We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbey Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of Abbey Lodge
 Click to rate
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed here on New Years Eve , beautiful bedroom - immaculate. The owner welcomed us and we were told there was no rush to leave the next day after New Year celebrations - breakfast was help yourself on this special morning but was really lovely with a good selection of cereal, yoghurt and fruit etc. It was a lovely touch...

Thank Sandra G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed for one night on Saturday and although we arrived late, we were welcomed in by Heather and she made us feel comfortable straight away. Room was immaculate and had everything we could ask for, breakfast was very good even though we woke up late so couldn't enjoy the full compliments! Would highly recommend and will be staying here again...

Thank matthewafrancis
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely and quirky room. Very convenient near the airport and great price. Nice and clean the linens smelled so fresh. Within Walking distance to grocery store, restaurants and shops. It really was the best deal with WiFi, parking, breakfast, Netflix, even a bathtub in our room. The owners also had super communication from first inquiry.

Thank Christina G
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, checked in late and was showed around by Rob, the owners son as the owners were away on holidays. Room quite large, we stayed in room 3 which is upstairs and just outside where you get your continental breakfast. The breakfast is very adequate with breads for toasting, cereals, yogurts, fruit and cheeses. You get...

Thank marrob1
Ch0rlt0ngirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you would recommend Abbey Lodge. We have now tightened procedures so that there will no longer be any issues regarding towels. I know this will not help you but hope you will come to stay with us again. I hope the weather improved for your trip to Ireland. Heather

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The hotel had everything I needed. Very Clean and nice room and bathroom. Especially The bed was so comfortable. nice and helping hostess. Easy transportation – bus just across the street and trum in 3 minutes walk. Breakfast has everything I needed and more.. and available at any hour which is just great. Highly recommended.

Thank ori t
Ch0rlt0ngirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I hope to see you again. Heather

Reviewed 19 July 2016

A beautiful house which offers superb accommodation. Very clean and comfortable and provides absolutely everything you need - a high level of cleaniness, an excellent self -service breakfast with lots to choose from and rooms are well equipped with toiletries, hairdryer, even slippers! Heather, the host is most welcoming and accommodating. I have stayed here twice and will definitely return...

Thank brendaArmagh
Ch0rlt0ngirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the area. The slippers are available as a trial. I am pleased you liked them. Heather

Newtown Linford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Friendly and welcoming. Very high standard of buffet breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable with lovely cosy beds. We chose the Abbey Lodge for its good location as it is very close to a Metrolink stop which connected us all the main attractions. We will be back here in the future Thank You.

Thank GlobeTrotter151968
Ch0rlt0ngirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

Looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Heather

Reviewed 15 July 2016

Everything was nice and clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 5 on the top floor which I understand is the smallest room they have but still adequate for our needs for just the 2 nights that we stayed. There was a bit of noise from the road outside but not enough to disturb the sleep. The main disappointment was...

1Thank Jonathan L
Ch0rlt0ngirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

It's great that you found the room clean, comfortable and quiet. I am sorry you were disappointed that there was no cooked breakfast or breakfast room. If you chose to stay again I can direct you to local establishments which provide a cooked breakfast. We are also always happy to provide for any special requests for our buffet breakfast. Heather

Reviewed 3 July 2016

Nice clean and comfortable lodge with breakfast laid out all time, but surprising no water available even to buy, how to make tea, or coffee. But other then that it is okay to stay here. This lodge in Chorlton area.

1Thank smartsir
Ch0rlt0ngirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you were happy with the cleanliness and the levels of comfort. And that you were pleased you were able to access breakfast at any time. It is customary in the UK to use water from the tap. It is totally safe and we are lucky in Manchester to have particularly lovely water...

Tipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights me and my partner had room 3 on 1st floor my daughter had room 5 on top floor .. Both rooms were perfect and very clean .. heather the owner was such a lovely lady .. In the rooms the tvs were a nice size and the wifi had a great connection .. The beds were...

1Thank kathleen c
Ch0rlt0ngirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

How lovely that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we will see you again soon. Heather

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (25)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (6)
Bathroom (2)
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.5 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
476 reviews
4.2 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4,678 reviews
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
2,378 reviews
4.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
4.2 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abbey Lodge is a privately owned Bed and Breakfast specialising in offering the best accommodation in generously sized, well equipped rooms. Established in 1990, and with the present owners for 12 years, we are proud to achieve the status as Number 1 Bed and Breakfast in Chorlton and the Certificate of Excellence 2013 from Tripadvisor.Perfectly situated for those who want to visit Chorlton and all it's fashionable bars and restaurants, for those who want to visit further afield using the Metrolink tram or for those looking for a leisurely stop off on a longer journey around the country, or via Manchester Airport which is only 7 miles away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Address: 501 Wilbraham Road, Manchester M21 0UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 4,088 - ₹ 6,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Chorlton-Cum-Hardy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbey Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 I think - huge room beautifully decorated and immaculate”
 of 5 bubbles sandragT493PX, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a single en-suite room on the first floor which was perfect. The house is quiet so a good sleep is guaranteed.”
 of 5 bubbles brendaArmagh, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the back are probably the quitest”
 of 5 bubbles SRM2491, 27 May 2016 | Read review
“Stairs to the second floor rooms were fine for me, but they're a little bit steep (I wouldn't want my parents to be tackling them).”
 of 5 bubbles HappyTraveller421, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“We booked a superior room and I think was larger than the standard rooms. But only £10 extra (I think) so well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles EurovisionBoy, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5