We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Andrews House Hotel

Save
Share
518 Blackpool Road Ashton on Ribble, Preston PR2 1HY England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$63
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 07/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
St Andrews House Hotel is a friendly, family run Bed & Breakfast. We have created a friendly guest house, with comfortable rooms and attentive staff, where you truly get excellent value. We are proud of our attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you into our guest house.Located in the centre of Preston, with easy access to the town centre, the hospital, Preston University and the docks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
37Reviews2Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mikie B wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5 out 5 Excellent place to stay, Very Clean and cosy, Excellent and helpful host, Excellent sleep and breakfast was great, Great value for money, Would definitely recommend and stay again, Best place to stay in preston, Personally wouldn't consider anywhere else to stay in preston, Lovely experience, Just wished I would have booked longer
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
watsonsontour963 wrote a review Mar 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom29 contributions15 helpful votes
We haven't stayed, much to our disappointment. Booked for a sports event nearby then just got a message via hotels.com saying we're closing hotel that weekend! Very inconvenient and didn't seem to care much ;just "sort it out with whoever you booked with". Now missed out on booking other places nearby. Has put me off booking independent place in future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve J wrote a review Feb 2022
El Campello, Spain25 contributions7 helpful votes
A hidden gem.. Stayed 2 nights. 2 rooms. Both extremely clean and decorated to a high standard. Breakfast was with a small buffet and a rather large breakfast barm. Very Good. All the staff are friendly, they even have a lady called Graham! Lorraine is a gem, the owner, always with smile and most welcoming and warm. Plans for an extension/conservative will make this a must stay in Preston. Steven Johnston
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Good, easy parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
StewHWolves wrote a review Nov 2021
United Kingdom58 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel for 1 night as we were attending a party in the area. Sadly due to numerous hold ups and an accident on the motorway we were much later than our intended checking in time. On arrival we were unable to get in to the hotel due to the impressive security system, it would have been helpful to have had information via an email near to our check in date as to how to gain entry if arriving after a certain time to save us having to ring the manager on how to get in (in pouring rain), as there was clearly no other staff on site to greet us. We had a lovely, spacious family room which was really clean with a nice amount of soft clean towels, with plenty of tea, coffee & biscuits etc and a large private bathroom. We appreciated the heater in the room as on a cold winters night we did need the heater on, to heat such a large room. I would advise the hotel having a small wall light near room 9 as the small corridor is very dark so we had to use our torch on our phones to use the key to get into our room. As a light sleep i did notice a slight banging sound which happened every 60 seconds I think this may have been coming from the kitchen which was below us. Slightly irritating however the bed was very comfortable and finally got to sleep. Awoke to lovely smell of bacon cooking. Great continental choice for breakfast, plenty of juice, fruit and cereal. Finally met some staff, a lovely lady greeted us and asked if we wanted a breakfast sandwich, food was cooked well and the sausages were very tasty. Would have liked to have seen a bit more customer interaction from staff but Overall a nice stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lucy W wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Honestly, just don't even bother. How this place has good reviews is beyond me. I don't even know where to start... They took payment from my card without permission as we chose to pay at the property. Secondly, the bed, you may aswell be on a bag of springs. If they try and put you in room 3, just refuse and there is a water pump in there that makes the loudest noise when someone in the hotel uses water. When we went to complain, there was a 'gentleman' who didn't even work there left in charge of the hotel who said "there's nothing we can do, the hotel owners have a life and leave at 8am so I'm just looking after the building" he said we would be getting a full refund once the owners where back in and guess what .. the hotel are refusing to refund the booking. They have also marked it on booking.com that we didnt even show up when we have videos of how shocking the hotel was AND emails to acknowledge we where there. May I add, they list this place as no dogs allowed yet there was a guy walking his dog up the stairs as we where at reception, you can ever every little noise in the next room. All in all, save your money and stay elsewhere. The owners of this hotel clearly have no decency or respect to their customers to admit their faults and refund you so we're going through booking.com Will be looking forward to their response to this review to see if their excuses match the others they have used so far.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurayne Devine, Owner at St Andrews House Hotel
Responded 16 Sep 2021
What an absolute load of rubbish your review is! First and foremost I did not take your money from your credit card you submitted your details to Booking.com who you booked the hotel via, it was they who took your money not me, secondly the noise that was coming from your room was the water pump which had air trapped in it, The problem was solved within two hours when we called the plumber out, your attitude to my member of staff was appalling.. and I Spy the worst Hotel you have ever stayed in you didn’t stare remember you walked out in a strop at 9 pm.. yes we did offer to refund you one night the second night was unRefundable.. kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fdougg wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have stayed at hundreds of hotels all over the world and this is the only time I have ever left without actually staying. First of all there were no members of staff only a man who said "he didn't work there". We went to bed (being able to feel all the springs under me) and there was an extremely loud noise coming from the bathroom, sounded like an old washing machine on a really fast spin, I went in there and the noise was coming from a cupboard which had a padlock on it, i figured maybe it was a one off and shut the door and went back to bed (listening to all the other guests banging doors and going in and out of their rooms to the shared bathroom) the noise started up again, and continued every few minutes. I went downstairs to the guy who didn't work there and asked for an alternative room "we're fully booked I'm afraid there's nothing i can do, the noise is from every time someone uses the water, the owners are away and I have nothing to do with the hotel i don't even work here" I said we can't stay here and want a refund, he agreed but didn't know how to refund but promised the owners would do so upon their return the next day at 12pm so we went and stayed elsewhere at more cost. The property are now refusing a full refund and only offering to refund 1 night stay. They marked our reservation as a "no show" and charged us a cancellation fee. This hotel was not fit for purpose, no staff, dogs staying even though apparently not allowed. Now have to take this further and contact my bank. Won't allow video upload here but i uploaded a video to google
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laurayne Devine, Owner at St Andrews House Hotel
Responded 16 Sep 2021
I take it you are the partner of the above review ! We did offer you a refund for one night and yes we had to mark your stay as a no-show as you did not cancel your booking via booking.com.. and as I said above it isn’t the worst hotel you have stayed in because you’ve never stayed.. You walked off in a strop with your partner at 9 pm.. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
812david1903 wrote a review Jul 2021
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice hotel, staff were great breakfast good though a few out of date items , only issue was hotel was roasting all night , a fan/AC would have upped this to 5* but never slept due to heat. Arrived at around 2110 to no one to greet us however after phoning hotel it was explained where key was and breakfast etc
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Elliot W wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
A brilliant business stay. Very welcoming host. Laurayne did her best to accommodate us even though we booked last minute and would arrive outside of reception hours - safe and secure door code access to property. private car park which is handy as the hotel is situated of a main road. Room comfy and of a good size with a great power shower. Breakfast was tasty, quick and efficient. Overall - good value for money! No complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LeeFurness wrote a review May 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
WE stayed 3 nights, the hotel was easy to find, spotlessly clean and had a great welcome. The room was nice the breakfast great and excellent value for money. We will happily stay here again when back this way
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Its a lovely building run bay a local woman, clean and tidy and great value
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
H H wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I have stayed here numerous times over the last eighteen months and have to say it's faultless. You always receive a big friendly smile from the owner. The rooms are clean and comfortable with WiFi and a TV. Im a frequent traveler through work and can say this is a great place and remarkably cheap. The breakfasts are second the none with a huge choice for all. 10/10 for me keep up the great work!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashirePreston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about St Andrews House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to St Andrews House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lane Ends Preston (0.5 km), Preston Docks (0.9 km), and Haslam Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St Andrews House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at St Andrews House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at St Andrews House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at St Andrews House Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St Andrews House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maharani Restaurant, Mango tree, and Il Gusto d’Italia.
Are pets allowed at St Andrews House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to St Andrews House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ladyewell (5.1 km) and Church Cottage Museum (7.2 km).
Does St Andrews House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.