We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gardens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gardens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,045 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 949: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

on arrival there seemed to be a mi. up with rooms my group was staying I was initially put in a room then given another room on the slip they crossed out the ordinal and number and put the other number on there. Got to our room and the key wouldn't work great start NOT. The from was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lis420
Gardens_manager, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to place your comments following your recent stay. I am sorry that you had problems with the night staff upon your return to the hotel. We do operate a strict entry system into the building after 11pm for security reasons. However this is no excuse for the staff to be anything...

Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Convenience : **** An 8 min walk from Manchester Piccadilly Cleanliness : **** Good standard throughout Customer service : **** Friendly, as all people in Manchester are ;) Quietness : * Maybe we were unlucky, but we had an inward facing room (101) with a window that didn't shut properly, resulting in a fair amount of noise from the air-conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MidnightRambler1971
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Due to the central location of the hotel it is difficult to keep noise levels down, however, if you do stay in future you can contact reception to be moved to a higher room where it will be quieter. - Matthew, Duty Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2015

If you are looking for cheap and central, this fits the bill. My room was clean and adequate and well located. It is not a place you would use to impress someone. If you have mobility issues, forget it, especially if, as on my visit, the lift was broken, there are stairs up to reception. There is free slow wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chase_Mollys
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the hotel. The internal rooms don't have windows but at a small charge you can upgrade to a window room. We are very sorry about the lift being out of order but we're currently having a brand new lift installed in the hotel. We're already glad to see...

Ballina, Ireland
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Arrived into Manchester airport at 9am and got the train to Piccadilly. Only a 5 minute walk to the hotel which was a lovely surprise. I intended to just leave the bags off in the hotel until check in but to my delight my room was offered to me there and then at 10am and we got upgraded to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruby_Br
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that it was a pleasant one. Our location in Manchester is perfect with the train station just a few minutes away and with just having the Northern Quarter not far from the hotel. We do try to provide the best service possible so we're glad you received a nice upgrade, a...

barnsley
Reviewed 2 September 2015

i have stayed here every year for the last 5 years love it! It's value for money close to everything you could possibly want and the breakfast is excellent .. Don't let the outside put you off .. All the staff are friendly and helpful especially the young waiter at breakfast who can't do enought for you... The only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank m-marie-e
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon. We love it when guests return to the hotel as we like to see familiar faces. We do pride ourselves on the location, being central to the city and close to everything as well. I'll let the staff know about the positive comments, especially the waiter who served you breakfast. - Duty Manager, Matthew

Reviewed 30 August 2015

I went there just for one night with my sister, we got a big room with a confortable beds. We had a continental breackfast with a very nice buffet and lot choise of food: fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, toasts, croissants, muesli, pudding and more. I suggest it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elisabetta S
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Elisabetta. We're glad you and your sister enjoyed your night stay at our hotel along with the continental breakfast as well. The range we offer is great for the breakfast and we hope it had everything you would have wanted. We do hope to see you again soon and thank you for the review. - Duty Manager, Matthew

Northwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I always stay at the Gardens Hotel as I get into Manchester on a late train to work. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms well appointed with towels, tissues and a decent bath/shower. Breakfast is included when you book directly and is great - I am vegetarian and there is no problem getting a veggie breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin S
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Martin. Thank you very much for the glowing five star review, we always appreciate when someone takes the time to do this. We're glad you liked your room and found it to a high standard as our housekeeping staff do pride themselves on their cleanliness. Also, don't forget the promo code of TEN when you book direct through...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

It's a less than 10-minute walk from the main train station, and it's in the city center with a lot to do. Finding a place to eat in the area was no problem. Check-in and check-out were quick. The room was old but clean. It served its purpose, as it was quiet and the bed was comfortable. Overall, it's pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob K
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Bob. We do pride ourselves on our location, being very close to the train station and local areas for food and leisure. I'll let our reception staff know about their quick service as they do pride themselves on positive comments. Some of the rooms do seem old but we are slowly working throughout the hotel to redecorate some...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Ideally located for the city centre. We were in room 322 and after having read a few reviews we were glad to have a room with a window as it was warm and humid. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room itself was adequate for our needs. Bed was comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities were fine. We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devilredray
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Some of the rooms can be a little stuffy but with the window rooms you can get air into the bedroom so they're always a good choice. I'll pass your comments about our friendly reception to the staff as they always like to hear positive comments. We do hope to see you again and just a tip, if...

Newbury, Berkshire.
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

I have just spent a number of nights here in a single room (with window). The room was adequate - clean and lovely to have the facility to make tea and coffee. Good shower and great breakfast - full English cooked to order. The room was very hot but the fan provided was effective at cooling me down! Location perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moriston
Gardens_manager, Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Our location is perfect being in the heart of the city, however, due to our entrance it does cause some people to congregate at the front of the hotel and on the stairs. Please, in future, if you let our reception and management staff know of any problems and they will do their best to solve them. -...

687 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (536)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (58)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (49)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (No Windows) (57)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Single Rooms (No Windows) (49)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (55)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.7 km away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#88 of 115 in Manchester
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.8 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 115 in Manchester
1,571 reviews
0.2 km away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#24 of 115 in Manchester
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 3,084 - ₹ 9,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gardens Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Gardens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure I was on 4 th floor with a view over Piccadilly gardens”
 of 5 bubbles dadcarole, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not room 125 as almost everyone has to walk past it.”
 of 5 bubbles dinpy, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 106 has a good view of Manchester at night.”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the traffic would be quieter”
  • Twin bedded room
 of 5 bubbles J7, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a window,windowless felt a tad claustrophobic and only a few quid more.”
 of 5 bubbles Tacheman, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5