We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,438: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very congested, room decor is very poor..Poor Cleanliness..Cleaned room was full of dirt on the carpet. No Double glazing in the bathroom creating very cold environment. ... Similar price you can get a lot better in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaymin
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt the room décor and cleanliness were poor. We do not have any rooms in the hotel that have single glazing, all of our bedrooms and bathrooms are double glazed. I do wish that you had contacted our reception to enable us to sort...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014

3rd time staying because of its location purely, but gets worse every time!! Rooms are small, basic and not worth the money. So called family room but you can't swing a cat. Tv prehistoric, reception staff ignorant, beds just dreadful!!! Wasn't even a double and pillows rock hard, none of us slept all night. Would rather drive home then stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jillboot
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with your recent stay. Our family rooms are larger that our double rooms and I am sorry that you felt your room was too small. It is possible to upgrade to an executive room for a small cost at reception. As you are a regular guest I would be grateful if...

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This stay was to be an enjoyable stop over before a flight out from Manchester airport . Staff were pleasant enough but the room was cramped and had an odour that wasn't very pleasing. My car was parked on the area out front for the seven days of our vacation. The food on offer was plentiful but not of great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffoclarko
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you felt that your room was cramped. Our standard rooms are smaller then our executive rooms and it is possible to upgrade to a larger executive room at our reception. I was pleased to read that you were happy...

Rotherham, England
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before an early morning flight to Venice last weekend. The hotel is very cheap, which is a major plus. The Carpark was half flooded so spaces were scarce and I had to park on a verge whilst I was away for 3 days which I wasn't too keen on. Check in was good . The major negatives...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adamswfc
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We have in excess of 600 parking spaces at the hotel, there would be no need to park on a verge as we have lots of spaces around the car park for guests to use. I was please to read that you found the hotel...

Bourne, Lincolnshire
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have stopped here before and thought it shocking, but it gets an extra star this time, as they seem to have done a lot of decorating and provided internet in some of the rooms. Check in was slow but effective. Checking out bizarre - they could not produce a VAT receipt, and had to email it to me. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Unfortunately our restaurant cannot give you a VAT receipt however they post all charges to your main bill and a VAT receipt can be given at reception. We do have an ongoing decorating programme at the hotel as we are a...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2014

we stayed here for one night prior to an early morning flight,and can only comment on what we found,the booking in was efficient and staff friendly,the room was basic but clean and the meal which was pre booked perfectly acceptable we had booked an extra nights stay and were given a family room which had jut been decorated! all in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derek c
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor for other potential guests to read. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed we on coach holiday. Booking in was efficient and friendly. I agree with some of the other comments about the rooms -they do need some updating such as new tvs. The food and servi ce were really good. We would recommend the hotel as it is very good value for the amount we paid.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helenc111uk
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

North of England
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel is fair for the price, but basic and dated. I booked one night room only and a week’s parking with Holiday Extras. The idea being I could stay the night refreshed for my airport transfer to Manchester the following morning. Checking in was fast and efficient. There is free wi-fi. Just ask the reception staff for the password....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevinjames
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel good value for money, the bar area relaxing and the staff efficient and friendly. It is always good to receive constructive criticism as this enables us to improve our standards to ensure our...

bristol uk
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel before a flight This hotel is great for one night just for a bed with parking Don't know anything about the food here - but the menu looks tacky and overpriced The place is very old fashioned - it's needs updating! The rooms are a bit grubby and we had mould in ours! Went to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanne99
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry that you feel that the hotel needs updating and that your room was a bit grubby, I do I wish that you had returned to our reception and spoken to the staff who could have allocated you another room to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Although the car park was massive, it was unlit and under water as it had been raining heavily. When we checked in, there was no record of our booking despite showing the email confirmation - this was eventually sorted and we were given the room card. The bed wasn't double as described, 3/4 size at most which meant an uncomfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aimi H
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We do have a large car park with over 600 spaces. Due to the recent weather conditions we have been experiencing one small area of our car park has become flooded, however there are plenty of spaces to park away from this area....

481 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (466)
Viewed
Room/Suite (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
42 reviews
3.2 km away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 115 in Manchester
745 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 115 in Manchester
1,144 reviews
9.5 km away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#74 of 115 in Manchester
52 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 3,672 - ₹ 8,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a higher room and at the back, the front gets noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles HelenHenry1967, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not much to view but may be able to book a room looking over the river.”
 of 5 bubbles WillR589, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“upper floors rooms”
 of 5 bubbles richardbodinner, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not to sure, would have to ask staff.”
 of 5 bubbles WarwickJackie, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother if you want to be reasonably comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 963review, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5