We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,438: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2014

stayed at country house while on a National break. Read some of the previous reviews and was a little unsure of what we'd get but our room was a good sized executive twin, ensuite and clean. Heating wasn't on when we arrived but came on later and was good. Yes it is a little tired in places and if I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheena1410
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

5* staff in a 3* hotel Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found your room spacious clean and comfortable. I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff. Once again...

fife
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 at the beginning and end if a holiday. I found the first room freezing with draughty windows and the decor was in need or a makeover. the second room looked a bit more modern but the radiator were off when we arrived late at night (in february brrr) I used the swimming pool which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionafaefife
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Sitting on the fence Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that there was an issue with the heating in your room. Im pleased to hear you enjoyed are spa facilities. Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board. Kind...

Lytham St Annes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here on Sat 21st Dec as a treat for our son who is 11, we arrived to the reception having no booking in our name, the receptionist said he would sort it asap and would we like to wait in the bar. This pleased my hubby as the Liverpool fame was on. After 15 mins the receptionist came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninnieLythamStAnnes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that your booking was not in our system on your arrival at the Hotel which caused a delay. Unfortunately some of our guests can be noisy, we do ask them to quieten down however...

Walmersley, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had an overnight stay prior to our flights, booked car parking, very large car park, unfortunately some parts were flooded, but plenty of spaces available. Rooms comfortable, spacious and clean. All staff helpful a and friendly, dinner and breakfast was of good quality with reasonable choices. Easy transport available to the airport. Would definitely use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read...

bristol
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Thanks to the Britannia Country House Hotel we always look to book our flights out of Manchester these days. For little over £50 we had a comfortable, clean and warm room. All the staff we dealt with were friendly, polite and very pleasant. The Restaurant made us sandwiches and we were able to eat them in the bar so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bittonboy
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had an early flight to Rome and needed car parking as well . We got a Groupon deal and can't complain about the cost or the transfer which was very good . The hotel is what it is , I would nt pay for the buffet meal and we didn't have breakfast but for parking and ease of transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timbo1959
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel good value for money. I look for ward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed overnight before a flight the next day. Staff friendly and helpful, room large, comfortable spotless and modern, bathroom excellent with all the little extras! Food reasonable value for money and good service, bar prices well below average to what we have encountered in other similar hotels. Yes, areas of the huge car park are flooded, but what can one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ratzakli28082
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments. I was pleased to read that you had no difficulty finding a parking space in our car park and...

Manchester
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here on NYE 2013/14. As we were checking in, another guest was complaining to staff that there was no wifi. The staff's response to this was that there was wifi but only in the bar area - bare this in mind if you need it in your room! The room was adequate. We paid for an 'executive' room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fontwell36
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. Unfortunately we do not have an iron and ironing board in each room, we do have an ironing room on...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My stay at this hotel was a joke. On arrival, I had to search for a space in the dark unlit car park as half of it was flooded. Check-in was a joke. Two receptionists but only one was dealing with clients check-in whilst the other faffed around complaining she was losing the will to live. When I finally got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbug180611
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Our car park is fully lit in all areas and has over 600 spaces, unfortunately due to adverse weather conditions one small area of the car park has become flooded however there are plenty of spaces available for guests to park away from...

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I were attending a function at the Golf Club over the road as we were last year. This hotel is ideally placed. Just like last year Reception is poor. Not efficient. Check in is between 2pm and 3pm Why are there only 2 staff on at this busy time. The queue to check in was out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neville B
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Our check in time is from 2.00pm, unfortunately we have no way on knowing what time our guests will check in and if lots of guests arrive at the same time there can be a queue and...

481 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (466)
Viewed
Room/Suite (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#64 of 115 in Manchester
42 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
3.2 km away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 115 in Manchester
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#68 of 115 in Manchester
1,144 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
7.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa has a wide range of facilities including two restaurants, free parking for up to 600 spaces, free WI-Fi and also has a gym and spa. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to a TV, telephone, suit press and a hairdryer. All bathrooms include both a shower and bath. It is perfectly located for any visit to Manchester, being within a 10 minute drive of Manchester Airport, as well as only 20 minutes' drive away from Manchester City Centre, Manchester United Football Club and the second largest shopping centre in the UK - the Trafford Centre. Getting to the hotel couldn't be much easier, as it is only a 2 minute drive to the M60 motorway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 3,597 - ₹ 8,339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a higher room and at the back, the front gets noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles HelenHenry1967, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not much to view but may be able to book a room looking over the river.”
 of 5 bubbles WillR589, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“upper floors rooms”
 of 5 bubbles richardbodinner, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not to sure, would have to ask staff.”
 of 5 bubbles WarwickJackie, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother if you want to be reasonably comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 963review, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5