We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Station Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Station Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Station Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 217: English reviews
Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I booked three singles, one with a bath and two with shower as well as a double en suite for one night. At the time I asked the receptionist to ensure that I was designated the room with a bath on arrival. I was surprised therefore to be given a room with a shower and went down to reception to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally H
StationHotel, Deputy Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sally H, Thank you for taking the time to publish your review, I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our Front of House Manager so they may carry out further inspections and improve our standards. You have clearly experienced sub-standard service and for this I must apologise....

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Went with friends to a seance night on Thursday 11 November. Great night had by all people we had never met were very friendly, staff were brilliant most inviting atmosphere! Drinks were a bit on the expensive but being an hotel you would expect to pay??????? On the whole a great night and would recommend it to anyone who's interested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhona S
StationHotel, Deputy Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhona S, Thank you for your recent review for your visit to the Station Hotel. We were delighted to learn that you thought our staff were "brilliant". I have passed your comments on to our General Manager who was thrilled also. Many thanks for your kind words and feedback! Jason Lewis-Young Deputy Manager

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my new husband booked the station hotel for our wedding reception. From the start Jason and the other staff were amazing. We was allowed to decorate the room as we wished but also offered to help us with decor and accessories if we needed them to. I asked If I could come in and set up the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jem J
StationHotel, General Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jem J, Firstly may I congratulate you and your Husband on your recent wedding and I would like to start by thanking you both for hosting your wedding reception here at the Station Hotel. I was delighted to learn that my Deputy Manager Jason is doing his job well as are all his team of support staff. I have...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my mom stayed as she loves the paranormal and wanted to see the "haunted" rooms. Nothing happened. But the room itself is very basic but somehow still cosy. Very warm and the beds were very comfy. The hotel itself is also very basic but the history and original features makes it very interesting and it's quite nice! However,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellie E W
Dudley
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with friends in room 217, the hotel isn't bad in itself but it's needs updating , the room itself was clean and had tea /coffee facilities , the bathroom was clean , but it's definAtely not worth 90 pounds , I'd pay around 50 to stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kateh0405
StationHotel, Deputy Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kateh0405, Thank you for taking the time to publish your review, I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our General Manager so they may carry out further inspections and improve our standards. You have clearly experienced sub-standard service and for this I must apologise. I would love...

Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed in room 206 saw orbs in this room, mobile phone started to play up and there was a cold atmosphere. We hoped for 214 but would recommend 206. Staff were great and the room was great. The only down side was the food. Would stay here again but wouldn't eat here.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ruth f
StationHotel, Deputy Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth F, Thank you for writing your review. My staff and I are delighted we exceeded your expectations regarding your stay. I was disappointed to read that the food didn't come up to scratch. I have passed your comments onto our Food and Beverage Manager to investigate further. What you experienced was not our usual standards of service and...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My wife & I booked one of the famous 'haunted' rooms, 214 for her 40th birthday. Immediately on arrival we could see the hotel was very dated & in need of improvements. When entering the room we saw it was poorly decorated & the furniture well used. The bed was a disgrace! Very thin, uncomfortable mattress which we sank into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthewbrayne
StationHotel, Deputy Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matthewbrayne, Thank you for taking the time to publish your review, I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our General Manager so they may carry out further inspections and improve our standards. You have clearly experienced sub-standard service and for this I must apologise. I would love...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The building is impressive, looking like a old Victorian railway hotel. The decorations are from the 1970's. My window overlooked a busy junction which was hard to see due to the fact it hasn't been cleaned for months, the wooden single glazed window was unpainted and the wood was rotting. It's does have secondary glazing which didn't quite work so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wob64
StationHotel, Deputy Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wobo64, Thank you for taking the time to publish your review, I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our Front of House Manager so they may carry out further inspections and improve our standards. You have clearly experienced sub-standard service and for this I must apologise. I...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a stay here through booking.com to visit with local amenities with my partner. The sole reason that this hotel hasn't got 5 Stars from me, is because I feel with a little investment from the owners in a refurb and update to the inside and possibly the outside could really do this place the world of good. Currently it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotty P
StationHotel, Deputy Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotty P, Thank you for taking the time to publish your review, I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our General Manager so they may carry out further inspections and improve our standards. You have clearly experienced sub-standard service and for this I must apologise. I would...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Loved the hotel the breakfast was tasty, room was clean and tidy we stayed in the haunted 214 for 2 nights 30th sept 2016 til Sunday the 2nd Oct. Can't fault the hotel or staff (Keep up the good work). Looking at some comments about the hotel we just think that when you go away your only in a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWest1983
StationHotel, Deputy Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DWest1983, Thank you for your wonderful review, we were all delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. We enjoyed having you and wish you a safe onward journey! Many thanks again! Jason Lewis-Young Deputy Manager

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dudley
0.5 km away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Dudley Town Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
6.7 km away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
839 reviews
4.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Opposite Dudley Castle, in the heart of the Midlands, the hotel is just 5 minutes' drive from junction 2 of the M5 motorway and offers good-value rooms, free parking and a bar and restaurant.With a warm, friendly atmosphere and a convenient location, the Station Hotel is a good base from which to explore the historic Black Country. The Black Country Living Museum is 0.6 miles (1 km) away.3 miles (5 km) away, the Westfield Merry Hill shopping centre has some of the best shopping facilities in Europe.Originally built in the 1800s, the hotel was modernised and extended in 1936. All en suite room feature plasma TVs with Freeview, telephones and free tea and coffee making facilities.Friendly and relaxed, the restaurant offers great-value food and drink in traditional surroundings with daily homemade specials.The Lounge Bar leads to a conservatory is where you can enjoy the selection of fine beers, wines and spirits available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Address: Castle Hill, Dudley DY1 4RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Price Range: ₹ 3,403 - ₹ 6,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Station Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Dudley, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Station Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Worcester, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Station Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 866denisea, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“220 had road noise as well above function room”
 of 5 bubbles chrischamb, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back quieter but find out first about their heating and make sure that you can adjust the temperature in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 134sallyh, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book room 206”
 of 5 bubbles ruthf619, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“go down the road to the village hotel”
 of 5 bubbles purpleprincess2016, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5