We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel and Bar

Booking.comUS$ 78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 117*
US$ 78*
Great Deal
US$ 117*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel and Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Hotel and Bar
 Click to rate
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Had a very pleasant stay at the Royal Hotel in Lancaster. A small family run business with freshly updated rooms. The staff were very welcoming and the rooms decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was included too and did not disappoint. All in all, the visit was perfect and the option to park a bonus. I would happily stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JagoKenn
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed once before here and it was very good... so booked again. Warmly greeted at check in; happy helpful staff; great location...and a super big comfortable bed. Highly recommend this place for business or pleasure. Nice also that it's been refurbished recently.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tennisandsun
cheshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Usually stay over in Lancaster at another establishment but thought we would have a change, we were not disappointed. The hotel has been recently refurbished to a high standard and although the rooms are quite small they are well fitted out. Friendly staff added to what was an excellent stay. Only downside was having to pay £5 for parking, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glyn r
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

We are glad that you decided to stay with us and thank you for taking the trouble to write your positive review. We only have limited parking I am afraid, therefore it needs to be prebooked and we do charge for it, £5 for 24 hours and £10 up to 3 days. Part of our ongoing refurbishment is creating an...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While getting married in Lancaster my wife and I chose to spend the night after the ceremony at The Royal - alongside meeting with family and friends there the night before the wedding, and the afternoon afterwards. The team at the Royal couldn't have been any more accommodating - they ensured there was plenty of space for our family and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
Cumbria England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for 1 night. We checked in quickly with very friendly staff. The hotel was clean and tidy we had bedroom 9 at the top there is no lift but that was not a problem the room was large and had a lovely bathroom the shower was great . breakfast was nice plenty of choice I would defiantly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalton18
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location was very easy to find, but parking can be difficult. There is a pay and display opposite, and room for 3 or 4 cars inside the hotel grounds. The staff were very helpful and squeezed our car inside. Once in it is very safe behind high gates. Room was very clean and well decorated. Coffee machine inside the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review Martin and for taking the time to write this. We are a family run Hotel and Bar and do our best to make every guest's stay a good memorable one. We will only be having live music on once a month and special occasions so hopefully any band disturbance will remain minimal. Hopefully you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The accommodation was clean and thoughtful. The people there were very kind to us. It became a reason why I love Lancaster. : ) They knew we have a train to catch, the lady let us take a breakfast to go. 酒店非常棒,楼下酒吧楼上住宿,经济实惠干净整洁。 老板人非常好,第二天早晨帮我们叫了出租车还给我们打包了一份早餐。 这行字是用来充数的

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liuy2016
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting with us and taking the time and trouble to write your review. We always endeavour to make our guests stay as comfy and memorable as possible and it is good to know we have done that. Hopefully we can welcome you back here one day. Take Care The Robinson Family

Parbold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night whilst visiting The Grand Theatre. Received a lovely friendly welcome by the Barman who checked us in. Great quirky Bar with delighful décor! Decided to have a drink when we first arrived, brilliant selection of wines and spirits and a lovely menu for snack and platters. Our room was tastefully decorated, and we had a fabulous...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laney143
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for that lovely review, it is great for us to get such comments. Please do come and stay again soon. Take care Kim

Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely 2 night stay here whilst visting family. Room was clean,bright and a comfy bed.We didnt partake in the brekky so I cant comment on that.Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Very central to getting around the area. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah73Ireland
KimmyFitzRobinson, Owner at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

We hope you do stay with us again and if you do and can't make breakfast, we do do a breakfast 'goody bag to go' which is complimentary. Thank you for writing a review for us. Take care Kim Robinson

Reviewed 17 April 2017

My partner and I absolutely loved our stay at the Royal. We affectionately nicknamed our room the Duck Egg (in reference to the colour on the walls). The room looked just as good as the photographs online, if not better. Not only that, the room was huge, as was the very comfortable bed, it was spotlessly clean and very tastefully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tess B
KimmyFitzRobinson, Manager at The Royal Hotel and Bar, responded to this review

I think Duck Egg sounds good, my favourite colour hence the colour scheme! Maybe we should be the Duck Egg Hotel!!! Thank you writing that lovely review, hopefully we will see you back here again one day. We have a new "Fusions" Bistro opening downstairs next week, so hopefully that will add to the ambience. Take care The Robinson Family

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 km away
Toll House Inn
Toll House Inn
#3 of 7 in Lancaster
491 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Kings Arms
Royal Kings Arms
#7 of 7 in Lancaster
316 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Lancaster
Holiday Inn Lancaster
#4 of 7 in Lancaster
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,295 reviews
0.3 km away
The Borough Hotel
The Borough Hotel
#7 of 24 in Lancaster
187 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#4 of 24 in Lancaster
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A very warm welcome to Lancaster's newly renovated 'Royal Hotel and Bar', a family run establishment in a great location at the heart of historic Lancaster, offering all the convenience of the city on your doorstep while enjoying the luxury of premium quality, cosy, comfortable rooms. Built before the turn of the previous century and stocked with only the finest selection of wines, spirits, beers and ales, as well as hosting regular music and events, this historical setting provides a touch of class with a modern take on a traditional bar. Travelling on business, visiting family, touring, or here for a night out, whatever your reason for visiting Lancaster The Royal Hotel & Bar is perfectly placed. Visit the castle and take in the sights, stroll along the canal enjoying the scenery, explore the many restaurants and bars or take in the vibrant night life .... whatever your choice at the Royal Hotel our guest only access allows you to come and go as you please. Book your stay now and meet the Robinson Family, let us know what you are all about and we will endeavour to help in any way we can. We always appreciate any feedback and will work hard to deliver the best service we can ... with a smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Bar

Address: Thurnham Street, Lancaster LA1 1YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range: ₹ 5,774 - ₹ 7,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Hotel and Bar staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bude, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel and Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are not good with satires ask for a lower room as there is no lift”
dalton18, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room and dont mind the climb, ask for a top room. very quiet and cosy.”
M6901IEmartinj, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 4, a little small but adequate and quiet”
Laney143, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 was fantastic.”
E5546OTkevinh, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room 3 was very nice”
34derekw, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 78* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 117
Hotels.com
Orbitz.comUS$ 116
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates