We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Central Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
New Central Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Leicester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the delight of staying in this gust house in November 2016 and couldn't have been more pleased with the warmth of friendliness and helpfulness I was met with. This certainly was a 'hidden treasure' that I found while searching the internet and the price of overnight stay with a Continental breakfast very reasonable indeed. The venue was conveniently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvanLeicester
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Nice place, clean, bright, tv was good, free wifi was great, little kettle, tea,coffee, milk etc..all good really...nice and warm,the lady (who seems to run the guest house) was friendly and helpful. Bus stop into Mcr just around the corner or you could walk down Cheetham Hill Rd (approx 40mins)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Scotland
Reviewed 9 May 2016

This is a very basic B&B. Room a bit strange because of the conversion from what was no doubt once a lovely house. Brealfast was disappointing. No cooked breakfast - absolute minimum food laid out. The whole experience more budget than budget. I would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank slqq
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Apologies for the late reply. We are very sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your stay. Our manager do always try to make it clear to all guests that breakfast is not automatically included in the room rate and that it works on an 'opt in' tick box basis. If memory serves, when you stayed you...

sunbury on thames
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I stayed here for one night in March, the single room was very small the facilities consisted of two tea bags, 2 coffee strips and 2 small long life milk caps & a biscuit, the digital TV didn't work to well , one hand towel lone large towel one small bar of soap. For £43 room only I think the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barry d
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with the beverage and towel provision in your room. As the room is a single, the majority of guests only require one set of towels for a single night’s stay. Likewise, we find that the beverages provided are generally sufficient, although we would have been happy to provide more towels or beverages (even...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We had a friendly welcome and our twin room was clean. Facilities included tea and coffee, TV, free wifi, towels and a bar of soap each. Continental or full English breakfast was extra and had to be ordered the night before. All rooms were on the first floor, up some very creaky and steep stairs, so anyone with mobility problems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

I Stayed in a single room for 2 nights, shared the shower facilities for £78 over a weekend. The room had adequate facilities in terms of a sink, mirror, wardrobe, tv and table. Staff were helpful and friendly. The shared facilities were clean, not fit for a queen but ok for the price. I stayed here as I refused to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TIM G
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Very nice place. Small guest house that is very warm and cosy. The woman on the reception was very nice and friendly not to mention helpful. gave us the wifi password without even having to ask for it and also gave us directions to go get some food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Very friendly welcome and stay. The room was clean and tidy. We had full English breakfast served with a smile.Well run family business.Will definitely visit again!Additionallly owner provieded good local knowledge, was talkative and friendly and made it feel homely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NataliaNawa
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

I stayed at the new central guesthouse a couple of months ago, really cosy hotel with friendly, welcoming service from the owner, my only issues were that breakfast was a bit on the small size (one slice of ham, one slice of cheese, one slice of toast, one combi pack of cereal and one small glass of orange juice) not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel was value for money we had a 3 bed room with a double and a single bed was close to city centre only about 5 pound in a taxi overall we had a great stay very welcoming and if we would ever return to manchester again we would most deffinately stay here again :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leahcooper123
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. Look forward to welcoming you both back again. Once again, thank you for your custom.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
1.6 km away
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
#66 of 118 in Manchester
84 reviews
9.9 km away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Manchester (Heaton Park) Hotel
0.5 km away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#78 of 118 in Manchester
39 reviews
6.1 km away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#16 of 28 in Manchester
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about New Central Guest House

Address: 144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 3,235 - ₹ 6,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Central Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your New Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Central Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from New Central Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room I had was small & not vey nice”
 of 5 bubbles barryd800, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you are a Corrie fan, mention it, they'll show you the photos of when it was used as a grotty B & B for Rob on the run.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnL590, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
“for what it cost take what is on offer”
 of 5 bubbles 792micke, 30 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Room With En Suite nice room”
 of 5 bubbles PERNOD56, 28 Oct 2014 | Read review
“This is a budget B&B - get real and go with it - it looks like the pictures on the site.”
 of 5 bubbles helencarter2014, 29 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay