We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Traveller (1088)
Room & Suite (489)
Dining (59)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Business
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
99Great for walkers
Grade: 99 out of 100
42Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
9Attractionswithin 0.5 km
6,684Reviews
1,286Photos
77Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,565
  • 2,160
  • 1,091
  • 512
  • 356
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
We stayed here for one night and after I booked I read the reviews that others had written I was thinking should I cancel or not but decided to go ahead with the booking. I had looked up the price of car parking and was astonished to see the hotel car park is £25 a night. My
Read more
Response from RelationsManagerMCR, Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Responded today
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate the four star review! Your kind words will be passed on to the team who I am sure will be thrilled. Unfortunately we do charge for our secure car parking, due to the limited amount of spaces we have, this is something we have to do. We do carry out regular price checks to ensure we remain competitive with other hotels. These prices are also advertised on all booking channels and on our website. I appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast and will be investigating this personally. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the city of Manchester in the near future! Kind Regards Steven Hayes Hotel Manager
Read more
Have stayed here a number of times over the last few years. My latest stay will be my last. The cleanliness was terrible. Even when I made a complaint to the front desk it was ignored. Bed linens were not clean and not replaced despite 2 requests. I would have normally really
Read more
Response from RelationsManagerMCR, Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Responded today
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa. I am extremely disappointed we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and I really do appreciate the feedback. As a returning guest I am sure you agree this is not the normal standard. We have an ongoing refurbishment plan in place at the hotel with all work prioritised accordingly, as you can imagine this can be rather costly and timely. This however does not excuse the poor housekeeping and I will be addressing this personally with the Executive Housekeeper. I hope you do choose to return in the future as would love the opportunity to rebuild your confidence with the hotel. Kind Regards Steven Hayes Hotel Manager
Read more
We booked a two night b&b stay with our Tesco Clubcard. The room was comfortable and clean but felt very 'old' and not what we expected for the price of the room. On arrival at 2pm our room was ready but had a pile of dirty plates and half eaten food beside the door in the
Read more
Response from RelationsManagerMCR, Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Responded today
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa. Delivering the highest standards of service to all our guests is at the heart of our core values. As a Company, we always welcome feedback both positive and negative as this allows us to assess whether our guest’s expectations have been met, and would like to thank you for assisting. I am sorry for the disturbance caused by the fire alarm. As you will no doubt appreciate these things are out of our direct control and that the safety and security of our guests is always our number one priority. I am happy to report that all was safe in the building and the alarm sounded due to issues caused by another guest. Our next greatest mission is for our guests to enjoy a comfortable and peaceful stay which unfortunately this circumstance made this difficult, we again apologise I am disapointed to hear about the missing bathroom items in the room and will be speaking with the housekeeping team to ensure measures are put in place to ensure these are not missed going forward. I really do hope you choose to return in the future as would love the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel and the team. Once again thank you for the information provided. Kind Regards Steven Hayes Hotel Manager
Read more
We have stopped at this hotel many times and always been really impressed , unfortunately on this occasion we feel standards had slipped somewhat , the room looked tired, there were nail clippings on the carpet , toilet seat not cleaned, fixtures in room just looked tired and
Read more
Response from RelationsManagerMCR, Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Responded today
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa. Delivering the highest standards of service to all our guests is at the heart of our core values. As a Company, we always welcome feedback both positive and negative as this allows us to assess whether our guest’s expectations have been met, and would like to thank you for assisting. As a returning guest I am sure you know this is not the normal standard and the feedback will be investigated accordingly. As it simply is not acceptable and improvements will be made through additional training and support. I am a little confused with the lift not being in service as this has been fully operational over the last few months. I really do hope you choose to return in the future as would love to rebuild your confidence with the hotel and the team. Also please always remember if you do have any problems during your stay a member of the team is always on hand to assist. Once again thank you for the feedback. Kind Regards Steven Hayes Hotel Manager
Read more
I spent the afternoon at the spa with 4 girlfriends and this was a real disappointment. My friends had booked with an online voucher deal but I paid on the day. Which was more expensive than any of the prices advertised on the hotel website. The spa is tiny. The changing rooms
Read more
Response from RelationsManagerMCR, Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Responded today
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your spa day with us at Macdonald Manchester. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is most useful and will be reviewed in the next management meeting. Unfortunately we do not have a pool or jacuzzi, nor do we claim to have them on any booking channel. I will however recommend this to my peers in our next meeting. I am a little confused in regards to the slippers as we issue all guests with a robe, towel and set of slippers. I sincerely apologise if these were missed during your stay as this is not acceptable. I really do hope this has not deterred you from returning in the future. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Steven Hayes Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
The Suite at the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
The Classic Double Room at the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMacdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
The Feature Suite at the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Nice comfy big bed
Шкаф с сейфом и утюгом для брюк
PreviousNext
12345698
Check in was 3pm, but because we had paid for a package which was a deep tissue back massage we was also allowed to use the steam room and sauna free of charge. Otherwise this has an extra charge of £10 per person. The massage wasn't worth the extra money and the sauna wouldn't be worth the extra £10 either. You can book on the day for treatments depending on availability, but people was being herded around like cattle so maybe book in advance. Describing itself as a spa quite frankly made us giggle at the end. The hotel is clean and the food was acceptable. The staff was rude and abrupt. My advice is to try a spa, that is not an hotel with a couple of treatment rooms and a sauna calling itself a spa. good luck
0 votes
Show all answers
Does the room have an iron?
Yes plus tea coffee etc
1 vote
Show all answers
The hotel has a car park in the grounds...Not sure the rate but must be cheaper than any other car park.. Also the hotel has character and is well situated for walking into town.. You get what you pay for...
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345616
"get a room away from the lifts"
"Better views from rooms at the front of the hotel"
"all rooms are about the same"
"Customer Service is poor to say the least"
"254, 454 etc are large family rooms. Also Breakfast might be an extra."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 95 - US$ 254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald manchester hotel manchestermacdonald manchester hotel and spamacdonald hotel manchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
338
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing