We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Manchester

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Manchester
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Manchester
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

YHA is a nice hostel, with a great athmosphere. It's very well located, so that you can reach the centre by walking in nearly 15 minutes. The neighborhood is very pretty, quiet and typical. The only "negative" point might be that the rooms and the toilets are pretty small if, like us, you're four in a dorm. However, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's great to hear you found our hostel to have a great atmosphere and the staff welcoming and helpful. We hope to see you again in the future :)

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The decoration is made with luminuous colours and the common rooms are adapted to all kinds of people. But food doesn't varie: rice with chicken and just served with a different sauce. This youth hostel car be recommeded to anyone who is not too complicated nor fussy about comfort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re pleased to hear you found our common areas pleasant. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully happy with the meals. The group evening meals do change daily and are part of a groups rolling menu which is standard throughout the YHA. It’s important to have feedback like yours...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for 4 nights at YHA. I found the staff to be very friendly. I thought the price was reasonable. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy the food because the food wasn’t varied and the quantities lack of food sometimes. Finally, I thought the bathroom was a bit small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly as always. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully happy with the meals. The group evening meals do change daily and are part of a groups rolling menu which is standard throughout the YHA. It’s important to have...

Saint-Maurice, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is nice, but the hygiene isn't that good. When entering the room, it smells nasty. I think there was not enough food for everyone. However, there are positive points. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were secured with electronic cards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorenactz
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'll pass this information onto our housekeeping team. We're pleased to hear you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and we hope you will come and stay again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a hotel where young people stay. This is beautiful, there are canals around the building. You can do many activities like babyfoot, billards, watch tv... But the only default is the organisation for the breakfast or the dinner if you want to eat you should go the first but you eat good, after you haven't hungry, you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnson M
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Manchester and hope to see you again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very nice Hostel which is well positioned because the city is not far, you can go on foot. There is a good breakfast. There is aslo what to look after : babyfoot,billiards,TV. And ice cream, chips and drinks distributors. Wi-fi is free. The people who work in the reception are very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you had a fantastic time in Manchester and hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A nice youth hostel but not the best. The hostel is well situated, the common spaces too, but the rooms, bathrooms and the food are very disappointing. The beds are too small, the bathrooms as well and the meals are sometimes the same and not very tasty. But to stay just for a few days, it's suitable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re pleased to hear you found our common areas pleasant. .We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully happy with the meals. The group evening meals do change daily and are part of a groups rolling menu which is standard throughout the YHA. It’s important to have feedback like yours...

Sembrancher, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a youth hotel. It's near the quarter castelfield. Rooms have showers and toilets but they are small. The decoration is original and colorful. The staff is friendly. There is just one problem : the food. Several times I can't eat a second time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luludughetto
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we're really pleased our staff were friendly as always. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food and have passed your feedback on to our catering manager to investigate.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The youth hotel isn't too complicated to find which is a very good point. The lobby is really well decorated and there are plenty activities for the residents such as a pool table, a baby foot, and even snacks and beverages dispensers. However, if you eat there, you may be disappointed... It can happen that there isn't enough food for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adina M
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly and the common areas pleasant. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully happy with the meals. The group evening meals do change daily and are part of a groups rolling menu which is standard throughout the YHA. It’s...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went in this youth hostel for 5 days, and the crew was very welcoming with us. The hall was well decorated and very roomy. There was many sofas and tables where you could spend time with your friends. But there was also some negative points. In the morning, there was often not enough food for all the people who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly and the common areas pleasant. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully happy with the meals. The group evening meals do change daily and are part of a groups rolling menu which is standard throughout the YHA. It’s...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
1.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 115 in Manchester
2,378 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 115 in Manchester
1,378 reviews
1.0 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
476 reviews
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 1,469 - ₹ 11,180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Manchester staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book a room overlooking the canal as the geese are very noisy!”
  • The noisy geese!!
 of 5 bubbles stbeeskay, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the heating to be lowered”
 of 5 bubbles SakuraDragon85, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for one overlooking the canal”
 of 5 bubbles billyburp, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you've a group going or don't stay here if you don't like people invading your space.”
 of 5 bubbles laurenswordsx, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose en suite if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles teessidecouple, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5