We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Le d'Avaugour

TripAdvisorUS$ 215*
View Deal
#9 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 215*
US$ 215*
US$ 215*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Le d\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Le d'Avaugour
 Click to rate
Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My room was quite spacious and though somewhat dated it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served in a pleasant room. If you walk to the end of the gardens you will enjoy some lovely views of Dinan. The receptionist Elodi spoke perfect English and was exceptionally kind and helpful. My biggest criticism is no ventilation in the room...stifling though...

Thank Felice3
Nicolas C, Owner at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Dear Phyllis, Thank you very much for your nice review, Since 20 years I manage the hotel many guests ask me some eating during this period of the year. So I am surprised when you ask me a fan for your room because it was too hot. In France in the houses or hotel, the legal temperature is around 19...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We enjoyed our brief stay in Dinan, and this hotel made walking all over town quite easy. Room was clean, though dated. Bathroom was a dreary sea of green tile, but clean. No air conditioning meant open windows, so street noise was an issue. (We were on the front side.) For some reason, very few electrical outlets in our room...

Thank erchurch
Nicolas C, Owner at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Dear Madam and Mr CHURCH, Thank you for your review , I think you did not chck correctly concerning the electricity, because near your bed you have 3 possibility for the plugs, and also 3 others near the console . In the bath room you have an hair dryer and theplug is for razors. Concerning the noise, you had a...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We booked for one night not sure what to expect and ended up staying for two. The town is absolutely beautiful and this hotel is the perfect place to stay to experience the wonders of Dinan. Even our puppy enjoyed they stay here. The staff bend over backwards to help and the offer of champagne and cheeses watching the sun...

Thank Grant W
Nicolas C, Gérant at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Dear Grant, Thank you so much for your review. The feed Back of the stay is so important to my team and myself. All the employes in the hotel try to give an excellent service for all the guests, so next time I will buy the best cheeses I know to eat on the tower in the garden. Thank you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Meandering garden with a 180 degree view of the walled city . Whilst the decor is dated , it's a great value hotel in a brilliant location with lovely helpful staff . We extended our stay , and suggest ordering wine and cheese late afternoon in the gardens . What a memorable day .

Thank Kerry W
Nicolas C, Owner at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, Thank you so much for your review. The feed Back of the stay is so important to my team and myself. All my team in the hotel try to give an excellent service for all the guests, so next time I will buy the best cheeses I know to eat with Monsieur on the tower in the garden....

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in September. This is not a 4 star hotel. The location is in the town center and it does have a nice back patio area but the rooms are small and need updating. The woman in charge of the morning breakfast needs hospitality training. She never smiled and made us feel like she was doing us...

Thank awcjaj
Nicolas C, Propriétaire at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Madame, Monsieur Very sorry for the morning welcome for breakfast, you were diapointed about the room size unfortunately for you, we have 4 stars with the legal french administration. They are all over sized than requested. The garden is so important for our guest and we do have bigger room overlooking this one. Next stay , please book these rooms....

Orange County, California
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This hotel was a major disappointment! There is no parking to unload luggage and nobody available to help. The 'lift' will hold one person with a small bag. The hallways were full of old furniture and had a foul smell. The rooms were awful - in need of updating, dark and dirty. A broken TV and a portable fan on...

Thank Jerry940
Nicolas C, Propriétaire at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Very sorry for your review but after checking the guest list, you never stay in the hotel and you did not have any invoice from the reception. If I remember I think you left the hotel at the checkin Lying is not correct Also I WRITE MY NAME and your review is from Jerry 940, what does that mean!!!! do...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The location of this hotel was excellent and the gardens at the back of the hotel a delight. Thank you to reception staff who were especially kind and helpful. However the room was poor. The noise was a particular problem with the room thumping with the noise of the exhaust fan which was centrally controlled and not turned off until...

1Thank JDLOA
Nicolas C, Propriétaire at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Madam, Monsieur, Very sorry about your stay in the d'AVAUGOUR for just one night, it is a pity you did not ask to change room at your check in. We hope to welcome you and we will show you other type of rooms Thank you for your stay with BACKROADS AUSTRALIA Best regards Nicolas CARON Manager Owner

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

considering it is a 4* , it was a big disappointing, the decor was lovely in the foyer , however the room was very basic , there was no tea of coffee facilities or even a iron which as basic items I would expect. We had to sleep with the window open as the room was very warm however they...

3Thank paulinequenault
Nicolas C, Propriétaire at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Dear Madame, Thank you for your review, I am sure you did not read the last one on Trip Advisor I am so surprised to see you stay one night and we do have very nice and positive reviews for a week stay. You have to know we do have a bar at the hotel and Coffee and tea facilities...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Nicolas and his staff are amazing, they go out of their way to assist you. rooms are clean, breakfast buffet is delicious, the French bread = the best! location fantastic. we were there for the Medieval Festival and we could just step out of the hotel and be part of it. I loved the tranquillity of the garden to recharge...

Thank Doris B
Nicolas C, Propriétaire at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Dear DORIS, I thank you very much for your nice review describing your week stay in the hotel Le D'AVAUGOUR. I am very happy to see you spent nice time in my hotel, and you were pleased to stay in a nice room, with a good service at the reception, a quick service in the bar , an excellent buffet...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel in the heart of the wonderful medieval town of Dinan. There's lots to see here and you can do it all from this welcoming city centre base. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and they speak English for those who struggle with the French language. Watch out for the special offers on the room...

Thank Carl Y
Nicolas C, Propriétaire at Hotel Le d'Avaugour, responded to this review

Dear Carl, Thank you so much for the nice review in the TRIP ADVISOR website. I was very happy to welcome you and I saw you spent nice time in the D'AVAUGOUR. That is true, we have some times special discount for smaller rooms but the best one are with the nicest view in Dinan the medieval remparts. Do not...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (30)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
View from Room (4)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (27)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Dining (1)
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#2 of 16 in Dinan
600 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel le Challonge
Hotel le Challonge
#5 of 16 in Dinan
367 reviews
0.9 km away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#1 of 16 in Dinan
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
419 reviews
0.4 km away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
0.7 km away
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Le d'Avaugour**** is in the heart of Dinan, in a historic stone townhouse set on the town ramparts. It offers charming rooms and suites fitted with all modern comforts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Le d'Avaugour

Address: 1 Place du Champ clos, 22100, Dinan, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Price Range: ₹ 11,280 - ₹ 20,681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le d'Avaugour 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le d'Avaugour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le d Avaugour
Le d Avaugour Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Le d'Avaugour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose garden view, it's more quiet”
dorisb704, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms overlook the gardens but they are all good value.”
761helenb, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back and enjoy peace. Traffic noise is completely absorbed by the heavy old stonework!”
RickW419, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top floor facing the market square or any of the rooms over the courtyard”
, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlook the garden.”
AmandaJAust, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 215* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 215
PricelineUS$ 215
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates