We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel du Cheval Rouge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 171: English reviews
London, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights while visiting friends in the next town. It was a lovely, quaint hotel near to restaurants, bars, shopping, the Palace and the markets. It was wonderful to stroll about the markets, stop at the cafes and enjoy some delicious meals. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The wifi worked well and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATourist_13
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello What a wonderful comment to read! Unfortunately we don't have any English channels, sorry about that. Not all of our superior rooms have the kitchenette option (for other readers' info). I'm glad you enjoyed it! It is a cultural difference not to have restaurants serving breakfast, and unfortunate :-) Thank you for taking the time to comment and we...

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Historic hotel in a great area with lots of restaurants, bars, market, etc. We were here to see the castle, the town and spend a day in Paris. The hotel is very comfortable and the breakfast was good. Soft boiled eggs were available but sometimes you had to ask or wait a bit for them to come out. Upon arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your kind comment and I'm glad you had a good stay. We prefer to offer hard-boiled eggs on demand for our guests to avoid them cooling off too long :) They need a couple of minutes to cook. Thank you also for mentioning easy access to our parking despite the animated market place! It is very...

Hull
Reviewed 6 October 2016

My wife and I stayed here one night on 5th October. The hotel is a very historic building, and was very conveniently situated for a visit to the Chateau although a 5 minute walk is probably only possible if your name is Usain Bolt. Staff (including Camille on reception) were all helpful and friendly. The room although reasonably sized and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Broughies
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for taking the time to comment the hotel. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable and hope to freshen up our rooms little by little. Happy to have personally been of help to you and hope to see you in the near future again! Best, Camilla.

East Leake
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Chosen for proximity to the Palace of Versailles which was a 15 minute walk away. Secure car parking. Room small and a bit outdated but location made up for this. Staff on reception very friendly and helpful. Lots of restaurants to choose from around a market square just outside hotel. Nice walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivr50
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your kind comment. I'm glad we were of help and that you made the most of our surroundings. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best, Camilla.

Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This is a great little hotel in the middle of Versailles. Small rooms, but all clean and well equipped, and in any case you come to this hotel from which to explore one of France's most iconic towns and of course the Chateau de Versailles - which is a 5 minute walk away. The hotel has a car park, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for this nice comment and taking the time to type it. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future! Best, Camilla

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a brilliant location. The reception staff friendly and helpful. The room had lovely voiles and curtains and the bed was comfy with lovely crisp sheets, however, the carpets need replacing and the bathroom was poor. The shower cubicle was mouldy round the door frame and needed re siliconing. As for the towels they were very poor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanfairyann
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your honnest comment mentioning the strong and weak points of our hotel. We will get in touch with the concerned housekeeping department concerning your bathroom issue as this is NOT acceptable. I will transmit your opinion on the towels also, some may be indeed a little tired. We hope to satisfy you better during your next...

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed 2 nights at Cheval Rouge and were very satisfied based on the criteria we chose the hotel ie excellent location for Versailles and safe hotel courtyard parking and close proximity to RER which took us quickly into Paris. Reception were very helpful. Room was as we expected and according to pictures. Noticeable squeaky floorboards which is a it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lonan K
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your nice comment and for understanding our squeaky floorboards in our bigger rooms. Glad your stay was such a delight. We hope to see you in the near future! Best, Camilla.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We recently returned from a fabulous trip to France. We were staying 2 nights here to visit Paris and Versailles On arrival we were greeted by 2 rooms which were more like a poor university hall of residence. Pubic hair in the bath incredibly shabby and one room smelled terrible. We went out! Later we asked to change rooms. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to comment. However, we are puzzled by your review. If you did not reserve directly through us or through our website we are unable to make any commercial gestures for our guests for commission reasons. Meaning the 1 night uncharged was exceptional. We will speak to the concerned receptionist you mention as our...

Rijnsburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is perfect located on walking distance to the palais of Versailles. There are just around the corner on the square many lovely restaurant, from authentic French resaurants till pizzeria's. There is a guarded parking area at the hotel. To go to Paris it is very easy to go by train. The train station in Versailles is at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frits S
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to comment. Our location is very centered and ideal; for visits within Versailles and in Paris. There are 3 train stations around our hotel. One indeed, goes to Montparnasse, another to St Michel & Eiffel Tower for example, and the third brings you to the "Galeries Lafayette". I'm glad you enjoyed everything surrounding...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Good basic rooms ,around the parking courtyard. Clean and quiet. Breakfast buffet style and good choices.Big bonus free secure parking .We stayed 3 nights and did not use our car at all. Easy to walk to the Palace. Many restaurants in the vicinity Also excellent market nearby all in all very convenient for a short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking some of your time to comment. I'm glad your stay with us went smoothly. In Versailles an included car park is a big advantage! Hopefully we'll be welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Camilla

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
388 reviews
0.6 km away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#9 of 26 in Versailles
295 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
0.7 km away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#8 of 26 in Versailles
781 reviews
0.6 km away
Pullman Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
By staying at the Hôtel du Cheval Rouge you enter into the rich history of Versailles and its Château. Built in 1676, the Cheval Rouge was originally Louis XIV's livery. Since then, the Cheval Rouge has kept up this tradition of hospitality, with friendly service and 40 newly renovated rooms that will make your trip to Versailles restful and enjoyable. At a 5 minutes' walk from the Château, the Cheval Rouge is conveniently located between the three train stations serving Paris. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Cheval Rouge

Address: 18 rue Andre Chenier | 18 rue André Chénier, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Price Range: ₹ 6,493 - ₹ 10,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Cheval Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Rouge Versailles
Le Cheval Rouge Hotel Versailles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Cheval Rouge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Cheval Rouge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the main floor as we both had mobility issues. I don't believe there is an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles ATourist_13, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room overlooking the car park but it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Vivr50, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for a superior room worth the extra charge for space .”
 of 5 bubbles PatG260, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Inner courtyard may be quieter than street side room”
 of 5 bubbles HMCAF, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Cour rooms are nice and quite, not sure about the main building ones”
 of 5 bubbles aa27, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay