice small hotel right in the middle of Bayeux within easy walking distance of all the main sites of interest. The dinner was very good. The staff were particularly pleasant: friendly and helpful. The bedroom wasn't big but suited our requirements perfectly well and the prices were very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E69MCjanem
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review

Dear E69MCjanem, Thank you for your lovely comment left on tripadvisor. We are really happy to notice you enjoyed your stay with us. Effectively Hotel Reine Mathilde is in the middle of the center and not far from the interest sites. We would be pleased to receive you again, Kind regards, Barbara

362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (79)
Viewed
Ingrid Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (11)
Viewed
Wilfrid Room (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/06/2017 08/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,115 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,217 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,247 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
661 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Price Range: ₹ 4,852 - ₹ 10,646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#3 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Reine Mathilde staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Reine Mathilde staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't see rooms in main hotel. Annex where we were, you would want upper floor for any privacy because rooms are off a public walkway.”
FoodMonger_13, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the street can be noisy at night”
ttif3170, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Annex room we had was very nice, just a few stairs in that building.”
robin02907, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Never experience a bad room.”
tsc0tta, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Annex, as it has air conditioning.”
RickLRoberts, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 97* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 97
Agoda.comUS$ 97
PricelineUS$ 171
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates