We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,208: English reviews
GRIMSBY
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Family wedding - supportive staff - good rooms with comfortable beds - meals very good - hotel close to Piccadilly railway station - car parking at the rear of the hotel - payment is extra but for secure city centre location not unreasonable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PHILIP H
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear PHILLIP H, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the hotel. Your positive feedback relating to our fantastic team here is much appreciated and I will ensure your comments are relayed to them. As you mention we are in a key location in Manchester, close to Manchester Piccadilly station but also only a short walk into...

Tung Chung, Lantau Island, Hong Kong
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We found ourselves in Manchester for a week, with my wife needing to attend a workshop at Manchester Business School. They subsidised our stay in the Macdonald Manchester Hotel on London Road. Despite our initial worries about staying in what we thought might be yet another a cheapy, typically-English (Fawlty Towers-esque) hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul H, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to deliver beyond your expectations. Whilst not only are we the biggest hotel in terms of room capacity in the city we also have some of the biggest rooms, with our...

Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Came here to test out the food for our sixth form prom in July and the food we were served was sensational. Despite us only having one starter, main and dessert between 5 of us, the Chefs in Scottish Steakhouse made sure the food was to top quality - and that it was. The service was second-to-none too. Gemma Rathmill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily O
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lily O, Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel. Your positive comments in relation to the food and team at the hotel are very much appreciated and I will ensure this is relayed to them. Gemma is a valued member of our team and I'm sure she will be delighted when she hears of...

Walsall
Reviewed 8 April 2016

No value for money, even toilet roll ran out as there was only less than half a roll I was staying in a exec room and there was nothing complimentary not even water. Went to the spa and they tried to charge extra for us to use the spa.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabonas
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rabonas, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay and that you ran out of toilet roll. Hopefully this was reported to the team so that they could bring you a new roll. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind Regards Alan Shaw

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We booked an executive room for our anniversary. We were late to dinner an rushed to get ready and noticed that the shower was broken. We rang the lobby, informed them of the problem, upon leaving the room we told them that the room was now empty for repair. We returned and no repair was done. When we woke up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard O
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gerard, Thank you for your review. We have made contact directly to attain more information on your concerns. Kind Regards Alan Shaw

Diss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

This was a four day stay whilst attending a residential course run by Manchester University (less than 5 minutes from the hotel) and as such only 'basic' accommodation was provided. Not that the rooms were any less than expected, rather the service was disappointing. It was almost as though the hotel knew you had no choice in accommodation, therefore other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter237
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear globetrotter237, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. Your positive feedback in relation to our food offering at the hotel is very much appreciated and I will ensure the Chef and his kitchen brigade are made aware of your kind comments. I'm disappointed you felt the check in process wasn't great and can...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I arrived at 17:45, the queue at reception took time, there were only two people working. My room was ok, but I expected to be higher in the building as this hotel is next to Mancunian way and I requested a quiet room. The remote control was unclean (with lumps), my mini fridge also featured lumps, my wardrobe door didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 878gbc
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 878gbc, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay and in particular the cleanliness of your room. Typically at our hotel we receive fantastic feedback regarding our cleanliness and I will ensure your comments are discussed at length with the Executive Housekeeper. As the biggest hotel...

Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

I was very dissapointed with my stay at Manchester I am a fan of the chain and have stayed in them in other cities however this one is not as good standard. I stayed here for 3 nights, the location is excellent however the rooms are tired and could do with some tlc excluding the gym and equipment. My room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachael2306
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rachael2306, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. As you have mentioned the hotel is in a key location close to Manchester Piccadilly train station but also only a short walk into the city centre itself. I'm pleased that our location supported your needs during you stay. I'm sorry you were disappointed with...

Liverpool
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Just the place to stay in Manchester: Clean, big rooms, great food and lovey, welcoming staff. Highly recommended. If one is to use the car park, should get the code for it as as it's not the same of the hotel and it's quite impossible if one uses the hotel area code.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool555
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Liverpool-OneGuy, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and as you have rightly stated we do have large rooms in the hotel. In fact we have some of the biggest rooms in Manchester which is consistent across the hotel. The postcode for the Car Park is...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

The room was ok, a bit dated but acceptable compared to some hotels of a similar category /age. The bathroom was quite large and looks clean. The BIG issue here is the tented tramp camp opposite, playing loud music all night. Considering that the hotel knows the camp is there they shouldn't be booking rooms directly opposite given the obvious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emjtbex
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Emijtbex, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester. The tented area across the road is something that we work with Manchester City Council, Greater Manchester Police and The University, to whom own the land, on a daily basis to come to an agreeable resolution. Our guests understanding is very...

921 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (718)
Viewed
Room/Suite (204)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (70)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (335)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (164)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (31)
Viewed
Feature Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Suite (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
1.0 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#16 of 118 in Manchester
4,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 118 in Manchester
2,222 reviews
0.5 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#11 of 118 in Manchester
1,633 reviews
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 6,754 - ₹ 15,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#19 Business Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#43 Family Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room and the beds were excellent my one complaint would be the lifts !!! Very very slow!”
 of 5 bubbles 421tinae, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try the steak house restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles FoodiePhil101, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed 3rd floor roadside which was OK.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinH520, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have a high room overlooking the station.”
 of 5 bubbles GlynisC822, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the front with a better view”
  • “Double Classic” room
  • “Double Classic” room en suit
  • View out to front from “Double Classic” room
  • “Double Classic” room en suit
 of 5 bubbles MaffUK, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay