We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great John Street Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Great John Street Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,195: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We came to the Great John Street Hotel for their New Year Eve celebration booking the Roof Top celebration event. What a lovely experience the service was great and canapes really good. The event was planned very well with a dance floor inside the roof top setting while the guests could initially enjoy the views of the fireworks from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked at the very last minute as a treat at the end of a very hectic business trip on the recommendation of a friend. Very glad we did. We got an excellent price at the last minute direct on their website. They upgraded us on arrival. Room was lovely - split level with a nice lounge area on the ground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S_G.UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel, which is in a converted old school building, for one night as part of a wedding and found it very nice. The room was huge, with a big living room and a large mezzanine bedroom upstair, and a very large bathroom with bath and shower. Location is great as it is very central and it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julien B
Diane W, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you so much for writing a review on your recent visit to the Hotel whilst attending a wedding! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the bedrooms so nice. I am sorry the bedrooms were a little too hot for you and we would have happily brought up a fan or ensured your...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had our wedding at Great John street back in December and I cannot speak highly enough about the venue and it's staff. The venue itself is amazing with a real boutique feel that makes you forget that youre in the city centre of Manchester. The rooms alone should make this hotel a 5 star hotel! The food was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jes200181
Diane W, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, Many congratulations to you both on your recent marriage and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your special day so much and found the food excellent and the staff second to none! a lovely compliment, thank you! The bedrooms are very different from...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for my girlfriend's birthday, on recommendation from a friend. Everything about our stay was perfect, the gorgeous boudoir king suite with free standing bath and soft, fluffy pillows on the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. The room was beautifully decorated, keeping to the theme of an old school house. Praise to the housekeeping team who prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KieranDean
Diane W, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I am delighted you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay here so much! The Housekeeper and her team will be chuffed they got a special mention for their spotlessly clean rooms and glad you had the opportunity to try a cocktail...

St Albans
Reviewed 1 week ago

Greaet hotel with lovely roof top bar and beautiful large rooms. The meeting room was a little small for us but the service was good and we had a productive meeting. The food was very nice and service was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LKW9
Diane W, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you so much for your review and great to see you enjoyed your stay with us whilst attending a meeting at the Hotel. The Chefs will be delighted with your comments about the food and so glad you found the service good. Come back and see us again very soon. Kind regards,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friend of mine said I have booked us somwhere pack your bag and make sure you bring you swimwear. The taxi took us to the Great John Street Hotel, it was one of the best surprises I have ever had, this place is beautiful and very unique, every room is different and sooo luxurious, there is fabulous history with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissZoBo
Diane W, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you so much for writing a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your surprise stay with us so much! It's great to see you had the chance to use the Hot Tub and with a glass of bubbly, even better! We are very fortunate to have such lovely bedrooms with so many quirky features....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fantastic time at Great John Street Hotel. The room was fantastic, split across two floors with a lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Bath and shower were perfect and bed ultra comfy. Just wish we'd had another day and night to enjoy more! Staff super friendly. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
Diane W, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Hotel whilst attending a wedding. I am delighted you loved our quirky bedrooms as many people call them with the Mezzanine level and roll top baths! Great to see you found all the staff "super friendly". Come back...

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my boyfriend here after him saying 'normal' afternoon tea was too sweet! I actually ended up preferring this to 'normal' afternoon tea. We got a mini burger, fish and chips, Chinese dumpling, chicken pie, fries and scotch egg. Followed by cheese and crackers and brownie with icecream! It's the perfect alternative. Little on the pricey but very enjoyable. Setting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ailsa23
Diane W, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, I am delighted you and your boy friend enjoyed the Gentleman's Afternoon Tea which, as you mentioned, offers a variety of mini savoury items which are very tasty! Thank you so much for your feedback and its so nice to see the staff looked after you so well. Please come back and visit us again very...

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So disappointing. I attended here for our Christmas meal with colleagues. We were squashed in like sardines obviously overbooked. Food served very mean portions, dry and bland. We were offered a free bucket of beer. Thoughtful but didn't make up for a generally poor do. We as a company will not rush back:(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules K
Diane W, General Manager at Great John Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give us some feedback on the recent Christmas Party you attended at the Hotel. I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and I will look into all the issues you have raised. I am more than happy...

626 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (297)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Classic Junior Suite (35)
Viewed
Classic Junior Suite with Two Bathtubs (78)
Viewed
Eclectic Suite (46)
Viewed
Opus Grand Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
409 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#8 of 118 in Manchester
1,058 reviews
1.2 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#17 of 118 in Manchester
4,519 reviews
0.6 km away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#14 of 118 in Manchester
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rooftop Lounge
Rooftop Lounge
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 10,892 - ₹ 25,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Business Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great John Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
cannock
over a year ago
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Kendal, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Great John Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Eckectic room is fantastic...two floors with two free standing baths and a super king sized bed”
 of 5 bubbles Jes200181, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you pay extra for a good hearty Breakfast - it is well worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles GChanMartinez, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 17 19 or 31 are our favourites”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyhI1606WF, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Opus grands have massive baths and are spread over two floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Ruth10L, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They're all really good!”
 of 5 bubbles Stuart_McKeown, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay